We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great extended weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great extended weekend”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for the second year as we go to the Scottish Open Golf. Clearly if our experience had not been good in 2011 we would not have returned. However this was not the case. The staff at the hotel are all very attentive and give the hotel a very pleasant atmosphere. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and are a good size. The restaurant serves a great full Scottish breakfast and the menu in the evening catered for all tastes. The hotel is situated on the bank of the River Ness and is conveniently positioned for the City Centre with its shops and good array of restaurants. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher_R_W_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    212
    96
    55
    28
See reviews for
90
291
36
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Banff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

On a recent weekend stay at the Waterside, the rooms were very clean and well appointed with all that the visitor needs. The conservatory restaurant overlooking the Rover Ness was delighful. Our meals were superb and the service for both dinner and breakfast was attentive but not intrusive. The hotel is an ideal location for exploring the area, shopping in Inverness, or just relaxing. There is a pleasant garden area to the side of the Hotel and excellent parking facilities.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any visitor to the capital of the Highlands.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view over the River and are quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nel_Geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed for two nights on business. This is a family run hotel, located next to the River Ness.

Arriving very late at night, I was checked-in very efficiently. The hotel is arranged in two parts; the main building and an adjacent period townhouse called 'Felstead'. I was allocated a double room in the Felstead townhouse.

It wasn't immediately clear how to get into the townhouse. The doorway was not lit and the ground floor is shared with other businesses. However, once inside, I was pleasantly surprised.

The room was large and comfortably furnished. It was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The linens and towels were beautifully fresh. There was a tea tray and free wi-fi in the room. There was no noise during my stay.

Parking at the property was free. Breakfast was served in the charming riverside conservatory and it was expertly cooked to order.

I would happily stay here again for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellagi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This was my 51st hotel stay on an extended around-the-world trip. I stayed one night for a walk-in-rate (single room) of GBP60, which included breakfast in the rate.

What’s good: The hotel is right on the River Ness – a great spot for a nice walk after dinner. It’s clean, with good -sized double rooms and free wifi. A restaurant on site offers reasonable meals. Free parking in a lot out the back of the hotel.

Reception staff were keen to ensure a good stay – whilst I paid for a single room, the wifi signal was too weak for a connection and I was moved without hesitation and with cheerfulness and a smile to an upstairs double room. The ground-floor single room I initially received was quite small, although acceptable for one person for an overnight stay. The double room (number 106) on the first floor after moving rooms was much larger, and and a good size. Bed was comfortable and room reasonably quiet. Security seemed reasonable with an entry code required for front/rear doors later in evenings.

Room included a desk/chair and tea & coffee making facilities. I ate dinner in the ground-floor restaurant which was reasonable. Breakfast included in the rate was continental style with cereal, toast, tea/coffee, yoghurt, fruit, juice and a hot meal option.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boriski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Just been to a wedding at this hotel, and very impressed i must say how slick and professional the staff on that day ran the event . The hotel looked stunning that day ,from the table set up to the room used for the wedding was very impressive,well done to everyone. The 3 course meal was suberb and served with no long delays between courses,first class. To sum up i would have no hesitation to recommend this hotel to anybody planning a small wedding and intimate venue for their special day.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boa186543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012 via mobile

A good hotel with a great location and nice restaurant overlooking the river but let down by poor bar service. Bartender avoided any form of conversation and was inattentive. Overfilled wine glasses and served red wine chilled.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 473 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We found the food to be of a very high quality, and the staff to be friendly and
chatty. It was a nice relaxed atmosphere and we had a good laugh while we ate so
abviously felt at ease.Less expensive, and much nicer than Nico's along the
road, highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stugrmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
755 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing