We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“50th Birthday break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
herts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“50th Birthday break”
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We dined in this hotel July 2011 and were so impressed we decided to book a room for my husbands 50th birthday. We booked in January and stayed in August. On arrival we were placed overlooking the car park which wasn't the problem just the early morning deliveries waking you up very early! The waiting at meals and at the bar happened frequently (they must be very short staffed). My husband went to get a drink one night and was 15 minutes apparently the staff went to take a call and left him there. At breakfast you had to wait to be seated but the member of staff didn't even acknowledge you until they had finished writing. I overheard them critising other guests. My husband one morning asked to swap tomatoes or mushrooms for Haggis the member of staff asked which one my husband responded I don't mind, her reply was well its your breakfast!
We spend a lot of time travelling in the U.K and have always been treated courtiously and have never given a bad review but we felt so let down for what we had so looked forward too!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertsPhilip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, General Manager at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 31 August 2012
Dear Guest

I am disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your celebration break at The Waterside Hotel recently, the hotel is centrally located in Inverness and provides car parking facilities and therefore many rooms obviously overlook the car park. We do have River Facing rooms however these are all Superiors.

The hotel is generally known for our 'friendly and attentive staff' and therefore it was very disappointing to read that you did not find this to be the case. July and August can be very busy months from the amount of tourists in the area and especially if the weather is 'fine' the non-resident numbers can soar unexpectedly.

I am sorry for the shortcomings in the staff service your received which is definitely not a normal complaint and perhaps the next time you are coming north, you could contact me and I will arrange for a free upgrade to a Superior Room if available.

Kind regard

Gill Omand
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    211
    95
    55
    28
See reviews for
89
291
35
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moray
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at this hotel and again it was perfect, the staff helpful and friendly, food was excellent we had a high tea and it was super, mixed grill with all the trimmings the tea toast,and cakes lovely, would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julvik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Everything else, Worst hotel stay in 2 month visit to Ireland & UK.
Lousy front desk service, disinterested at best, smallest room during
stay abutting back entrance to hotel, with rear door constantly
slamming and restaurant cook who could not even poach or soft
boil an egg, way overpriced based on value of room. Paid 75 pounds
per night, half of that would have been too much

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bayj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicenza, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

WE were lucky we could catch a special discount, so for us was REALLY good in that way. The location is by the river, a beautiful, very convenient location. The bathroom was fantastic and in particular the shower was great!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jred139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed here for the second year as we go to the Scottish Open Golf. Clearly if our experience had not been good in 2011 we would not have returned. However this was not the case. The staff at the hotel are all very attentive and give the hotel a very pleasant atmosphere. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and are a good size. The restaurant serves a great full Scottish breakfast and the menu in the evening catered for all tastes. The hotel is situated on the bank of the River Ness and is conveniently positioned for the City Centre with its shops and good array of restaurants. All in all I would recommend this hotel to anyone else.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher_R_W_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

On a recent weekend stay at the Waterside, the rooms were very clean and well appointed with all that the visitor needs. The conservatory restaurant overlooking the Rover Ness was delighful. Our meals were superb and the service for both dinner and breakfast was attentive but not intrusive. The hotel is an ideal location for exploring the area, shopping in Inverness, or just relaxing. There is a pleasant garden area to the side of the Hotel and excellent parking facilities.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any visitor to the capital of the Highlands.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view over the River and are quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nel_Geo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I stayed for two nights on business. This is a family run hotel, located next to the River Ness.

Arriving very late at night, I was checked-in very efficiently. The hotel is arranged in two parts; the main building and an adjacent period townhouse called 'Felstead'. I was allocated a double room in the Felstead townhouse.

It wasn't immediately clear how to get into the townhouse. The doorway was not lit and the ground floor is shared with other businesses. However, once inside, I was pleasantly surprised.

The room was large and comfortably furnished. It was exceptionally clean and well maintained. The linens and towels were beautifully fresh. There was a tea tray and free wi-fi in the room. There was no noise during my stay.

Parking at the property was free. Breakfast was served in the charming riverside conservatory and it was expertly cooked to order.

I would happily stay here again for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bellagi0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,814 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
750 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Priceline, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing