We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner for two and a stunning view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner for two and a stunning view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Found the place using google maps, was just after 8:45pm, and the staff were more than happy to give us a table. the place was very busy and that always relaxes me when entering a new restaurant. staff were friendly and fast. menu has a wide selection. I had the black pudding and scallops... I wish I could swear on here it was that good! and main course was the salmon and the pork both fantastic. dessert was the mango cheesecake and strawberry and chocolate creme brulee, im not a fan of cheesecake but tasting the wife's it was quite nice but the brulee was perfect! 1x starter, 2x mains, 2x desserts, 2x drinks £51. I would have paid double and still have been happy with what I got for the price. Will 100% guarantee we will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trapotkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Reviews such as this give my team and I a great lift. We do try very hard on a day to day basis to provide the best food and friendly service in the most spectacular restaurant location in Inverness.

As this review refers entirely to our restaurant we would be very grateful for you to post this also in our separate restaurant listing. Thank you for taking the trouble to send din this very kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    200
    92
    51
    28
See reviews for
86
277
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

We had an excellent high tea at the w/end, we had taken a couple of 91 year olds to celebrate a birthday, they really enjoyed being there, the menu gave them a better choice and the staff were very attentive. Sitting by the river was enjoyable watching all the people go by, and with the lights on the bridge changing colour and the lights on the trees helped make a memorable visit, I was asked when can you take us back, very soon I think.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thank you so much for posting this very kind review. We would be extremely grateful for you to post it again on our separate restaurant listing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverurie, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

Stayed here for one night with family.
The staff are lovely and very helpful. They prewarned us that there was a birthday party on that night and there would be music playing. This stopped about 12:30 abd didn't disturb us.
The location is great, just a short walk to the centre.
I think the room decor could do with updating but aside from that the rooms were very clean and did the job.
The breakfast is lovely, highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skywaitress2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 March 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Waterside Hotel Inverness. Decoration is always a matter of personal taste. However, redecoration at our hotel is ongoing especially where wear and tear is evident. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, also our excellent food and friendly service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed for a late valentines night, room was great and overlooked the river, staff were very friendly and breakfast was cooked to perfection with lots of choice, thoroughly recommended and would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mal108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

Spent Valentines night in The Waterside and it was just perfect! We stayed in room 102 and it was faultless! Very roomy overlooking the River Ness. Also ate in the restaurant where the food is amazing! Everyone at The Waterside go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Hard to find hotels like this anymore. Also great value and location. Will be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for Room 102 overlooking the river!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spottycatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

stayed at the Waterside for 3 nights, dining in on 2 nights. We had a good sized room which was very comfortable (especially the huge bed!) and exceptionally clean. Breakfast is good and the staff are very cheery and helpful. The dining room has lovely views over the river and is a highlight of the hotel. The dinner menu is extensive, the food excellent and we enjoyed both dinners. There's also a very good bar and lounge area which we enjoyed each evening.
The Hotel needs a little TLC in certain areas but overall we thoroughly enjoyed our short break there, which was exceptional value for money.
Finally, full marks to the Duty Manager (Charlene?) who made a point of personally dealing with an small issue that we raised with her. Attention to detail like this deserves success.

Room Tip: we weren't at the front of the hotel (overlooking the River Ness) but the views must be lovely a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Waterside Hotel on a special deal which was excellent value for money. Our room was on the small side and we didnt have any view but it was adequate and the bed was comfy. The hotel was very busy but the staff were great and were very friendly. Food was decent and breakfast made to order whatever you wanted. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JayCee193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, HRS, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing