We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms, food, location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great rooms, food, location and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013

An excellent find after a long day driving with great location on river Ness. Alison on reception was very welcoming and helpful. Room was modern, clean and an excellent shower which is always welcome.
We ate in restaurant where the food was superb, scallops to start that were cooked to perfection followed by an amazing cod fillet with seafood bisque for main. Wine was reasonably priced and again the service was great. Would certainly stay there again if visiting Inverness.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    200
    92
    51
    28
See reviews for
86
277
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We got married and used this venue for the reception and accommodation for the guests. The owner welcomed everyone and made sure the venue was in its best condition. I could not have asked for a better night and the honeymoon suite was also great. Thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed once again in this great hotel where the staff are friendly and efficient. Many rooms have been upgraded to a very high standard and equal the best hotels in the vicinity. The hotel has a friendly bar area and a great conservatory type restaurant with views to the river Ness. The food is of a very high quality and the menu has a good variety of dishes.

Parking to the rear of the hotel is available with entry to the hotel from a clearly signed back door. Handy when it's cold and wet outside and you just want to get in as quickly as possible!

I had the good fortune to be allocated the honeymoon room (126) which has windows overlooking the river and sports a stand alone bath in the room itself! Great for having a long soak in while watching the television, though of course, had I been on honeymoon it wouldn't have got a look in!

Worth a visit although the prices are high but favourable compared to other similar hotels in Inverness!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river. There aren't many available. Room 126 is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grumpeyoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

After leaving it rather late to book i tried several hotels in Inverness without success, However we were lucky to get an Excellent room with a view of the river Ness
The Staff were very helpful and extremely pleasant, No issues with parking

We booked a meal at the hotel restaurant, a little expensive for my liking however the food was superb and eating in the hotel was perfect for us

Breakfast was comprehensive, excellent smoked kippers yummy!
I asked for a later checkout and this was fine, allowing us to explore Inverness a little before departing

Over all a lovely warm hotel, very pleasant staff, very helpful. The room didnt have a bath however the shower unit was powerful and of a good size, the bed was very comfortable and cosy, there were two large armchairs in the room, the windows provided a great view of the river
Although at the front of the hotel it was quiet

Highly recommended over all and if i am travelling that way again I will try the Waterfront Hotel first

Room Tip: Room at the front has nice views and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockinRobin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed at the waterside recently while on a tour of Scotland and booked in forone night through laterooms. We were warmly welcomed by Helen at the front desk who despiteu s arriving 2 hours early checked us straight in to a room on the first floor. the room was clean and well furnished but small and cramped with a view on to a car park. We were told there was a function on that night which didnt bother us too much as we were going out that night. The veggie breakfast in the restaurant was delicious and served to us by a lovely young waitress called Rima who was a delight. we decided to spend another night in Inverness and approached Helen again at the front desk who booked us in for the Sunday night. when we mentioned the cramped room she asked us if we would like to move rooms and moved us to a lovely large room overlooking the river. wow! it was stunning with lovely views, a luxury shower room and fluffy white robes..we were over the moon and spent a second fantastic night. Breakfast the second morning was again delicious and set us up for our travels. all in all a great little hotel with great welcoming hospitality. we would most certainly stay here again

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller712013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Absolute.y delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much with us. Yes a few of our castle view rooms are on the smallish side but no worse than many others elsewhere. Our river view superior rooms are something else! Thank you for taking time to post your appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

In August, my elderly mother and I stayed at The Waterside for a week. The hotel is situated right on the bank of the River Ness and a few hundred yards walk from the City Centre.

All staff were professional with the reception staff particularly welcoming. On arrival, we discovered that our room was on the first floor and there was no lift. My mother has mobility issues and the stairs were a problem for her. Reception staff did try to move us to a ground floor room however could not due to bookings for a Wedding. Prior to booking the room, no where on the hotel's website did it state there was no lift and that people with mobility issues should request a ground floor room when booking. This is something to think about if mobility is an issue. Prior to writing this review I checked the hotel's website to see if it had been updated to mention there is no lift - it has not.

We had a standard twin room with en-suite shower room. The bedroom was functional although there was not much storage - enough for two/three days but for two people for a week, there could have been more however when requested, more hangers appeared! The room was clean but rather bland. There was no view - the window looked out onto the pebble dashed wall of another part of the building. If you looked sideways, you could see the River.

The shower room was spacious and smart. Towels were replaced daily if you wished.

Breakfast was in The Reflections restaurant - plenty of choice of juices, cereals, fruit, cheese, ham, pastries, croissants with an excellent cooked breakfast. Restaurant staff were prompt, courteous and professional.

We ate one dinner in The Reflections restaurant - the best Aberdeen Angus beef burger tasted for many a year with Onion rings to die for! It was, however, somewhat expensive.

If we venture north again, I am sure we will stay at The Waterside, however we know now to request a ground floor room.

Room Tip: If you want a view - pay the extra for a superior room. If you don't want to walk outside to h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrissyG24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. You raise a good point amount mentioning no lift on our website and I will instruct this. After 50 years of hotel-keeping and travelling myself I had the view that if not mentioned it doesn't exist. I am, however, always open to constructive ideas and will embrace this, thank you.
I am pleased to learn you enjoyed the rest of your experience and will return to stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thebes
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

On the River Ness close to the centre, the Waterside looks good. Floor levels throughout vary slightly; just enough to make you stumble.
Some rooms (top floor at least), though spacious enough, lack a usable work surface. WiFi is a botched job. Room instructions still refer to a simple 'user password' - surely the simplest way to offer a service; in practice you have to go through an arcane system designed to harvest your email and/or cellphone number for some local internet company. Talk about off-putting!
A reasonable stay, but it needs some fresh thoughts & actions.

Room Tip: The best rooms (facing the river) are kept for premium prices. Avoid weekends as wedding parties do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epimetheus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing