We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

I was at a wedding at this hotel. The wedding was perfect my friend said the hotel was excellent at organizing the event with her. I did find the rooms a tad expensive for what they were, despite the discount for one night. But the location is great, clean. One tip to give is your reception needs to be a bit more "awake". It would have been a nice touch if an email had gone out to guests about the road being closed. We struggled 40min to find the hotel and we were not the only ones. We just caused frustration when arriving to check in. When asking directions to a restaurant the staff needs to be specific, understand that there are guests from out of town. Not just say "it's close, or next door". Besides that the food was excellent, the bar nice, the check out was easy. If I go back to Edinburgh I might try to find a better price. Also best to get the online booking fixed it has not been working for months so you have to call.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lora F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

M\any thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you found the hotel as it should be clean, friendly, great food and attentive staff. Thank you for highlighting a lack of local knowledge - our receptionists are all out of towners so they need a wee lesson which we will take on board. Our price is fair in the market place in Inverness - indeed over last weekend to stay in one of our competitors would have been 30-40% more than the discounted rate you had for attending a wedding here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the hotel after attending a concert in Eden Court, the twin room was spacious & clean, the ensuite shower was a lovely size, everywhere clean & comfortable. Breakfast next day was lovely, piping hot food served by pleasant staff. The hotel is in a great setting beside the river, will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishalice54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you so much for taking time to tell everyone you experienced what strive to deliver. This gives my team and me great motivation to continue the good work.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have nothing great to say about this place at all, apart from the menu looks great. Didn't manage to get served at all after waiting queuing at the entrance, then waiting for a waitress to to speak to us, and when she did, she told us to wait some more...then came back to stand and polish cultery before looking up at us and the other staff member playing about with her uniform...then tapped at the reservation book, looked out the window and said Can I help you?! We said we would like a table for 2 please, She - no reservations no dinner. End of story.
wow..what a way to treat guests!! Quite appalled at her outcome and this was roughly sunday evening 7.15pm ish.. ! What's going on here?!! Please re-train the staff to appear a little bit more professional and learn manners.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sin-ling L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

The Sunday in question was incredibly busy all day. We had a large Bridge tournament using the restaurant for traditional high teas and a large number of bookings for dinner from around 7.30. This was also the Loch Ness marathon weekend which is mega busy. We are really sorry that the reviewer felt that our supervisor was being rude as this is simply not her style. However, she was extremely harassed and may have made a greater effort to be more apologetic that we were full.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were keen to eat in the hotel's restaurant as it had an interesting menu.

When we arrived at the restaurant reception we were asked to wait by the restaurant supervisor, expecting to be sat down after our 10 minute wait. However, she eventually came back to tell us they had no tables available.

Still not sure why she made us wait?

Thankfully we found the excellent, Aspendos restaurant in town where we received a fantastic welcome and enjoyed their superb food. Every cloud has a silver lining!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank IAS_46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2013

We are very disappointed you felt you had an unwelcome reception when you arrived without a booking at our restaurant.. In apologising very sincerely you felt this way there was no lack of welcome intended during what was an exceptionally busy all day service. Perhaps you should have been told "sorry we are full" rather than keep you waiting in the hope a table became free quickly. Advance bookings is a must for our restaurant most of the year and especially over a weekend like the Loch Ness marathon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Attended a wedding at this hotel. The hotel is in a great location and offers good value for the cost. The food was excellent. The restaurant and bar service good, all the staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulineBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

needed a place at late notice in Inverness and didn't want to pay too much. Lucky to land a single room here as everything was really good. Aside from one surly waiting staff (the scottish one - the others were great) the hotel provided really good service on all levels

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justsomebloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We attended a wedding at this hotel last week and thoroughly enjoyed the whole weekend.
The room we had had a lovely view over the Ness . The food was terrific (the portions were actually too big for my mum and me). Staff were very friendly and willing to help.

I like a room where windows can be opened and we had a lovely little seating area too. (Room 102 is great)

Nico the owner is really nice and willing to help. My husband and I and Mum are hoping to go back again next spring .

Room Tip: Room 102 was a superior room - Im not sure about the other rooms but know that Mums single room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

The team and I are so pleased you enjoyed your entire stay with us.We look forward to having you back again. For the benefit of readers we do not have pool or gym - just good old fashioned Highland hospitality, very good food and clean comfortable bedrooms - some with fabulous river view..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 36 in Inverness
796 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £56 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing