We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“good hotel great staff”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

we stayed at the hotel for 3 nights was in room 124 very nice good size could do with refreshing but very nice. food was good and a reasonable price, service was good, receptionist very friendly along with breakfast girl warm and chatty made us feel at home very good with our daughter made her hot chocolate went out of her way to make us happy as did the reception girl. overall good stay would definitely be back the staff made it warm welcome stay. top marks to Elinor, Kelly and Shona.

Room Tip: ask for river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank isobel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team do try very hard to please.
Many thanks for posting a complimentary review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    208
    93
    53
    28
See reviews for
88
289
34
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Stayed at the Waterside hotel for 2 nights, we were in room 040 in the Felstead Townhouse next door, the room is located at the back of the house without any view and although the room was small, it was clean and well equipped with a reasonably comfortable if firm bed. Very small bathroom but good shower. There was a little overhead noise from the floor above but nothing intrusive. Breakfast was without doubt the highlight of the stay, large and hearty portions of good quality produce more than adequately sets you up for the day. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the exception being breakfast on Sunday morning which was chaotic and disorganised the serving team appeared to be overstretched and unable to deliver as good a service as the day before, they forgot my mushrooms, we had to ask for butter twice, we never got toast that was ordered, can only hope it was a one off. We ate off the a la carte menu on Friday night the food and service on the whole was good but I was really disappointed in my venison dish which was one of the most expensive items on the menu, the meat was tasteless, under seasoned and overcooked. I know I should have complained but we had already found shards of glass on the table and we didn't want to be that couple who complained about everything, having said that this is a personal thing and nothing to do with the staff who were all great. We enjoyed our stay and will book again if we can get a room with a view next time and would certainly recommend this hotel to our friends. Liked Best - great location, walking distance to lots of shops, bars & restaurants, lovely conservatory restaurant with great view of the river Liked least - not a great view from room 040, bar prices as is typical in hotels is too high and just resulted in us drinking elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angel411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you for taking time to post a well balanced review. Having returned from leave I will be looking in to the items with which you were concerned to ensure an improvement. we will address the Sunday morning breakfast service and try to do better on what is a chaotic morning with everyone coming down at the same time. We look forward o welcoming you back and hope we have one of our great river view rooms available for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamletssister
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived and had been given a room with a view, something we had not expected at the rate we had paid. Our room was large (room 102) and had a very comfortable bed, sofa etc. The bathroom was snug but perfectly adequate and very new looking. The only downside was the walls are a little thin so you hear next door moving around, putting things away, telly on and off. However, it was spotlessly clean with a wonderful river view. We ate out so can't comment on dinner but the place looked very, very busy, always a good sign. Staff were very pleasant, cheery and helpful. Breakfast, however, was very good. Even the uncleared plates and air of too few staff couldn't take away from the quality of the food. Huge bowl of porridge, fresh fruit, lovely (and enormous) cooked breakfast and plenty of toast. My one gripe, and this is true of all hotels, is the quality of the coffee. Why, when British coffee shops are finally getting their act together, do hotels persist in serving and oily, burned tasting black liquid in a metal pot. A cafetiere or a good quality machine allowing a choice of coffees would be much, much nicer. But then, we were in Italy recently so were spoiled as every cafe and restaurant does good coffee. Overall, however, a 5* stay with 1* removed for the coffee and the noise from the room next door.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hamletssister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary review. We try very hard to consistently deliver what you experienced. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airdrie, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed at The Waterside Hotel for 3 nights. Our room was situated in the adjoining Felstead townhouse. Had an absolutely fantastic stay. All Staff were welcoming and always helpful and polite. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. The food on offer at the Hotel was exceptional. Would recommend staying here. Central location, with city centre a short walk along the banks of the River Ness.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dje01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary review. We try very hard to consistently deliver what you experienced. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lerwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Came to Inverness for my50th birthday. Hotel was recommended to us and did not disappoint. Very friendly staff,very clean. Excellent food. Made to feel very welcome and nothing was a problem. Would certainly stay here again and very happy to recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary review. We try very hard to consistently deliver what you experienced. It was a great pleasure to look after your wedding and all your guests over a few days. I take your point about late night bar service but it is rare here that the night porters are required to serve a busy bar until 5 am so their expertise in this area is somewhat limited. Their principal responsibility is the security o the hotel and its occupants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyon, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We recently had our wedding at the Waterside Hotel and would thoroughly recommend it as a wedding venue. Prior to the wedding day, Mr. Manson was very helpful and attentive in assisting us with our planning. My husband and I stayed at the hotel in the 'honeymoon' suite a few days before and after our wedding (and our room was offered on the night of our wedding). This room is gorgeous - spacious and with a view on the river Ness.
We had our ceremony in the function room which was tastefully decorated and arranged, we then went through to the lounge bar/conservatory area for our aperitif (which we had exclusive use of) and our guests were served champagne and canapes. Following this, we went back into the function suite for our wedding meal and party. All of our guests agreed that the food was just fantastic and that the service was curteous and efficient (we had table service for the wine and our glasses were never empty!). There was a large dance floor area for our ceilidh. In terms of location, we were able to have beautiful photos taken in front of the river and with the cathedral in the background. The hotel is a 15 minute walk from both the train and bus stations which was very useful for travelling guests.
In relation to the hotel itself, the rooms were clean, the breakfast offered is ample and served by friendly waiting staff, the restaurant meals were good. The only points that we'd mention in terms of potential improvement would be the installation of a lift (it was quite hard to move our luggage up and down stairs) and the night porter needs to be trained on how to serve after hour drinks to residents - unfortunately he was fairly clueless as to how to make any drinks or where to find the stock. Overall - a wonderful hotel with lovely staff members - thank you for making our day so special.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KEWILSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your complimentary review. We try very hard to consistently deliver what you experienced. It was a great pleasure to look after your wedding and all your guests over a few days. I take your point about late night bar service but it is rare here that the night porters are required to serve a busy bar until 5 am so their expertise in this area is somewhat limited. Their principal responsibility is the security o the hotel and its occupants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in The Waterside Hotel in early September. Prior to arrival we had asked if it was possible to provide a fan as the hotel doesn't have air conditioning. The room we were given was fine and turned out to be very quiet which was good. The fan was broken so the girl on reception very kindly offered to find another one. She arrived shortly after with a huge commercial type fan which was covered in grease, so obviously it was from the kitchen and when turned on absolutely stank of grease. We wheeled it out into the lobby where it remained for the 3 days were there. I have to say it wasnt the receptionists fault and it was very kind of her to go to the bother. The room was unbearably stuffy and when we opened the windows the room filled with flies.
Apart from that it was ok and the breakfast was good. Wouldn't stay there again I`m afraid

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandyquoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
We are very sorry you didn't enjoy your stay on a night when the ambient temperature was exceptionally humid for the time of year. We are equally sorry the fan you were given with the best intentions wasn't suitable.. Reviews of this nature are regrettable but thankfully the many recent ones with high praise both on and off line Suggest our experience was a rare event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,678 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing