We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit on the weird side...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Waterside Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #17 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
New York, NY
Level Contributor
75 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A bit on the weird side...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

This place was one of the stranger places I've stayed in. I booked it because I liked its riverside location, it was recently renovated, and it had great rates. It's also got character--it's not a big, soulless corporate chain. Although, as I found out, at least you know what you're getting into with the corporate chains! The day we checked in, there was a big party going on in their dining room. We were told that our room would be right over all the ruckus, which was scheduled to go on until midnight. We were asked whether we wanted to take a room in the annex next door. We asked whether the rooms were of the same quality as those in the main building, and we were reassured that they were, in fact, superior. However, I have to say I disagree. The rooms weren't unacceptable, but they definitely were bizarre. To get to them, you walk outside and enter an unlabeled house. Then you climbed to the third floor, as there is no lift. Normally, I don't care, but we had luggage to contend with. The room itself was spacious enough, but there was almost NO LIGHTS! There were some weak lamps, but they weren't up to the task of illuminating the vast space. The mattress and bedding were on the sparse, utilitarian side. And the bathroom was STRANGE. The bath tub was elevated off the ground so that you had to really strain to climb into it. We're average sized people in average shape, so this is not a problem with body habitus... but we definitely were careful not to slip! And then the shower mechanism itself was weird, too. There was very little water pressure, and there wasn't quite a shower curtain. More like some weird glass panel thing that was hard to navigate around. But everything was clean and functional, so all in all, we were satisfied. Maybe if you could, try to get a room in the main complex, not the annex!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank labrt2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to post a review. You obviously stayed with us during the busy Christmas Party Season hence the suggestion that you be accommodated in our Felstead Town House, a recently renovated Georgian building. The low energy lighting found in many UK hotels, is indeed on the low side and is being replaced, on an ongoing basis with brighter, (lower energy) lighting. I am sorry if the lighting inconvenienced you. We are somewhat perplexed that you found the bed uncomfortable as we buy only the best and frequently receive great compliments about the comfort of the extra thick mattress covers we use. The bath/ shower area was designed to suit the area when it was created a few years ago and yours is the only negative comment we have heard. We fitted and furbished our Felstead Town House equal in quality to the rest of the hotel although it may have a few more quirks than its younger neighbour - the main building.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    198
    91
    51
    28
See reviews for
85
272
34
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Our first Impression on arrival was " Lovely". The wonderful welcome from reception on a "Dreak" January night- friendly and humerous, read our moods brilliantly. We were then directed to our room 124 and as we entered we both were wowed by it. The size and whole atmosphere was lovely - old worldly with moden twists. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on and the bathroom was amazing - large and fresh. We chose to eat out, but the dinner menu looked interesting and inviting-next time I'll eat in.
We slept so well and the view from our window in the morning was beautiful- a sunny Inverness greated us!
Breakfast was excellent, having read reviews about it, it lived up to it's positive comments, We had breakfast whilst watching Inverness wake up and merganzers flying up and down the Ness. The Staff were friendly and helpful . The decor has had a lot of care and attention to small details- fell in love with the bar area and the lounge.
Cannot wait for my next excuse to have a night in Inverness and bring my son to try the home made pancakes!

Room Tip: Room 124 has excellent views of the river and well worth the little extra for a "Superior room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkilivett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
We are all delighted you enjoyed your stay do much and please do try our excellent restaurant for dinner the next time you come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lochgelly, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

stayed here on Friday the 10th January 2014 as a birthday treat the room was good food was good and the staff was lovley the only downside was the shower didn't work overall .our stay was lovley would defo come back but I would check the shower works first xxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sylviaf61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Thank you for posting a review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay especially the food quality and staff attitude. If you occupied room 115 the shower mixer (which does in fact work albeit not a clever arrangement) is being replaced as is the odd other troublesome mixer. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escocia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We did the 3 night package with the Waterside to bring in the New Year. The accommodation was good, staff very friendly and welcoming and the food was excellent. The package was for afternoon tea & cakes then dinner on the first night, a good breakfast then champagne and canapes reception followed by dinner and hogmanay dance to see in the New Year. Breakfast on the next morning followed by dinner and a function in the evening, and finally a BIG breakfast on the last morning. All in all an excellent break. I would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the River Ness have the best aspect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tomaso17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed our Hogmanay package so much and hope to see you again next year if not before. In response to the entirely positive feedback we have had from many satisfied clients next year's package will be very similar so please book early to avoid disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at the Waterside hotel for a long weekend in early December we were delighted with our stay the staff are both friendly and efficient the rooms were excellent the food was fantastic
all in all a really great stay. The fact that we were staying with my daughter and her husband it was a really special weekend as we were all together for the first time since their wedding in September.
My daughter has a wheat and gluten allergy and the restaurant has a special menu all wheat and gluten free which made it an excellent option and the food again was really tasty well presented and no nasty reactions were encountered after her meals so we were entirely delighted with our stay.

Room Tip: Choose one of the front facing rooms that overlook the river Ness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenAnslow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and dinner with us. We always try to forewarn guests when there is a party or wedding taking place or, when possible, ensure they are allocated rooms away from the function suite. . When possible, like you, we move guests to another room . we aredelighted this worked for you and that you wish to return. Haste ye back!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kinlochbervie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed for two nights, bed and breakfast with dinner on one night. Food was delicious and staff attentive. There were functions on both nights we stayed, the first night we realised very quickly that our room was situated directly above the function room. However after contacting reception, we were immediately moved to another part of the hotel where there was no noise from the functions. Rooms were spotless and the staff went out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable. They were very friendly and personable. I would definitely recommend this hotel, we had a lovely stay. It's very well situated with a lovely view of the river and close to the centre of town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen6561
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

Booked in at the waterside on 27/11/13 for 4 nights liked it so much we decided on staying a extra night ! The room we stayed in was not in the hotel but in the building next door this was no problem as we had a superb view of the River Ness. The room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff were very welcoming and friendly check in was efficient no problems at all this was ideal after the 8 hour drive. Breakfast served from 7 until 10 and we were looked after by both Kelly and Joan and were greeted with warm friendly smiles and conversation Breakfast menu was excellent and served prompt. Had a Evening meal in the hotel restaurant the food was exceptional (compliments to the chef). A 5 minute walk into city centre makes this hotel,s location superb and ideal for sightseeing further a-field when wishing to drive out. All in all both myself and my wife had a lovely time here and would recommend to anyone .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnymac2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 7 December 2013
Delighted you had such an enjoyable stay. Our team do try very hard to please everyone. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing