We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location nice friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Waterside Hotel
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Northumberland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good location nice friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

The hotel is well located close to shops, restaurants and pubs. The room are adequate and very clean, the beds comfortable. The shower was very disappointing and low pressure and hard to regulate temperature. The hotel staff are very nice, friendly and helpful. I didn't dine at the hotel but breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed our stay with us. Hopefully you will enjoy our excellent restaurant the next time. Sorry about the shower pressure, we are having this looked into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    200
    92
    51
    28
See reviews for
86
277
34
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We ate dinner here. It was the Easter weekend and there were few tables to be had in the city. Starters of scallops with a salsa and beetroot smoked salmon were fab. The mains though - haggis, neeps & tatties and loin of venison - each had so much sauce that the flavours of the dood were drowned. An idea may be to serve sauces on the side. Service was a tad too swift for a restaurant that wasn't very busy. Two courses each and a bottle of wine in just over an hour seemed veey rushed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spinningkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Thank you for posting a review. We are sorry you felt that the main dishes were over-sauced and will check it was a one-off. I am also sorry if you felt rushed, this is not normal practice. If the restaurant was quietish then the kitchen would have been able to take less time to freshly prepare the dishes than when very busy. We will discuss this at the next management meeting to prevent repeats. We are delighted the starters lived up to or maybe even exceeded expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights on 6th, 7th and 8th of April with my husband and 4 year old daughter and had a brilliant time. The room was clean, fresh and had plenty of space for the 3 of us. We were in 117 which overlooked the car park and small garden. Even though it was at the back the view was alright.
The food in the hotel was great. We had high tea on 2 of the nights and the price and choice was very good. Even had a great choice on the kids menu, not just the usual chicken nuggets as my daughter had the lasagne. Breakfast was also great, we had cooked breakfast on the first morning and my husband enjoyed the pancakes. The staff were all helpful and really friendly.
The location of this hotel was really central and made a good base for travelling. All in all a great hotel, would definitely recommend and would certainly go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsteen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
We are delighted you enjoyed you stay so much an dlook forward to you coming back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

I had my wedding reception at this hotel and could not have more praise for everyone at this hotel. From Nicole Manson the GM and Charlene to the staff behind reception and the bar and restaurant helping with the planning and prep everything went so well without a hitch, every single one of my guests that also stayed at the hotel had nothing but praise. Recommended 1000 times over just for the staff.
The rooms were clean comfortable I personally stayed in two different rooms (111 and 126) 126 being the honeymoon suit, STAY IN THIS ROOM it is GORGEOUS! We will definately be staying here again. Thank you so much

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RonaMairead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
It was a huge pleasure to cater for your wedding and to look after a lot of your overnight guests. We are delighted they all enjoyed their experience here and we look forward to welcoming back the Mr & Mrs..........
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grampian, Scotland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights on 4 & 5 April and found The Waterside to be a very good 3 star hotel. The rooms are clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. We had our evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent. The menu offers a wide range of choices from bar meal style food to fine dining options. There is something for everyone. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Inverness.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossco_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. Our team work very hard to try to please all our clients. We hope to welcome you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel on 28-30 March along with another couple. We picked this hotel because of it's central location (5 mins walk into the middle of Inverness City centre) & the fact it was right on the River. We were on an a deal which included 2 nights B&B & 1 Dinner (& we could pick the night). Our rooms were actually in Felstead House as the hotel had a wedding on Friday night & they thought that guests not attending the wedding might prefer quiter rooms. The rooms were in a converted Victorian mansion right next to the hotel, they were of reasonable size & they looked like they had recently been decorated. there was a double bed, dressing table, 2 chairs & a shelf where the complimentary tea/coffee facilities were placed along with a kettle. There were 2 doors off the room , one contained an ensuite Toilet / Shower room, the other was a walk in cupboard with Shelves & hanging space. The bed was firm , but very comfortable as it had a mattress topper. The deal gave a £28 allowance against the a la carte menu for Dinner. The men had Haggis spring rolls as a starter with nice trimmings & a lovely sauce, the ladies picked the Camembert with herbs the middle of which was still cold, but the waitress came & returned with hot melting cheeses within 5 minutes. For mains the Ladies had Chicken wrapped in Serrano Ham with a nice sauce & the men had venison medium rare with a Madeira sauce. We really enjoyed the meal as it was something different, very tasty beautifully presented & so filling we hadn't room for desserts so had coffees instead. The restauarant was a conservatory overlooking the river & for those with their backs to the river they had installed a mirror along the opposite side of the room so you got the reflection from the river. Breakfast both mornings was again a treat, a buffet table with rolls, bun, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cheese & juices & the waitress came & took orders tea / coffee / toast & cooked breakfasts done to order. To sum up really nice 3 star hotel, comfy rooms, good shower, friendly helpful staff & great food in the middle of Inverness. I think the mark of hotel is if something goes wrong eg cold camembert or when we went to checkout we discovered we were charged for all the meals , probably our fault as we hadn't specifically said when we entered the restaurant we were on a deal. In each case the staff sorted it, with a smile so refreshing. Will we use this hotel again? resounding Yes.

Room Tip: If they offer you a room in Felstead House don't worry they are every bit as nice as the rest of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review. Our team work very hard to try to please all our clients. We hope to welcome you back another time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muir of Ord, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I would just like to say that my daughter had her wedding here on the 28/03/14 and I would recommend this hotel. Nicol Manson and his staff were fantastic we had the most beautiful day and it was all down to the hotel and there staff .Thank you all once again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterside1819, Owner at The Waterside Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you very much or your kind and complimentary review. My team and I try very hard to please all our clients and it was a pleasure to look after you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Waterside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Waterside Hotel

Property: The Waterside Hotel
Address: 19 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Waterside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautifully and centrally located on the river Ness banks, The Waterside Hotel offers comfortable accommodation, very friendly staff and outstanding cuisine. Management at staff will help you plan your stay in Inverness making sure you make the best of your stay in the capital of the Highlands. Inverness city centre, Eden Court Theatre, Saint Andrews Cathedral and The Ness Islands are all within 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Loch Ness is 8 miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Waterside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterside Hotel Inverness
The Waterside Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing