We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Westbourne Guest House
Ranked #19 of 232 Inverness B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Good food great location clean bed. Can't possibly want for more but you'll also get a warm welcome and nothing is too much bother for richard and nan. The westbourne is extremely well situated with the centre just across the bridge and Eden court about a ten minute stroll.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albalass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (178)
There are newer reviews for Westbourne Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2012

We like this very nice and perfectly located guest house for its charming atmosphere and great hospitality! Excellent breakfast prepared by Nan! Very many electronic devices inside the rooms due to Richard! The only problem is an absence of own house parking places for the guests on the street opposite the house.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nata M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We were on a road trip through Scotland and spent one night at Westbourne. We felt welcome from the moment we arrived until we said goodbye. Our hosts were lovely, lots of laughter and humour mixed with the right touch of professionalism that results in perfect hospitality. A wee sip of port on arrival, the spacious Kennedy suite with real milk for our morning tea, and a delicious stick-to-the-ribs breakfast all added to our experience to make it just perfect. If we ever return to Inverness, there is no other thought in our minds but to stay at the Westbourne Guest House.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A delightful old fashioned style guest house with the best hospitality we've ever experienced. We took the large Kennedy room for ourselves and two teenage kids - the room was very large and perfectly clean with ensuite. Very comfortable and with a lovely view over the river and near the footbridge - perfect location and we were able to park on the street outside. The owners were the loveliest most hospitable and helpful people we have met, not only were they warm and friendly, ready to cater to our needs but this is the only place I have ever been offered home baked goods and port and sherry in the guest lounge for free!! Just help yourselves - yum yum - the shortbread and chocolate coconut crispies were delicious!! In addition they lent me their folding camping chair for the day as we went to the local highland games. Breakfast was wonderful and I was even given vegetarian sausages (see photo) - highly recommend this place - you won't find hosts more generous, pleasant and amenable than these.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yoavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

My friends and I stayed over here at the end of our hiking tour. We felt at home straight away. Hositality was awesome. I would recommend it to everybody and will certainly come back here next time I'm in Inverness.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed here for just a night in June and thanks to Richard and Nan who played very warm hosts, we have some very wonderful memories of Inverness. We reached the B&B after 5 PM and were late to hire a car on rent. On our request, Richard made an extra effort to arrange a guided tour of places in and around Inverness including Loch-ness at a very reasonable price. While this was being arranged we were treated to home baked delicious cookies and sweets in the living room and Richard even lent a hand in shifting our heavy luggage to the Kennedy room (and I had thought that the trait of hospitality belonged to us Indians..how wrong was I !) which was a room with perfect view on Nessie river with swans wading though its waters, perfect size for a family of 4, with clean linen, basic toiletries and all that was needed. Kettle and material for tea, coffee and even hot-chocolate for kids was provided which was very thoughtful. The breakfast was lovely with a variety of fruits, yoghurts, cheeses on the table apart from the scottish fare served straight from the grill. Don't miss the pan cakes with maple syrup if you are there as they are the best I've ever had. The location is ideal, on banks of Nessie, a few minutes walk to the best eating joints including 'Mustard Seed" where we had our perfect dinner. One can't get wrong in selecting this place.

Room Tip: Kennedy room is perfect for a couple and 2 kids with independent beds for both kids. It's a room...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PuneetKapoor_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Westbourne Guest House has quite a few advantages. It has a good location, with a town centre just across the foot bridge which is a minute walk away, rooms are spacious (we stayed in Kennedy room with double bed and two single beds), clean, well equipped and the owners are very nice. For a longer stay it could create a home away from home experience, although we stayed only for one night. Breakfast was quite filling, although it looked as if it was 'as old as the monarchy', as someone put it. But there was a great variety of available choices, from standard full breakfast with sausages and beans, through cereals, pancakes, cheese to fresh fruit and juices.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katja115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 35 in Inverness
1,854 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fraser House
Fraser House
#75 of 232 in Inverness
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roseneath Guest House
Roseneath Guest House
#34 of 232 in Inverness
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
Ardentorrie Guesthouse
#16 of 232 in Inverness
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Highway
King's Highway
#47 of 232 in Inverness
510 reviews
0.3 mi away
Highland Apartments by Mansley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne Guest House

Address: 50 Huntly Street, Inverness IV3 5HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 232 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range: £57 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top 20 Finalist AA Landlady of the Year 2006. Riverside location, five minutes walk from city centre, train & bus stations. Rated AA 4 Red Diamond, Les Routiers, Welcome Host. All rooms en-suite, CD Alarm clock radio, TV, DVD Player, Hospitality tray, Trouser Press, Hairdryer, Refrigerator, Cooling fan, Safe, Central Heating. Free Internet workstation in residents lounge. Highland Hospitality Assured. George and Kirsteen look forward to welcoming you to Westbourne ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westbourne Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing