We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too buffed-up ratings? No way - come and see for yourself!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westbourne Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Inverness
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westbourne Guest House
Ranked #115 of 246 Inverness B&B and Inns
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Too buffed-up ratings? No way - come and see for yourself!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2009

If someone asked me what I think about the Westbourne Guest House, I'd say "It's no good... for me to try to put it into words. One just has to come and try out the magnificent hospitality himself/herself. Now, the only reason my fiance and I are not stil there is that they have managed to get us out of the room with a trick - they've put a bait, consisting of their homemade shortbread, out on the street.". Now that was a wee joke, but with a lot of truth to it. For myself, I couldn't find anything to complain about - just the opposite. Highland hospitality at it's best. You don't believe it - go try it out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dream_harder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    28
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
29
53
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed here for a night in April while visiting Scotland. Inverness was a lovely city and this guesthouse was just like staying with family. Everything was in walking distance and our hosts treated us like we were old friends. Nothing could disappoint.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2008

Everything was as advertised - we particularly appreciated the EXCELLENT location, literally a few minutes walk (and a scenic one, at that) from the city centre, convenient to all public transit, wonderful restaurants and entertainment.

There are many nice touches that made this stay memorable - including homemade shortbread (along with the tea service). The Scottish breakfast was wonderful, cooked to order.

Free internet (and computer) in the residents' lounge was an added bonus.

Our stay at Westbourne helped make our visit to Inverness a terrific one!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyAnglophiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

Just a great great find in inverness.

Lovely rooms, hosts that cant do enugh for you, great location, fab breakfast lots of lovely little additional touches that have been mentioned before which make a real difference.

stayed at a large hotel chain later in our break and for a much more expensive room, it was no where near as good as the Westbourne.

would highly recommend.

thanks for a great stay

  • Liked — amazing hosts
  • Disliked — leaving and staying somewhere worse, and more expensive the next night
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinhoodguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2008

Stayed in the Westbourne 11th 12th and 13th aug 2008
2 adults and 2 children greeted at the door told all about breakfast and the times shown in the communal living room were you are free to use the internet sit and relax. there are also lots of games for the kids to play with or take up to your room.
Stayed in the family room on top floor 1 double and 2 singles all beds were very clean and comfortable nice clean bathroom....view from window were excellent river ness just across the road beautiful scenery...
breakfast was good..........location was brilliant 5 mins walk across the bridge and you are in the centre of everything.
the lady who runs the guest house very nice we would recommend the westbourne.

  • Liked — friendly clean and great location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conhan67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2008

I highly recommend the place. The hosts are very friendly, common areas are just right: there is a cosy common room with internet access, books, and a small DVD library. Our room was more than we expected: modern en suite with all required amenities, a radio, TV with a DVD player, tea/coffee and most importantly, a very comfortable bed. The location is just superb - on the river Ness, just minutes from downtown. Parking was not a problem.

  • Liked — Room quality and location
  • Disliked — There were no weak points
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank podroznik2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.3 mi away
MacDonald House
MacDonald House
#139 of 246 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stanford House
Stanford House
#182 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.2 mi away
King's Highway
King's Highway
#28 of 246 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Arisaig-Guesthouse
Arisaig-Guesthouse
#102 of 246 in Inverness
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Black Isle Rooms
#31 of 40 in Inverness
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
No. 29 Hotel
No. 29 Hotel
#118 of 246 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westbourne Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westbourne Guest House

Property: Westbourne Guest House
Address: 50 Huntly Street, Inverness IV3 5HS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 246 B&Bs / Inns in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Top 20 Finalist AA Landlady of the Year 2006. Riverside location, five minutes walk from city centre, train & bus stations. Rated AA 4 Red Diamond, Les Routiers, Welcome Host. All rooms en-suite, CD Alarm clock radio, TV, DVD Player, Hospitality tray, Trouser Press, Hairdrier, Refrigerator, Coling fan, Safe, Central Heating. Free Internet workstation in residents lounge. Highland Hospitality Assured. Richard & Nan look forward to welcoming you to Westbourne ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westbourne Guest House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing