We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located and excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I have stayed in this hotel on a few occasions recently and can thoroughly recommend it. It is centrally located with free car parking. On two occasions I received a free upgrade. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is well located with a view overlooking the River Ness. The buffet breakfast was also very good. Although not the most attractive building - 70's architecture - the interior is very bright and the rooms are very well appointed. There is also a gym which I did not have time to use. I have given it an excellent rating for its value - you would pay a lot more for similar accommodation in other cities.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FortBillPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Inverness in the future and I am sure you will appreciate the improvments we are making, we are currently replacing all our windows and cladding the exterior of the building to help it look a bit more pleasing on the outside!
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,085 - 1,091 of 1,207 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2011

The rooms are huge and the bed was very comfy. Service wasn't the fastest but very friendly. The shower was a little tempremental otherwise was a nice stay.

Room Tip: The river view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back at the Mercure Inverness in the future to see the improvments we are making.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2011

Wasn't advised in advance of name change but once in reception staff very helpful and had my booking OK. Hotel very central for railway station and shopping centre. Eden Court Conference Centre only 10 mins walk away. Room comfortable and well equipped with flat screen TV, trouser press etc. Breakfast sufficient for purpose and staff friendly. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am sorry there was confusion over the name change. The Hotel changed ownership 3 weeks before you stayed with us and we did try to contact all our future guests but, depending on the method of booking, unfortunately we did not have contact details for all guests as some book via webites, agents etc.
We appreciate your comments and hope to see you back at Mercure Inverness in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

Were at the Mercure last week end, and were surprised to see it is no longer a Ramada Jarvis. We have stayed here often before in the autumn and winter, and are always very pleased. We were on the 2 nights bed and breakfast, with dinner on the first night. Dinner was lovely (100% improved from last winter) and the buffet breakfast is 10/10. The room was lovely and warm, very clean and a lovely comfy bed. Our only complaint was that customers now have to pay for the car park(you are not told when you book) It is the only hotel I have ever stayed where car parking is charged. Would definetely stay again, and recommed to my friends and family. Also, very nice staff.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank comfortlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review, I am glad that you saw an improvment on our Food! We have a new Head Chef and she is doing a fantastic job, she will be delighted with your feedback. We have introduced a small parking charge of £2 for overnight guests, I am sorry if you feel this is unfair, it is included in some rates and advertised on all our partner websites.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

We booked an executive suite for 3 to stay during the marathon weekend at a rate of £390 for 2 nights.
The description did not match the reality. The suite was infact 1 smaller room tagged onto another room. The third bed was a sofa bed.
The bathroom in particular really needed updating.
Our 'free' internet didn't work and no one came to fix it, even though we rang reception to report it.
Whilst an early breakfast was supplied for marathon runners. Choice was limited to toast or porridge.
Street noise was also a problem.
On the plus side, the jacuzzi was great to soak our weary joints and the full breakfast the following day was fine.
We chose to stay in a bigger hotel this year because room space was limited in the B&B we stayed in last year, but with hindsight, the personal service at the B&B far exceeded any of the perceived benefits we thought we'd get from staying here.

Room Tip: Don't kid yourself if you book an executive suite, it's a connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaMFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We would sincerely like to apologise that you did not feel the rooms matched your expectations. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the issues you have highlighted and taken action. I do hope that you would consider visiting us again when you are in Inverness as I can assure you your enjoyment will be a priority to us, as all guests are.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

had a 4 night stay in sept,found that the staff there very helpful in dealing with any queries,breakfast was selfservice and the choices were excellent,i found one lady with the long black could'nt do enough to help you with any problems always had a smile on her face,used the hotel bar a few times but prices are to high,one cask beer on tap,trade winds,but the positive side yet again bar staff helpful&polite.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzan L, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I appreciate your comments and will share them with our team.

Regards
Suzan Latto
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Consuelo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#13 of 36 in Inverness
196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#29 of 36 in Inverness
1,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 36 in Inverness
1,302 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £57 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing