We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Tongue, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
“nice stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

we arrived early and were checked in no problem,nice clean bright room ,only one chair in room asked for another one and it was there in minutes,no problem with noise as we were at back of hotel.Breakfast was excellent buffet style with lots of choice and topped up regulary

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for your feedback, I appreciate you taking the time to write this review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to the mercure inverness in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    322
    345
    148
    70
See reviews for
119
477
70
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2011

I have stayed in this hotel on a few occasions recently and can thoroughly recommend it. It is centrally located with free car parking. On two occasions I received a free upgrade. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant is well located with a view overlooking the River Ness. The buffet breakfast was also very good. Although not the most attractive building - 70's architecture - the interior is very bright and the rooms are very well appointed. There is also a gym which I did not have time to use. I have given it an excellent rating for its value - you would pay a lot more for similar accommodation in other cities.

Room Tip: Try for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FortBillPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back to the Mercure Inverness in the future and I am sure you will appreciate the improvments we are making, we are currently replacing all our windows and cladding the exterior of the building to help it look a bit more pleasing on the outside!
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

The rooms are huge and the bed was very comfy. Service wasn't the fastest but very friendly. The shower was a little tempremental otherwise was a nice stay.

Room Tip: The river view is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjb32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you back at the Mercure Inverness in the future to see the improvments we are making.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

Wasn't advised in advance of name change but once in reception staff very helpful and had my booking OK. Hotel very central for railway station and shopping centre. Eden Court Conference Centre only 10 mins walk away. Room comfortable and well equipped with flat screen TV, trouser press etc. Breakfast sufficient for purpose and staff friendly. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write this review, I am sorry there was confusion over the name change. The Hotel changed ownership 3 weeks before you stayed with us and we did try to contact all our future guests but, depending on the method of booking, unfortunately we did not have contact details for all guests as some book via webites, agents etc.
We appreciate your comments and hope to see you back at Mercure Inverness in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Were at the Mercure last week end, and were surprised to see it is no longer a Ramada Jarvis. We have stayed here often before in the autumn and winter, and are always very pleased. We were on the 2 nights bed and breakfast, with dinner on the first night. Dinner was lovely (100% improved from last winter) and the buffet breakfast is 10/10. The room was lovely and warm, very clean and a lovely comfy bed. Our only complaint was that customers now have to pay for the car park(you are not told when you book) It is the only hotel I have ever stayed where car parking is charged. Would definetely stay again, and recommed to my friends and family. Also, very nice staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfortlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review, I am glad that you saw an improvment on our Food! We have a new Head Chef and she is doing a fantastic job, she will be delighted with your feedback. We have introduced a small parking charge of £2 for overnight guests, I am sorry if you feel this is unfair, it is included in some rates and advertised on all our partner websites.
We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We booked an executive suite for 3 to stay during the marathon weekend at a rate of £390 for 2 nights.
The description did not match the reality. The suite was infact 1 smaller room tagged onto another room. The third bed was a sofa bed.
The bathroom in particular really needed updating.
Our 'free' internet didn't work and no one came to fix it, even though we rang reception to report it.
Whilst an early breakfast was supplied for marathon runners. Choice was limited to toast or porridge.
Street noise was also a problem.
On the plus side, the jacuzzi was great to soak our weary joints and the full breakfast the following day was fine.
We chose to stay in a bigger hotel this year because room space was limited in the B&B we stayed in last year, but with hindsight, the personal service at the B&B far exceeded any of the perceived benefits we thought we'd get from staying here.

Room Tip: Don't kid yourself if you book an executive suite, it's a connecting room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaMFriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 26 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued review. We would sincerely like to apologise that you did not feel the rooms matched your expectations. I would like to assure you that we have looked into the issues you have highlighted and taken action. I do hope that you would consider visiting us again when you are in Inverness as I can assure you your enjoyment will be a priority to us, as all guests are.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2011

had a 4 night stay in sept,found that the staff there very helpful in dealing with any queries,breakfast was selfservice and the choices were excellent,i found one lady with the long black could'nt do enough to help you with any problems always had a smile on her face,used the hotel bar a few times but prices are to high,one cask beer on tap,trade winds,but the positive side yet again bar staff helpful&polite.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suzan L, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 24 January 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I appreciate your comments and will share them with our team.

Regards
Suzan Latto
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#22 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#26 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Property: Mercure Inverness Hotel
Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing