We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inverness mercure”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Inverness mercure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Great location, next to river and in city center. 5 minute walk to castle. . Beds comfy. Staff very friendly. Free parking. Lots of places to eat near by. Do not get the pizza at Johnny Foxs. (Next door)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank cozumel00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the time to explore our beautiful city.
I hope we can welcome you back in the future, you should try our own pizza next time as it is delicious!
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    322
    345
    148
    70
See reviews for
119
477
70
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Unfortunately we got off to a bad start with this hotel pretty much from the get go. We had been on the bus with the tour group for pretty much 12 hours from Glasgow to Inverness and were pretty tired. We went up to our rooms at about 6.45 to freshen up a little bit before dinner at 7.30. The carpets in the hotel are worn and dirty. Thankfully the rooms themselves are pretty clean and quite spacious. Close examination of the wallpaper shows it's a bit tattered in places. Bathroom is a bit small - probably one of the smallest we've had. Just be careful when turning on the shower. You need to turn to the hot side really quickly or you get a cold shock. Our room overlooked the street at the back of the hotel and can be pretty loud since there are restaurants and bars nearby. I got woken up pretty early in the morning by some drunken revellers singing and shouting but was able to sleep after but light sleepers beware. Unfortunately there is no aircon in the room so you HAVE to leave the window open for some ventilation. What made it worse was that the handle on our window was broken so we had to call maintenance which turned out to be the manager (Chris) who was able to solve our window problems. Unfortunately our bags didn't make it to our rooms by the time we had to get down to dinner and this is where the problems began. There was a massive group already there and we learnt later that two groups had turned up unexpectedly. It took ages for them to actually get the menu to us at which point we were informed that we would get served entree and dessert but had to go up to a small buffet for main meals. Strange since the larger group already there seemed to be served their main meals. You could see straightaway that the number of staff there was inadequate to service the amount of people in the restaurant. Some of us didn't even have glasses for water! Entree and dessert was fine but the main meal had been sitting there for a long time and was getting dry. Other guests noticed that they were pouring hot water on the spaghetti to soften it up so by the time that we actually got to eat it, the spaghetti was broken up and soft. It was definitely very dry and fairly tasteless and probably the worse meal that we have had for the entire tour. Breakfast in contrast was actually very good much to my surprise. We were actually going to go out and look for Breakfast ourselves but thought we'd see what was on offer first. Lyndsey who was serving tea and coffee to guests was very friendly and cheery and a definite asset to the hotel staff. The hotel is situated quite centrally and there are some good alternatives for dinner which I would encourage people to use if they have arrived in a group and have no choice. Another plus is that they provide free wifi throughout the hotel. Overall I think Mercure needs a drastic overhaul in both service and facilities as talking with other members of our group, they had some big problems with their rooms which wasn't dealt with well. Yes there are some positives as with anything but I'm quite disappointed with Mercure in general though as I've had other bad experiences and it's definitely not a brand I will use willingly again.

Room Tip: If for some reason you HAVE to stay here, then pay for the upgrade or at the very least try and get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your short stay with us recently, I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occassion. I appreciate your constructive comments and will use them as we try to continually improve our service.
I respect your opinion but thankfully it does seem to be an isolated incident, we catered for 200 guests on the evening in question with very minimal negative feedback. All our groups were booked in at specific times on differant meal plans on that evening and I can assure you we did not have any unexpected groups dining with us.
I do hope you enjoy the rest of your visit to Great Britain.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

littleborough
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

I went to Inverness to visit the Strathspey and Keith & Dufftown Railways and the Mercure was very handy, being only a few minutes walk from the station. Great room, overlooking the river , and very clean. Friendly staff also.The only drawback was the limited menu (at very high prices) for evening meals. I did have the buffet style breakfast, although I felt it was a little overpriced at £13.95, and I finished off each night with a pint of Boddingtons bitter (£4), but, as the beer in the local bars was £2.80 a pint, and I like Indian and Chinese food, I ate and drank out the three nights I was there.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shakerLittleborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, I appreciate your constructive feedback and will use this as we try to improve our service. Our Breakfast is available at a lower rate when booked in advance at the time of reservation or when checking in, my apologies if you were not made aware of this.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here last night while in Inverness on business. As others have said it is in a great location but if you get offered a room on the 5th floor ask for another or find another hotel. The extractor fan on the roof is on until half 10 at night and comes back on again at 5 in the morning!!! Unless you're a very heavy sleeper who can sleep through the constant loud drone of heavy machinery you'll be wide awake not long after 5 in the morning.

Fortunately I was only there for one night but when I complained on checking out I was informed that it shouldn't have come on until 6 o'clock as if that would have been far more acceptable. I really dont think this hotel should be charging full rates for 5th floor rooms when they are clearly aware of the problem and therefore cannot guarantee guests a good night's sleep.

Room Tip: Not the 5th floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martino88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were disturbed during your stay with us. This noise was due to an extractor fan on our roof which we have discovered needs to be replaced, this work is being carried out immediately and until then the fan has been isolated but my sincere apologies that your stay was not entirely satisfactory.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Really nice hotel, great location, really friendly and helpful staff. Only downside was the leisure facilities were closed for maintenance, this was solved as other facilities were made available at another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Thursobhoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. My apologies that the Leisure Club was closed, this is now open again and I appreciate your patience with this matter.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We chose this hotel primarily for it's location and plumped for a riverside view superior room which was "top notch" spacewise/decor and with lovely Nespresso machine. It is so handy for the railway station, the airport bus connection & right on the edge of all the shops/banks etc.

The staff were all very friendly and helpful, even the maintenance chaps had a chirpy manner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Railtraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Mercure Inverness.
My team will be pleased with your comments and I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murrieta
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Hotel is very tired and needs modernized. Rooms and bathrooms need updated. Hotel location is great and the city center is just a few minutes walk. The breakfast buffet was adequate. The staff were very helpful and courteous.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jblack49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, I welcome your constructive feedback and we will use this as we continue to try and improve our service. We do have a planned programme on Maintenance within the Hotel and hope if you choose to stay with us again then you will notice these changes.
I am glad that you enjoyed our city centre location and my team will be delighted with your comments.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#26 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Property: Mercure Inverness Hotel
Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing