We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Shame About Noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Location Shame About Noise”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Have stayed here before but after our last stay it will be the last. We got a room facing the street. The noise coming from one of the bars was that bad it felt like the band was in the room with us. That noise started at 3pm and there was still screaming and shouting at 5am from the street. Went to complain and asked to be shifted but hotel was full. We're all ready to leave the next day (we had booked two nights) but the reception offered to move us to the back of the hotel which had just been made vacant and this made such a difference actually got sleep. The rooms get very stuffy as you can't open the windows due to the noise and the bathrooms need updated.I had a room where the enamel was flacking of the bath and the toilet was cracked . The Staff were fantastic and can not be faulted for there professionalism just a shame the hotel is situated on a street filled with bars. It is also quite expensive

Room Tip: Book a room facing the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heblady_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I apologise that we did not meet our usual standards on this occassion. We are currently waiting for our windows to be replaced on the city side of the Hotel and this will greatly reduce the noise from our city centre location.
I am glad that you found our team to be helpful, I hope we can welcome you back in the near future and you will see the improvments we are making.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    332
    346
    149
    72
See reviews for
121
488
70
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belfast
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my wife for four nights at start of July. Our room was a superior double and had a river view. We had been upgraded to this due to an error in their central booking office. The room was spacious and had extra touches such as a separate lounge area with its own tv and a coffee machine. Good clean bathroom and dressing gowns orovided. The major letdown was the buffet breakfast. On the first morning the food was just warm but the plates were stone cold so it wasn't very pleasant. After that I took continental but ny wife gsve the cooked one more go but it was the same. I think if you get up early the plates and food would be hotter but we were on holiday and anyway that should not matter. Location is excellent and hss decent car park, just a pity about the food

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank locumpharmacist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us, I am glad that you enjoyed your upgrade to one of our Superior rooms.
I appreciate your thoughts on our Breakfast and I have discussed this with our Head Chef, I am sorry that we did not meet our usual high standard on this occassion.
We will use your constructive feedback to improve our service.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

Located in the middle of town, I suffered a room overlooking the busy street witnessing entertaining fights and regular use of bad language. Sleeping was difficult due to the street nose, no air con ( yes needed in Scotland sometimes), and eating flushing toilets and peoples' showers. My room had 2 small single beds which had seen better days. On a plus side, the staff were good and breakfast reasonable. I thought it quite an expensive hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamPitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations on this occassion. We are working on reducing the noise from our city centre location by installing new windows which are triple glazed.
I appreciate your thoughts and we do use all the feedback to try and improve our service.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Coventry
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

On arrival I had a lovely welcome from the Receptionist, my room was ready before normal check in time which was a bonus and I was allowed to check in.
The room matched expectations, very big but needed some tlc, a touch of paint here and there would do. The bath enamel also needs doing but nothing major. The room was located on the street side so a lot of noise from some of the bars but this did calm down at night time, the other side of the hotel overlooking the river would have been better.
Lounge service was great, no issues here. The welcome I received at the gym was nice, however it needs a makeover. I ordered room service, good choice and the food was lovely.
Breakfast was ok.
Not sure if I would return if I was in the area but overall it delivers on most things.

Room Tip: get a room overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robborobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your kind and constructive review of your recent stay, we do have a rolling programme of maintenance and we have a planned investment into our bathrooms in the near future.
I am glad that we were able to help you get checked in early and I appreciate your feedback, it will be used as we continually try to improve our service and product.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#22 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel, Inverness
Columba Hotel, Inverness
#27 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Property: Mercure Inverness Hotel
Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing