We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Been coming here for over 15 years!*****”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I have been visiting Scotland for the last 15 years & always stay at this hotel as it is clean, friendly & excellent value. The breakfast is exceptional, the restaurant always puts on a great selection of evening meals & there's no nicer restaurant with the magnificent view of the river. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

Room Tip: Go for the Studio room with the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikethebike52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your kind review of our Hotel, it is always a pleasure to welcome back returning guests and we appreciate your continued business.
I look forward to seeing you in the near future and thank you once again for choosing Mercure Inverness.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013

Spent 3 nights this time - our third visit, with the hotel chosen mainly for its central location. We asked for a room overlooking the river to avoid the inevitable street noise, but were told no rooms were available. The hotel didn't seem crowded, with the breakfast room not a quarter full the next day, and the car park had plenty of room, but we had to accept the explanation.
On the plus side, since last time new windows had been fitted and both lifts were working - albeit quirkily (every time we pressed for ground floor from the second, it decided to go via the third despite nobody being there, so by day 2 we ended up taking the stairs). The staff are as friendly and helpful as always. Breakfasts were good. There is free wifi throughout.
On the down side, the décor is still tired and worn, and the room had a pervading mustiness about it. The door key worked every day until the evenings, when without fail it stopped and had to be reset (no, it wasn't kept by a mobile phone!). The very large bed had a duvet one size too small with no overhang - this meant sleeping in the middle, which begged the question as to why have such a large bed in the first place!

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the river. You probably won't get one, but ask anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whitbyladYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, I appreciate your honest and constructive feedback and, of course, your continued business.
We are in the process of a lengthy programme of works to improve the Hotel and as you noticed we have replaced the beds but our linen is the wrong size so our House Keeper is working with our laundry company to change this very shortly.
I do hope that we can welcome you back in the near future and you will notice the improvments we making.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Here for 4 nights. First night was awful- new windows that did not fit and the local DJ in the pub opposite- not good. Had already informed the hotel of the door- had broken into and was very loose. Next day window was mended and I slept very well.
The room was very comfortable, did have to ask how to use the shower.
Food was very good and plentiful. Loved the central location- easy to reach the bus and train station.

Room Tip: Overlooking the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warwickgirl06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, I am glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay and we were able to rectify the issues you encountered. We have recently had new windows fitted and there has been some teething problems with them but we have these all rectified now.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I stayed as part of a group and my room was at the front of the hotel overlooking the city centre. The room was a typical "chain" standard room. Clean, spacious, slightly dated. Noise from rowdy city centre revellers on Sunday interfered with sleep but subsequent nights were quiet. Staff were friendly & helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the river rather than the city centre are probably quieter if you are staying at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cragrat_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, I appreciate your honest and constructive feedback and we do use this as we continually try to improve our service.
I am glad that you found our team to be friendly and helpful, they are very hard working and will appreciate your comments.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

5 minute walk to the railway station and near all the shops and buses.
Our room was a large en suite with a sofa bed and flat screen t v.
The bed was huge with 6 pillows and 3 cushions.
Our window view faced the River Ness over the car park.
The meals were buffet breakfast and served starter and dessert with help yourself dinner choice in the evening.
The waitress/bar service needed more training.
I used the swimming pool/ jacuzzi and sauna and steam room but would have liked longer opening times than the 7 am to 8.30.
The entrance from the main road is unprepossessing and can be tricky to locate as the sign is high on the roof top.
The decor particularly in the corridors is scuffed and the en suites are a little tired.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I appreciate you constructive feedback and will use this as we continually try to improve our service.
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I have now stayed in this hotel several times, and also attended several functions, I find the staff friendly and efficient, the rooms are spacious and offer excellent value.
Food is value for money with a lovely menu with lots of choices.
I have had a room overlooking the river and also overlooking the street, and have not found that the nise of the street kept me awake
Will stay in this hotel again:)

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B20AGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and also for returning to us! I appreciate your feedback and hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Mother daughter night out in Inverness...Johny Fox then Bar One. Lively but safe feel to the town. Warm evening could have been abroad...except returned to a lovely clean room with quality furnishings!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMac566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found our rooms to a high standard of cleanliness. Our House Keeping team work extremely hard and will be delighted that you have remarked on their efforts.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 36 in Inverness
1,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#15 of 36 in Inverness
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £50 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing