We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, clean rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Inverness Hotel
Ranked #30 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The location is great, it is situated right in the heart of Inverness, with all the shops and amenities you could need, plus a lovely river to the back of the hotel.

The rooms are a good size, clean and modern. Plus they are quiet, despite being so central. The only slight downside was that the tea / coffee was never replaced, baring in mind we were there for 3 days.

The actual hotel is modern with a good gym and swimming pool facility.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lorna f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your stay. I appreciate your feedback and I will share this with our team.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2014

Centrally located and close to the town centre, this hotel had great service. The girl at the front desk had to explain parking (which was a bit of a hassle because of roadworks etc going on in one of the streets) but she explained it diligently and with no sign that she had probably explained the same thing a hundred times already to other guests. The room was clean and big and location-wise was close and easy to get about on foot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourself and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This hotel is an excellent base for visiting Inverness, its location is close to many restaurants, attractions and bus and train stations. The staff are very pleasant and professional and willing to assist if required. We had a river view room which was lovely and it was clean and well presented. The car parking facility is another bonus in a city centre location. The only reason its not a five star review is because I telephoned to ask about accessing the on site parking prior to arrival and spoke to Becky who was rude and abrupt when asked a simple query. Would recommend a stay here if Inverness.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cara102007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am glad that you enjoyed the majority of your stay. We do not have any Becky working here but I will try to find out who you spoke to and ensure it doesnt happen again.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I spent five days here in one of their privilege rooms over looking the river.
I booked early and the price was very reasonable. The room was much bigger than i expected.
The pic ive included of the bed was after a tidy up of the room after day 3, not as we found on day one.
Parking was free as was the internet than run at good speed.
It was great to have a bath tub to relax in after walking the attractions.
Its position in the city center makes it ideal.
There were robes, slippers and a coffee machine that i never got round to using.
A ironing boad and iron wernt supplied but i didnt ask for them either. They may of had some somewhere. Staff were excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and for sharing the lovely photos you took while staying with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the time to explore our lovely city.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

The hotel has an excellent location. I was surprised by the decadently large room by European standards, very nice view over the river, far more comfortable than anything I experienced in the whole Scotland. Parking was right on the river bank with easy access and lots of restaurants in walking distance. Yes, the entrance on the city side is close to a club, very noisy, lots of people hanging out on Saturday night but it was OK. I'll definitely stay there again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Calator438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and chose to share these views.
I hope that we can welcome you back in the near future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Booked into the Mercure Inverness on a business trip. The hotel is in a central location with good access to the town and a well equipped gym, sauna and swimming pool in the lower ground floor. I stayed twice at this hotel on separate occasions during this trip. The first time was on the fifth floor in the front of the hotel, the noise from the street at 3am was ridiculous, I nearly went to the street myself to shut them up! For the second visit I requested the back of the hotel (top tip) and the room was very quiet all night. The wifi is rubbish so don't invest in the cost (~£9 a day) as it's not much better than the free wifi and certainly my 3G was faster. The breakfast is ok but make sure that you arrive early or the breakfast food sits on a heated counter drying out, as standard breakfast food is not cooked to order. The rooms are adequate; clean, equipped to a reasonable standard and comfortable. Little surprised to see graffiti on the wall of room 512 that hadn't been removed or repainted. All in all an adequate hotel for an overnight business stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank g30fftodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, I appreciate your constructive feedback and will look into the issues you have mentioned.
I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Mercure Inverness in the future.
Kind regards
Fraser Peterkin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
FraserPeterkin, General Manager at Mercure Inverness Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 36 in Inverness
1,314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Columba Hotel Inverness by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Inverness
Jurys Inn Inverness
#15 of 36 in Inverness
210 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Inverness Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Inverness Hotel

Address: 33 Church Street, Inverness IV1 1DX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £50 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Inverness Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose the Mercure Inverness Hotel situated in the heart of Inverness' vibrant city centre on the bank of the River Ness, with the bustle of the thirving shops and local nightlife right on the doorstep. You can't get more central than this! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Inverness Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Inverness
Inverness Ramada
Mercure Inverness Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing