We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“overrated and overpriced”
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
glasgow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“overrated and overpriced”
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Given the very high cost we expected a top notch experience but while the building and grounds are beautiful, inside leaves much to be desired. The decor is tired and feels like it has never been renovated. It is grubby, shabby and very depressing. The beds feel old and saggy. Dinner and breakfast was a meagre affair reminiscent of the gastronomy of the 1950's. I feel like this property has seen better days.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank FlaneurTC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    90
    30
    15
    6
See reviews for
103
278
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

The drive up to the Culloden House looked promising, but as we stepped inside, I knew we made a mistake. I don't have a problem with "old" but this historic site has lost its charm. The public spaces are very depressing. As we were taken upstairs to our room, we saw trays of old food on the floor and dirty towels strewn about in the hallway and on the furniture. Yuch. Our room was quite large, but smelled very musky and unfortunately, there was a dark mold-like stain on the bathroom ceiling. Unfortunately, the entire place needs some polish and re-furbishing and is certainly not worth the high price. Be careful, the photos are quite deceiving.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank goldlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

The whole family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Culloden House.
It was just as described on its website, and I was pleasantly surprised that the bathrooms were new (or at least in very good condition) despite the period nature of the house and decorations.
The room was huge with lovely views over the front lawn.
The breakfast was personal and the staff attentive.
The staff in general were very friendly and helpful, offering classic Highland hospitality.
My only tip would be one I got from a previous Trip Advisor review, which is to contact the hotel direct to get a price quote as we paid much less than the price quoted on the website. So was very good value at what we paid.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieFamilyAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Our stay at Culloden House was fantastic from start to finish. Upon arrival Kyle, the receptionist/porter carried all our things up to our room and couldn't do enough to help and settle us in. We arrived late and, for a small(ish) hotel it was pleasing to see that there is a 24-hour room service. Although we ordered off this menu we were offered a late dinner in the restaurant, even though it was already ten o'clock. It was clear that, as the hotel was reasonably quiet, we had been upgraded to a larger, traditionally furnished room, with plenty of living space and an excellent view over the gardens. Breakfast was served to us, which was a refreshing change from the standard continental buffet at most chain hotels. Again, the staff were friendly and helpful with our waitress, Fiona, showing interest in us and stopping to chat or give advice about the local area. This level of personal service continued throughout our visit. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent and our waiter, Noel continued the excellent service. We feel the hotel offers superb value if you are looking for something away from the safe option of a hotel chain. We will definitely return if we are in this area again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredSalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
249 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2011

We stayed at the Culloden House during a trip to Scotland in April 2011. Using the word "hotel" just doesn't do it justice -- you feel as though you are stepping back in time and staying as a personal guest in a country manor house.

The house and grounds are absolutely breathtaking. The interior of the house is absolutely gorgeous and the rooms are traditionally decorated and very comfortable and quiet. They have L'Occitane toiletries (my personal favorite!) and complimentary still and sparkling water in their rooms. They have a small herd of Hairy Coos (highland cattle) and a small flock of ducks on their property, much to the delight of my two children!

We had booked two regular rooms but were upgraded to suites -- one of which had a very large sitting area and two bathrooms. The beds were extremely comfortable! The hotel is situated on a large piece of property and is very, very quiet.

The staff is absolutely top notch. Without a doubt, some of the best service we have ever received at any hotel, anywhere. I have two young children and they went out of their way to make them feel comfortable and welcome.

Dinner at the Culloden House is a treat -- 5 star dining in a beautiful setting. The best food we had in our entire week long stay in the UK, and the service was impeccable. Everything was beautifully presented and tasted wonderful. Plus, they went out of their way to make something special for my picky 5 year old eater. Room service is also available.

Breakfasts are equally well presented and delicious (and included in the price of your room!) We especially enjoyed the Scottish breakfast (with homemade beef and onion sausages), the Scottish porridge, and the delicious homemade rolls and croissants.

Even with all of the luxurious surroundings and peacefulness of Culloden House, you are still very close to the area's attractions -- Culloden battlefield, Clava Cairns, the city of Inverness, and Loch Ness.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Six of us arrived here from all different places and all with jetlag. Four of our party were on a golf package, and two of us were the non-golfing spouses of. This is a lovely manor house with dining room and separate lounge. Rooms are in character for a period house. Stairs up to the higher rooms can be a challenge for those with knee or other problems, or for people who have a few wee drams in the lounge before bed!

What really set this apart, aside from the glorious entryway to a beautiful house set back from the gates, was the staff. They were everything you'd want when away from home. Efficient, of course, but also warm, friendly and slightly psychic as to our wants. The golfers, four guys who are old friends, loved to sit in the lounge before (and after) dinner and discuss scotch with the bartender (who also did a range of other jobs). No bills were signed but he kept subtle note of what was spent without being intrusive. It was like visiting relatives, except ones you actually like!

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, ask for a low floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cantstandbadhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shetland traveller
Level Contributor
242 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2011

After a tough few months, we came south to stay here for 3 nights R&R and found a hotel that really knows how to look after it's customers...
No wonder Tony Blair has stayed here!
The quiet, attentive staff, the comfortable rooms, the excellent food and the general ambience of the place have made this one of our favourite hotels - after just one visit.
It was just LOVELY!

Room Tip: Try the spa treatments
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60-degreese-North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#4 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Property: Culloden House
Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing