We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellant service, lovely rooms”
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

very convenient , on an estate. , very comfortable. Staff very friendly and very happy to make calls and check on reservations. breakfast great.. but dinner was ordinary. Would stay there for the grounds , the ambiance and the comfort... worth the money.. Not really for kids.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eshander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
There are newer reviews for Culloden House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

477 - 483 of 597 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

We got lost trying to find the hotel, but they sent someone to find us and then we followed them back. The view when you drive into the property takes your breathe away- lots of greenery, a very large lawn well manicured and a beautiful mansion in the distance. We were upgraded to a suite because of the confusion and it was beautiful. A living room and very large, well appointed bedroom.Breakfasts were included and very good, dinners were relaxing, with great service and very good food. The concierges were always attentive and helpful with our daily excursions. This truly was a wonderful find!!
PS The bagpiper played outside our window at 6pm every night!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pezMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

The reservations were made via email and Maria was a charmer about taking care of everything! She answered all my questions and when the dates changed, the hotel was extremely gracious about handling my error. The first night we stayed we had just arrived from the US before going on to our next stop. The hosts were so friendly to very weary travelers and made sure we were made as comfortable as possible. No problems at check-in - in fact we were up graded to a very nice suite. Dinner was wonderful in the restaurant - they were so nice about explaining every dish and recommending some special ones. We missed the breakfast the next day, but did have it when we went back a week later. It was wonderful! We also got to hear and see the bagpiper on the second visit. That was awesome!! The entire experience could not have been better! Thanks to a wonderful staff throughout the hotel - we especially enjoyed the gentleman who helped with the luggage. His sense of humor added a real spark to the stay!

Room Tip: Suite 22 was very nice! But all rooms are attractive!
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DartonProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

The room was comfortable, though the furnishings a little odd, or old-fashioned. Service was good, food was good. I can't give it a rave for some reason, but the place is lovely, and everyone tries hard to please. There's a bagpiper in the early evening playing outside, which is nice too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gallip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

My sister and brother in law treated us to a night at Culloden House while my husband and I were in Scotland visiting family on our honeymoon. It is a beautiful place and the staff are absolutely delightful.... When we pulled up I was thinking it might be a bit stuffy for such an incredible hotel, but was so surprised - classy, yet totally laid back at the same time. Our room was lovely, as was the spectacular view.. and the bathroom was beautiful. Very memorable stay. Thank you.

Trish & Buddy Scherer

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishkaty_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

Culloden promises a high class hotel with good service and customer care.
This was not the case in our experience.

Our room was large (we had paid for the suite), but poorly furnished with decaying and shabby decor.
The bathroom was the low point of everything, it looked like it had not been touched for 20 years, the hot water took ages to come through and then dribbled out of the ancient shower.

There is no care in the rooms, no loving touches and a lot of things which aren't practical.
Nowhere to put your shower gel in the shower, the hairdryer doesnt quite reach the mirror, the duvet doesn't quite fit the bed and there isn't even a safe in the room. The room had lights which were not working, cobwebs in the bathroom, and a large clump of hair in the toilet when we turned up.
We requested coffee making facilities which never arrived, and although we had pre booked for dinner, we kept being asked to book again.

The food in the restaurant is good, but overpriced, we paid £130 for a meal for 2 with the cheapest wine on offer. The menu is quite limited and we were glad that we were only there 2 nights, as the menu doesn't change.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel, we have stayed in much better hotels for a lot less money. This hotel doesn't have nice Scottish character, it's just old.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jackdaw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2011

Had an amazing stay at Culloden House Hotel. Just wish it had been for more than 1 night! The staff were all polite, very knowledgeable about the local area, and most importantly friendly! Feared that this hotel would be quite 'stuffy and snobby' but this was certainly not the case. The decor is in keeping with the building and very comfortable. Our bedroom was clean, spacious and well equipped as was our large bathroom. Dining in the hotel was innovative (where else would you get pineapple & chilli soup with popping candy?!) and catered for all tastes. Breakfast was locally sourced, hot and filling. All in all I cannot fault this beautiful hotel or their amazing staff! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DH2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 35 in Inverness
641 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 35 in Inverness
1,758 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £118 - £412 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing