We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff and good quality” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
JHB, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and good quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2011

The hotel has a typical ancient Scottish feeling and look, like an old country manor house.The building is old but well maintained. I could not get wi-fi in the bedroom and was subsequently upgraded to a luxury room without any arguments. The rooms are huge and very comfortable. The dining was very good and the standard of service excellent. Can reccomend this hotel if you intend staying in Inverness on holiday. Prices very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0veCr0atia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    368
    86
    27
    15
    6
See reviews for
93
261
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
halifax ns
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

The property - astounding. Huge walled garden, beautiful estate....loved the piper! The staff were helpful and jovial ( we're taking about you Noel - thanks a bunch for a great trip!!! Noel rocks!!!!!). Food was fabulous (although youngish waitstaff seemed a bit scared of us). This was by far my husband's favorite hotel in Scotland. My only reservation was, I thought the (massive!!!!) bedroom suite needed a freshen up reno - I'm sure it was top of the line luxury in the 80's. But it's still hard to beat sitting in your open window in the morning watching the deer and bunnies jump around.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cnnHalifaxNs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

very convenient , on an estate. , very comfortable. Staff very friendly and very happy to make calls and check on reservations. breakfast great.. but dinner was ordinary. Would stay there for the grounds , the ambiance and the comfort... worth the money.. Not really for kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eshander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We got lost trying to find the hotel, but they sent someone to find us and then we followed them back. The view when you drive into the property takes your breathe away- lots of greenery, a very large lawn well manicured and a beautiful mansion in the distance. We were upgraded to a suite because of the confusion and it was beautiful. A living room and very large, well appointed bedroom.Breakfasts were included and very good, dinners were relaxing, with great service and very good food. The concierges were always attentive and helpful with our daily excursions. This truly was a wonderful find!!
PS The bagpiper played outside our window at 6pm every night!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pezMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, GA
Level Contributor
127 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2011

The reservations were made via email and Maria was a charmer about taking care of everything! She answered all my questions and when the dates changed, the hotel was extremely gracious about handling my error. The first night we stayed we had just arrived from the US before going on to our next stop. The hosts were so friendly to very weary travelers and made sure we were made as comfortable as possible. No problems at check-in - in fact we were up graded to a very nice suite. Dinner was wonderful in the restaurant - they were so nice about explaining every dish and recommending some special ones. We missed the breakfast the next day, but did have it when we went back a week later. It was wonderful! We also got to hear and see the bagpiper on the second visit. That was awesome!! The entire experience could not have been better! Thanks to a wonderful staff throughout the hotel - we especially enjoyed the gentleman who helped with the luggage. His sense of humor added a real spark to the stay!

Room Tip: Suite 22 was very nice! But all rooms are attractive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DartonProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

The room was comfortable, though the furnishings a little odd, or old-fashioned. Service was good, food was good. I can't give it a rave for some reason, but the place is lovely, and everyone tries hard to please. There's a bagpiper in the early evening playing outside, which is nice too.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gallip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katy, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

My sister and brother in law treated us to a night at Culloden House while my husband and I were in Scotland visiting family on our honeymoon. It is a beautiful place and the staff are absolutely delightful.... When we pulled up I was thinking it might be a bit stuffy for such an incredible hotel, but was so surprised - classy, yet totally laid back at the same time. Our room was lovely, as was the spectacular view.. and the bathroom was beautiful. Very memorable stay. Thank you.

Trish & Buddy Scherer

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishkaty_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Property: Culloden House
Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing