We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A dream come true!”
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A dream come true!”
Reviewed 20 June 2013

We found Culloden House Hotel on line and admit to booking it based largely on its proximity to the Culloden battlefields and all inclusiveness of the property. It may not be the closest hotel to town (Inverness) but, with breakfast included and an amazing fine dining dinner menu, there is no reason to leave once your outing for the day is complete. It's more rural surrounding guarantee piece and quiet and a good nights sleep. Our stay was everything we could have dreamed of, and more! from the cleanliness and historic surroundings to the friendliness of the staff and their amazing scotch selection, our stay there was simply marvellous! We arranged a car and driver, through them, to take us on a whiskey tour so we didn't have to worry about drinking and driving, and even that was flawless. And, you could get lost in the walled garden and still die happy!! I thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who enjoys history, historic buildings, and being spoiled rotten!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manorlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
We love spoiling people rotten! Its what we do best and I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much. Thank you for your kind comments on dinner, I will pass them onto Michael our Executive Chef, he has been with us for 28 years and won the Scottish Chef of the Year award for 2013! We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    90
    30
    15
    6
See reviews for
103
278
17
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We had our wedding reception at the hotel June 1st. The attention to detail was impeccable. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly Murray, Stephen, Maria and Kyle and chef Michael created an absolutely delicious feast for us. Nothing was too much trouble. We were treated like royalty. Cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jgbsoprano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Andrew & Julie,

Thank you for your kind comments, we loved the day as much as you both did and delighted that Culloden House delivered the perfect day for you.

Ill pass your kind comments onto all and remember wedding anniversaries at Culloden House are a perfect reminder of your perfect wedding day!

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

My family and I stayed 2 nights at this marvelous historical hotel. It is overflowing with charm, atmosphere, and history. The rooms where beautiful, large, and well appointed. The view even in a standard room was amazing. The walled garden is lovely and peaceful. The service was beyond belief. Stephen, the hotel manager, arranged a special surprise for my daughter's birthday, with the bag pipe player coming into the dining room and playing for my daughter several songs, including "Happy Birthday". Dessert plate also had "Happy Birthday" written in chocolate on it. The food was excellent for both breakfast and dinner. The staff was prompt, hard working, and very pleasant. We will have life time memories of staying at this marvelous hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank momof3kids20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
We were delighted to make your stay extra special and thank you for sharing your daughters special day with us! What better way to celebrate a birthday in Scotland than to have a Piper!

Culloden House is a very lucky property to have the team that it does with every team member fully focused on making guests stay memorable, we take delight in reading your kind comments and hope that you will return.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waller, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Our Historical Romance Novel themed UK Holiday included a drive by Culloden House. Being nurses from Texas and knowing the class of clientele the Culloden House sometimes caters to, we were a bit apprehensive to ask if we might have Tea and a look at Diana Gabaldon’s bench. With a tentative knock at the front door, we were cordially welcomed by friendly staff to enjoy tea and sandwiches in the parlor. After which, we were invited to walk the garden to find Gabaldon’s bench. We are so glad we stopped by. The building holds such historical significance to the area. Sitting in the Parlor, serving tea to my friend, I could just imagine myself as the heroine of a Romance Novel. What a wonderful ending to our Vacation. I want to send a big Texas thank you to Culloden House.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VeePresc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, 31 May 2013
Ladies, the pleasure was all ours! Delighted that you managed to find the spiritual home of the "Outlander" series and that we showed you both some Highland hospitality.

A fantastic photograph of Kyle our porter! Thank you for posting and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My nephew and his wife gave me a gift voucher for afternoon tea at Culloden House for my birthday last year.

I visited recently and enjoyed the most relaxing afternoon tea you could wish for. The surroundings were beautiful, the sandwiches, cakes etc were superb and all this made for a really enjoyable afternoon with a friend.

Would thoroughly recommend afternoon tea for a gift - birthday, wedding anniversary (particularly Ruby or Golden).

Thanks to the staff for their attention to detail and making this a very special birthday gift.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank christinemac73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Afternoon tea is a wonderful gift to get and proving so popular these days!

I am delighted you enjoyed the experience and hope to see you back again soon.

Kind regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

What a beautiful hotel with a great selection of room types. I had a room facing the fields in the back and every morning as i looked out the window the Highland cows were happily grazing. The staff is wonderful and Stephen, the Manager, can arrange any type of activity that you desire - whiskey tasting, cashmere shopping, touring Culloden Battlefield, etc. Excellent food and very special shortbread cookies are served with afternoon tea - ask the staff who has been the lucky recipient of this treat!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rena3361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
What a lovely review! Thank you!

The team and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our Highland cattle made your stay even more enjoyable!

We do try as much as possible to assist guests with sight seeing and visiting local attractions, including shopping!

Delighted that our shortbread hit the spot also, of course the most famous person to enjoy our shortbread was .............!! Well, people will just have to come and stay too find out that answer!

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2013

This place has a lot of history. Bonnie Prince Charlie stayed here before the Battle of Culloden. Today it wears that history well, with its fantastic, grand exterior, elegantly traditional rooms and romantic gardens. The first time I stayed I felt like a Princess as I was lucky enough to get a room with a four poster bed and a view over the huge entrance lawn and drive. This second time no four poster (best to ask if you want one) but still a very nice, large room with a view of some Highland cows in a field to the rear of the hotel! The food is a real highlight too - dinner was divine (particularly the beetroot risotto) and the main dining room was opulent and romantic (and quiet as some larger parties that were staying were dining in separate rooms). Breakfast was great too. The bar was very well stocked with whisky. It's also well placed, by car anyway, for visiting Inverness and the area - Culloden, Fort George, golfing at Castle Stuart etc. Highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this review, 29 April 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your return visit with us, I have to admit to being a fan of the Beetroot Risotto as well, unfortunately as we enter the Summer it is about to disappear from the menu as Chef makes a point of using seasonal produce.

The beauty of Culloden is the fact that we also ensure the peoples dining experience isnt over run by any large groups who are staying, we appreciate that you want to relax and enjoy your dinner and for that reason we ensure that any groups or larger parties are accommodated in one of our two private dining rooms.

Hope to welcome you back and let us know when your next coming and we will arrange a four poster for you.

Kind regards,

Stephen Davies, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#4 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,662 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
3.6 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Property: Culloden House
Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing