We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Oasis”
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Culloden House was located in a very picturesque environment. The service was exceptional and the staff very attentive. The rooms were large and comfortable. The comfort of the beds was just ok. Although there was no coffee or tea in the rooms, service to the rooms was provided at no charge. Breakfast was included in the daily rate and was enjoyable. Dinner was well presented though somewhat expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VGehrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear VGehrt,

I am happy to read that you found our small part of Scotland to be a lovely oasis, our latest edition, the Walled Garden, certainly aids that title and thank you for your kind comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Stephen Davies
General Mamager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (609)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

363 - 369 of 609 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this property for three nights. Our room was lovely on the second floor with views of the back lawn. Our bathroom was amazing. Looks like it was remodeled big jacuzzi tub and two sinks and completely tiled. The bed coverings are not as pictured on their website a little worn. The bed is kind of soft, and the rug need to be cleaned. The house rooms are very nice and kept up like a 18th century aristocrats home. They had a lovely supply of whiskey. The staff was very friendly and helpful with information etc. The grounds are beautiful, and the outside of the building truly breathtaking as well as the secret garden. Loved the bagpiper.
I guess I was somewhat disappointed in the food and the service. I admit I am a food snob, but I would rather have plain good food rather than food trying to be fancy and just doesn't quite get there. The food was trying to be different, maybe the descriptions of the dishes should be more specific like goat cheese cannelloni with beets I thought it was noodle cannelloni with beets in it but the cannelloni was the beets and inside it was the goat cheese. It seemed like the chef was trying too hard to make something unique and when you create meals the first consideration should be the flavor rather then how it appears on the plate.
The staff seemed to be running around a lot and we didn't seem to have a server just for us, as a consequence we poured our own wine and were constantly waiting for our dishes to be picked up.
Loved having a drink in the drawing room and then taken to the dining room when our dinner was ready.
They have a wonderful product here and it just needs to be tweaked to get it right.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank rbjmsol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear rbjmsol1,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and I am delighted that there were memorable experiences that made your stay with us a pleasant one.

I do apologies for the short coming in service, it is not the norm for us and I will ensure that we address that immediately. With regards to dinner I will talk with the Chef, our new Summer menus have been well received and do showcase the best of local produce but I do take on board your comments and will personally try these dishes.

All of our mattress's are from the Vi-Spring range, a very high quality mattress, they are medium tenure and some people can find them just a bit soft. We do have bed boards for those who prefer to have their mattress just that bit firmer.

Hopefully you will allow us the pleasure of looking after you in the future, it would be my pleasure to personally handle your reservation should you wish to return.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We had stayed here on a visit to Scotland in 2008 and looked forward to returning. We were not disappointed. The building is a beautiful Georgian mansion, the staff is helpful and friendly, and the rooms are spacious and comfortable. Our room had two full bathrooms and a real king sized bed (as opposed to two twins clamped together as at many other UK hotels). Breakfast is included and lavish. The decor is heavy on antiques and has not changed at all since our last visit six years ago. The grounds are beautiful and the large walled garden that was in progress six years ago is now fully established. A piper plays on the grounds every evening.

Although the interior could stand a refurbishment, this remains one of our favorite hotels anywhere.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear ScottM,

Has it bee six years since your last visit? How time flies, we were delighted that you chose to return and even more delighted that we are one of your favourite Scottish properties, we love welcoming back repeat guests as its just like welcoming family back home.

Each year the owners do reinvest back into the house, we have recently completed some bathrooms and work will continue in the off season.

Hopefully you will not leave it six years until your next stay and I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to show you what upgrades have been completed.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Culloden House is a beautiful historic manor house just minutes outside Inverness. We had lovely rooms and enjoyed the stunning walled gardens! Dinner and breakfast were served in their elegant dinning room. Our favorite part was ordering dinner over cocktails in the drawing room and then being seated when the first course was served.
We were also taught a great deal about Scotch. The well informed manager gave us a full history of the different regions of Scotland.
Like stepping back in time!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear DeanneH,

With Culloden House being so richly steeped in Scottish history it is always a delight to talk about.

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay, I enjoyed selecting a few different malts for you and your husband and hopefully you managed to find a new favourite Scotch!

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

My wife and I spent three nights here as part of a two week holiday. We'd booked here as a result of tripadvisor recommendations and were not disappointed. The room was on the second floor. Every single member of staff that we met went out of their way to ensure our stay was perfect. Just one word of warning: the dinner menu changes with the seasons so it's possible to run out of choices if you stay too long.

Room Tip: Room 8 has two bathrooms and is very large. It's on the second floor and there is no lift so don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear PeterH

Your review makes us all feel proud that we managed to make your stay so delightful.

Thank you for taking the time to post a review and hopefully we will have the pleasure of your company when you next visit the Highlands.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

By the time your stay is over at Culloden House, you feel like you are leaving friends. The staff is warm, friendly, accommodating, funny and easy going. Culloden is a grand old country home with florals, chintz and tartans. Rooms are furnished in antiques with large windows. The floors are a little uneven and everything isn't perfect but that is part of its charm as the staff is so quick to please and make your stay wonderful. The dining room is small and elegant and there is no dress code. The sitting areas and comfy bar add to the charm of the manor. Grounds are beautiful and there is a charming walled garden. I loved seeing the Highland cows outside the windows. My only reservation is that the bathrooms are old and dated and they need make-up mirrors. Because everything else exceeded our expectations, I am still rating them excellent.

Room Tip: The corner suite was very sunny. There are nice views in all directions of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SharonConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear Sharonconnecticut,

It was absolutely our pleasure, nothing makes our team happier than ensuring that your stay is first class and I am delighted that they managed to do so.

Each year our owners reinvest into the property and try to ensure that we stay on top of all areas, bathrooms are being addressed and I hope to welcome you back some day to show you all of our upgrades.

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have been making trips to Scotland since the early 1980s and now go at least twice a year, usually more. Very familiar with the hotels throughout the country. I first visited the hotel in 1983, but have had the pleasure over the last several years of staying there for at least three nights each January with a group of friends. It is lovely old country mansion with wonderful public rooms, comfortable suites, and a superb restaurant. It has a warm and friendly atmosphere. What absolutely sets this place apart is the service. The hotelier, Stephen, and his team are at the very top when it comes to taking care of their guests. It is a delight to spend time there and I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilliamB1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullodenmanager, General Manager at Culloden House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear William B,

We take great pride in welcoming guests back to the house, the fact that you have been returning for many years shows us that we must be doing something right!

Thank you for your kind words, I will share them with the team and I look forward to hopefully welcoming you back for many years to come!

Kindest regards,

Stephen Davies
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
668 reviews
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 36 in Inverness
1,824 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 36 in Inverness
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £122 - £307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing