We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2009

My husband and I have just returned from this hotel and have to say after reading the reviews were a bit disappointed in some aspects of our stay. First off was the room which was in the attic - we were told at the time of booking no suites were available but the number of stairs up wasnt great and the room considering the price was not fantastic (no tea/coffee facilites etc) If we had any walking problems at all we would not have been able to manage all the stairs. The meals at the hotel were excellent but a little lacking in atmosphere in the dining room with bright lighting and if there was background music you could not hear it. Staff were mostly friendly especially the Irish waiter who was extremely helpful and was the only person who thought to discuss with us the history of the hotel etc. On the second evening we retired to the bar for a drink as no seating was available in the lounge where we were subjected to a conversation between what I assume was the owner and another guest discussing golf and trips abroad. Never at any time were we asked if we were enjoying our stay or even a simple hello from the gentleman doing the talking loudly standing next to our table. My other bugbear was when we looked at the menu for the dinner and were then told we might have the "wrong" menu as we were on DBB The only difference we could see was a free glass of champagne and an extra £5.00 for the steak. It would really have made a difference to have been offered the glass of "champagne" since the cost of the two nights was far from cheap and we felt as if we were being treated as 2nd class guests The glasses were also then removed from the lounge and placed in the bar out of site. When leaving the hotel we were not asked whether we had enjoyed our stay and although my husband and I are usually very generous with tips when asked for a gratuity when paying I declined (we had however tipped where we felt service was good during out stay) Nice food and maybe if you get a room which is not in the attic you might enjoy but have certainly stayed in much better hotels for the money.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrissieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    86
    27
    15
    6
See reviews for
93
261
16
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2009

Culloden House is an incredibly beautiful hotel. Very traditional with helpful, local staff. We had a four poster room which was really spacious and romantic. The food was lovely and the stay was definitely an experience that will not be forgotten.

  • Liked — Traditional
  • Disliked — Price
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hector007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2008

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of December 2008 for a short break in the Highlands. It is very easy to find from Inverness Airport and well signposted.
Our stay was wonderful - the room was one of the best I have stayed in with a separate sitting room (with the fire lit when we arrived) a four poster bed and large well-equipped bathroom. The room had its own laptop with free internet access and a wonderfully comfortable bed. The service was excellent - we were one of only three couples staying in the hotel at the time which may have had something to do with it, but I get the impression that the service is always of an excellent standard. The staff seem genuinely proud to work there and love to make you feel welcome. They gave us maps, tourist attraction brochures and advice. I sometimes find that the service can be reserved or stuffy in expensive hotels, but here we just felt like we were visiting someone's home and it really mattered that we felt comfortable.
The food was delicious, the puddings were something special and breakfast is a feast!
All in all it was a very special stay in a beautiful hotel.

  • Liked — outstanding service
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ilovetotravelIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2008

This opulent, stately mansion was a pleasure to stay in. Approaching the mansion was exciting. The well groomed lawn and the presence of the house let us know this was the right choice of lodging. The staff were very accommodating, friendly and courteous. Our room was spacious , clean, and very inviting. The dining area was pleasant and the food was very tastey. Also, it is fun to meet other people and see where they have travelled. Everything was in bloom in June and it was the perfect month to visit Scotland.

  • Liked — Accommodating and clean and the historial part of it
  • Disliked — we had one little problem with the plumbing
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chambgang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2008

Amazing place. Staff are excellent and so welcoming. Accommodation is lovely and the house itself is simply beautiful.
You must stay here if you are in the area.

  • Liked — the staff are so friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — nothing negative at all
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dandylion77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2008

We stayed here for one night as a wedding anniversary celebration and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Great setting, lovely food and helpful staff. Expensive but worth it!

  • Liked — The bathroom
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tsebvickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2008

cannot fault this hotel at all

  • Liked — whole atmosphere
  • Disliked — showering could be iffy....aukward getting in and out of bath
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank george140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#6 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#7 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,606 reviews
3.6 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Property: Culloden House
Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing