We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we'd hoped for and more”
Review of Culloden House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Culloden House
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 December 2009

This beautiful hotel set in delightful grounds was exactly what we'd hoped it would be. From the moment we turned into the elegant driveway and set eyes on the romantic historical house we felt like we had entered another world. The staff were charming and courteous and readily available. They could not have been more helpful.
The food was wonderful, especially the home made biscuits. The whiskey selection superb! The decor of the hotel was timeless and romantic with beautiful open fires and relaxing armchairs to sink into. We have recommended this hotel to our friends and family and will definately be returning ourselves.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicksWifeWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (616)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

532 - 538 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2009

We spent a night here recently, and have mixed feelings. The house from the outside looks amazing, set amidst spacious grounds. However, we were disappointed that our room did not have the waw factor for the price we paid £160 for a room per night. The room was dated, with no charm or character, which we expected from this impressive historical house. However the staff were great, friendly and very attentive. If only the rooms were as impressive as the House we would have thought it an amazing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WalesBlodyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

This was the latest of several visits to Culloden House. On every occasion the hospitality has been second-to-none with a warm welcome and superb room each time.

Nothing is ever too much trouble for the staff and management who always project a sense of warmth and professionalism rarely seen these days. The restaurant has yet to provide me with anything other than a superb meal and fully deserves the numerous awards it has received.

If you are looking for a comfortable quiet retreat with elegant surroundings, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ddot01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

expensive, but worth it. attentive, friendly staff. wonderful, grand rooms in a house with history

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdhAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2009

My partner and I kicked off our week’s trip to the North of Scotland by spending two nights at Culloden House Hotel. We have stayed at several ‘high-end’ and expensive hotels in our time so we expected high quality service; we were not disappointed at all! Indeed, the ‘check in’ was the fastest we have ever experienced and virtually did not exist, since we were politely offered a short form (comprising little more than name/time of wake up call/newspaper choice) and asked to complete it at our leisure and return it to the front desk whenever convenient to us. Meanwhile, as we were escorted to our room, our car was valet parked for us.
Our suite (No 22) was beautiful and located at the front of the hotel on the ground floor overlooking the impressive front lawn, and we were delighted on arrival at the sight of the bottle of Pommery already chilling in the champagne bucket! Our suite had two large well proportioned rooms and came with two separate bathrooms, both of which had rain showers instead of the ubiquitous (but uniquely Scottish) electric powered shower.
Although we originally reserved our places for dinner on the first evening, in the event we had dinner both nights, since the menu was most impressive and the quality of the food was first class; this is how Scottish cuisine should be ( the steaks were particularly excellent and cooked to perfection)! The excellent wine list (which included our favourite Montrachet) offered a wide choice of well selected wines in half and whole bottles so it was easy to find something to accompany the varied menu.
Equally impressive is the bar at Culloden House – or at any rate the selection of whiskies, which is probably the largest we have seen in any bar.
At the heart of the hotel is its management and staff team, who are dedicated to making guests at ease without making any fuss; an exceptional team indeed!
An earlier review commented that the rooms had no tea/coffee facilities; hotels at this level serve tea and coffee in a silver service delivered by 24 hour room service, which was always delivered promptly (and probably took less time that I would take to make tea in the first place!) .
Our only complaint was that we could not stay any longer than our allotted two days, but without doubt we will ensure a longer stay next time we are in the Inverness area.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stuietoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2009

We chose this property having read numerous reviews mostly in guidebooks which indicated it was the best in the area, we were not disappointed.

We had travelled from Fort William after staying at the Inverlochy Castle, this property was every bit as good if not better on the service front, warm genuine people. Our rooms were well appointed, had views towards the rear fields looking onto sheep and cattle. Dinner was first class and quite Scottish in style yet beautifully presented.

Only criticism would be that the seating in the dining room isnt that comfortable

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank champagnesir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Looking over the more recent reviews, I have to say that I agree with most of them. The food is particularly good. The wine list is seriously overpriced; the wines themselves are excellent, but if you know what their retail price is, it tends to take the edge off your thirst!
The hotel has some free facilities that (I think) are not shown on their website: they will lend you a TomTom SatNav; there is a PC/printer for guest use, or you can hook your laptop into their Bluetooth system; there is a sauna; tennis; croquet.
One quirky thing they do is that every evening a piper plays outside, at the front door. If it rains, he still plays there, and gets wet.
The rooms are very comfortable, but as it is a real country house they are not all identical. If you don't want to climb lots of stairs, you should ask for the larger rooms. There is no air-conditioning, of course, (you would only use it on one day in 700), but the rooms are provided with an electric fan. There is also an ironing board and an extra electric heater. Coffee/tea facilities are not provided in the bedrooms.
The furniture is a mix of high quality reproduction and the real thing. The decor is of genuine private country house, not the garish mix of colors and patterns that some hotels love.
They seem to run with a pretty small staff: the bar is not permanently manned, and sometimes there is no-one at reception. However, it's usually not a problem to find a member of staff, and anything you ask for is immediately provided.
Their customers include Prince Charles and Tony Blair (is that a suitable detail to include in a review?).

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sp33dbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
3.6 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
6.2 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 36 in Inverness
680 reviews
5.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,844 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.6 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 36 in Inverness
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Culloden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Culloden House

Address: Culloden, Inverness IV2 7BZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#7 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#9 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £120 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Culloden House 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conde Nast Gold list property, Georgian Country House which boasts first class service in the Capitol of the Scottish Highlands. Award winning cuisine, magnificent walled garden and gracious rooms await you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Culloden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Culloden House Hotel Inverness
Culloden Hotel Inverness
Culloden House Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing