We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Excellent Hotel””

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Excellent Hotel””
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Great location, traditional old house style hotel with plenty of atmosphere, good family welcome and staff could not be more helpful, nothing too much bother. The receptionist gave us plenty of guidance on local attractions and helpful travel tips.
We stayed in the new garden annexe in the McBean Suite from 26th June 2012 for three nights.
The room was spotlessly clean and overlooked the beautiful gardens. The ensuite facilities were first class.
We were part of a party of seven, the other five being our friends from England and they too were most impressed with the standard of this hotel.
We dined in the hotel conservatory where the staff were very attentive. We all enjoyed the meals which were very well presented and the extensive menu catered for all tastes with different specials each night.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Inverness area.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VALERIE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Dear Valerie, thank you very much for your kind review. i am delighted that you all enjoyed your stay with us and your meals. we enjoyed having you and look forward to seeing you again. kind regards Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    137
    27
    3
    5
See reviews for
83
230
23
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel from 21st-23rd June in The Duncan Suite. We were delighted with our room, which was spotlessly clean, our comfortable bed and delicious breakfasts and evening meals. The staff were very polite and helpful too. We would definitely stay here again.
Margaret

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2012
Dear Margaret, Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and would love to have you back. We do our very best and the staff work very hard so it is nice to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay and the food and welcome. Kind regards Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

very impressed - stayed for two separate nights - first night arrived after a drive from Edinburgh about 7.30pm just in time to see the england euro game - needed to eat - they said we could watch it in the meeting room and they would send in the waiter with a menu - quickly got changed told them we were ready they directed us to room - waiter arrived we ordered food was excellent as was service - they couldn't do enough for us - room was great very clean - everything you would need - breakfast very good selection - everyone at the hotel were very friendly and helpful - we returned one day later - and we received the same service - food wonderful and the beds were very comfortable - cannot rate it highly enough - if we ever come this way again wouldn't hesitate to book this hotel

Room Tip: all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
Dear Julia, Thank you so much for your kind review. I am delighted that my son who is our Manager and the Staff looked after you so well. I am also glad that you enjoyed our Food and your whole 2 day stay. We try our very best to look after our guests and it is nice when they appreciate that. We do hope you will return. Kind regards Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

The room size and bathroom seemed like the sort of place you might get when staying in any best western in the states, which is not a bad thing. Check-in between hotels didn't work out, but they stowed our luggage and even took it to our room before we came back later to collect it and check it which was very much appreciated. We were bumped up to a better room, however this was not in the main older hotel but the other close area. I don't know if it was actually any better than the room we had booked or not, however we did have a nice little patio area with chairs that was very nice out back. The room was large and clean, as was the bathroom. The problem with this place is that it is kind of in the middle of nowhere, which sucks because we didn't have a car at that point and had to take a cab back downtown and such. They say you can walk to downtown Inverness from the hotel in five to ten minutes, but it's really more like 20-25 minutes walking for two fit people in their early 20's, mind, and since the weather was cold and rainy we only walked down once and took a cab the other times. The food was overpriced and our cab driver told us that everyone he drove from there said the food was not very good, so I would recommend eating somewhere in town.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jellie26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. I can assure you that you were given a complimentary upgrade to a much larger room in our Garden wing. The rooms in the main Hotel whilst very nice are not as large as the new rooms due to the rooms in the original building being reduced in size as all have en-suite bathrooms which were not part of the original construction of Lochardil which was built in 1876. The new rooms were purpose built by us a few years ago and designed to give as much room as possible for guests. It appears you were perhaps unhappy that we upgraded you- sorry.
Our location is not in the City centre which is clearly stated in all our information. We most certainly do not suggest that you can walk into town in five or ten minutes, I do not know who told you that. We are 2 miles from City Centre ,it takes about 30 minutes to walk and that is what we make clear to all. Perhaps your booking agent told you 5 /10 minutes again sorry but we do not say that . You say our food is overpriced again sorry but I do not think so and I am pleased to say that most of our guests would not agree with your cab driver.
You will recollect that you arrived to check in late morning - our check in is guaranteed at 2pm as check out is by 11am and we do need time to service our rooms hence you having to leave your luggage until you came back later in the day. We do try our very best to look after our guests but cannot control weather and we are situated where we say we are. Many people appreciate the quiet area we are in as they do not get traffic noise etc but of course others prefer to stay nearer the centre or indeed in the centre especially if they have no car but the choice is theirs to make

Regards
Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Just back from a 2 night stay with friends. Friendly staff and the meal on Saturday night was excellent.

Would not want to stay in the centre of Inverness so this hotel is highly recommended if you want a quiet and comfortable stay.

Gordon Cunningham

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank GORDYBOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2012
Dear Mr Cunningham, Thank you very much for your kind words. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again. Regards Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

first class accomodation and food in a central location but quiet, secluded surroundings.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much your opinion is very kind indeed. We do try our very best and are fortunate to have excellent staff. It is not possible to please everyone so your comments are much appreciated and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Regards Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
highlands
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Husband and I stayed here week-ending 2/3 June. We had a small double, but it was really good. We paid £75 per night, including breakfast, and we were informed when we booked that it was a really small double. The room was spotless, comfy bed, everything we needed in the room,great en-suite.It suited us fine, as to be honest, we only slept in the room. No view, but we did not worry about that! The staff even provided a bar snack for my daughter and her husband at 10pm as they had been held up due to an accident on the way from Glasgow.
Lovely breakfast with a great view over the garden. Looking forward to our next stay. Thank you to all at Lochardil.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank comfortlovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind review - we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say we make clear to those who book with us direct and indeed on the website the rooms in the Main Building do vary in size and we have a few 'small doubles' which reflects on the cost. I am pleased that you felt well looked after. Regards Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,703 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
554 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing