We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ten out of ten !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We were booked into a "small double room " but when we arrived we had been upgraded to a large room in the new annex so we were very happy with that ! The breakfast was a hot buffet as well as the usual cereals, fruit and croissants and was very nice. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goody2shoesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thanks for your very nice review. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments.
Regards
Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2012

Family holiday, arrived late but not too late for dessert and coffee. The best shower in the UK or Europe! Friendly staff, wholesome tasty food and a comfortable bed. Off the main drag so no traffic noise, would definitely recommend if you have your own car.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IloveParis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review. i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and thanks for the compliments on our super staff etc. Your 'Shower' accolade is so kind.
Regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Often you book a hotel on personal recommendation, sometimes you know where you want to stay, and simply flick through a brochure, either online, in printed form, or both.

So we wanted to make Inverness a touring centre, as, previously we had had a great stay at the BW Keavil House in Dunfermline, but this is just a little too far south to be able to cover the Highlands without journeys of almost 300 miles or so, daily.

There are BW hotels right in Inverness, and those like the Lochardil which is some couple of miles out of town. This is made abundantly clear on the literature - it's NOT within walking distance of the town, and certainly doesn't pretend it is. It has more than adequate parking, and the bus stop to town is literally right outside the doors, both ways. My Garmin Sat Nav found it everytime with no trouble - yes, it would be a tad difficult to remember, but once you've driven in and out a couple of times, you get the feel. My only concern was that my Garmin always told me the hotel was 'on the right' when clearly it was on the left - and there's a decent-sized sign to confirm.

We arrived on a Saturday and, as inevitably happens, found a wedding-party in full swing, but even then there was more than ample parking space, and the owner was especially kind to me by saying I could use one of his designated spaces - us BMW drivers tend to stick together! In effect, though, while this mean that we parked virtually outside our room, there was never a problem in parking, at whatever hour we returned.

This is a Best Western Hotel, but because the owner and son, are such a big part of everyday running, we felt like part of the family almost from the minute we checked in, until we sadly had to go.

Nowhere is perfect, of course, and we did have one complaint. Inverness is such a long way from us in Devon! If we could bring it much closer, I expect we'd stay there at least once a month!

But, move it out of Scotland and its surroundings, and it wouldn't be quite the same experience.

I'm a pretty fussy person - I've probably got a mile-long file at BMW UK, Marks & Spencer, Optical Express, Santander, NatWest - to name but a few. But I'm also first in the queue to praise where praise is deserved, and for my 92-years-yound Dad and me, this hotel, staff and setting are second to none.

Thank you for making our recent trip such a wholly memorable experience!

We would like to commend Graeme, the owner, his son Richard, Szilvia and Kirsty in the restaurant, June in reception - in fact every one we had the pleasure to meet during our stay.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was ideal for Dad. He walks well, but didn't have stairs to climb...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolksby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind review which is greatly appreciated. My son Robert and I along with all the staff were delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoyed having you here.
It is very kind of you to say that we are the Best Best Western you have stayed at, thank you.
We along with our very loyal staff do our best to look after our guests and it is great when they appreciate that. We do hope that you will be back to stay again and send our best wishes to you and your 'young' dad.
Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here two nights in August. It was a nice hotel. Definitely not your typical Best Western, which we usually try to avoid. We were put in the new annex, which was fine. My only real gripe is that they don't have air conditioning, so we opened the windows and the door to the small patio. And even though there aren't a huge amount of insects, some do come in. Not a major hassle, but still it would be nice to have some screens in the small windows. Food was OK - the usual Scottish breakfast. The dinner was just OK. Nothing to get excited about. We had a car so we could get downtown easy enough. If you don't have a car, be prepared to pay a good bit for cab rides. The hotel is a mile or two outside of town. It is not within walking distance to downtown. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigMonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the complments. No we do not have Air Con as is the case with most scottish Hotels as our weather normally makes it not necessary !. Our location is indeed a distance from the centre which we make very clear in our literature, website etc. However some booking Agents do seem not to point this out which we cannot control. The plus point to where we are is that you do not get traffic or other noise and it is relaxing and peaceful but yes without a car you need to take a cab or local bus from nearby unless you are keen to walk to centre this takes about 30 minutes. Regards Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

A bit hard to fine and a bit out of town but a lovely hotel. Lovely gardens and rooms in the modern section where we stayed and very nice staff. Lovely eating area in the sun room, but the food wasnt that great especially considering the setting. Was really disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frogmelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2012

Dear Guest, thank you for your review and i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. i see that you were disappointed in our food. We provide good scottish meals , do not try to be 'too fancy' and of course tastes vary. Thankfully most of our guests do eat and are happy. Regards Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We got married at Lochardil Hotel last weekend, and I cannot recommend the hotel and its staff highly enough. We live in London, and Robert, and June and the rest of the team were simply fab in helping us prepare for the big day, being completely fantastic on the day, and the day after when they just were brilliant. All of my guests commented on how friendly, professional and lovely the staff were, and quite honestly made our wedding even more special that it was already. The rooms are large, clean and well equipped (we were in the garden suites), breakfast was superb and the setting is very peaceful with large mature gardens. Truly magnificent, thanks so much June, Robert and team. We will be back!!! Kelly and Peter Massie

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool, I just can't remove this from my review!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fudley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2012

Dear Kelly and Peter, Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your Wedding and stay with us. It was a pleasure to have you all here and we send our very best wishes, Kind Regards Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Stayed here for one night recently , our room was in the garden wing , lovely spacious clean room , with everything you require including free Internet .

Breakfast in the morning was very nice and staff very friendly and unobtrusive .

Location is lovely and peaceful , lovely gardens to sit in if the sun shines , car parking places plentiful .

A lovely. Hotel that I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to friends and family .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolpuirog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind regards Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 35 in Inverness
1,759 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
598 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 35 in Inverness
643 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £97 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing