We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I had cause to spend a couple of nights at this hotel recently and found the experience very enjoyable. Whilst I was there I spent a lot of time working in the room making use of the wifi. The staff were very helpfully and the hotel is a pleasant 20 minute walk into a beautiful city, or a 20 minute drive to loch ness. The scenery is beautiful and the breakfast plentiful. The only negative would be the price which I found 10-15 pound over the going rate.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank AnotherGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2012

Just returned from a 2 day stay at the above establishment. Situated in the outskirts of Inverness it is based on a country house built about the 1780's but with a modern update and a small annex which was our location ( Room 22 if you want ours) Every facility was supplied Great size TV Bed comfortable. Fridge in room. Tea making etc. clean towels both days. Excellent shower. Patio doors to a small secluded area, overlooking extensive gardens. The annes was exactly 104 steps from the main building which was the location for meals. You will see an earlier comment by someone complaining about the walk!!!! No further comment. Meals held in conservatory area attached to the main building. Exccellent menu catering for all tastes and reasonably priced. Lounge and other area available well furnished. All staff were exceedingly nice. Papers available for room delivery. Being in the "later stages of life" my wife and I have stayed in several Best Western Hotels and we would rank this top of the list. If you knew " her indoors" that really is praise. The stay could not be faulted. While a car is handy, bus service is at the door.

Room Tip: Go for room 22,23,24
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ernest B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind revie. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. We try our best but as perhaps you have noticed it is not always easy to please everyone ! However reviews such as yours cheer us up. Thank you

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Lochardil for two nights on business in September. Our junior suite room in the garden wing was faultless, the food was five star quality, in peaceful surroundings, and perfect hot buffet breakfast - please tell us how do you make those scrambled eggs - superb! Graeme and his team were exemplary in their service, and we cannot wait to return again. Keep up the good work, and thanks from Neil & Mandy Brayton.

Room Tip: Garden wing junior suite - superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear Neil and Mandy, Thank you so much for your very kind words. we greatly appreciate and are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here. We do our best - and it is great when this is appreciated. The secret on the Scrambled eggs is my cooking skill !! Only joking I would not get any compliments ! Our chefs make them using fresh eggs and by adding cream etc but they have a 'secret' way of making them smooth and tasty !. I will get them to show you on your next visit .Kind regards Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We were booked into a "small double room " but when we arrived we had been upgraded to a large room in the new annex so we were very happy with that ! The breakfast was a hot buffet as well as the usual cereals, fruit and croissants and was very nice. All the staff were friendly and helpful and we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goody2shoesScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thanks for your very nice review. we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind comments.
Regards
Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Family holiday, arrived late but not too late for dessert and coffee. The best shower in the UK or Europe! Friendly staff, wholesome tasty food and a comfortable bed. Off the main drag so no traffic noise, would definitely recommend if you have your own car.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IloveParis_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review. i am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here and thanks for the compliments on our super staff etc. Your 'Shower' accolade is so kind.
Regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Often you book a hotel on personal recommendation, sometimes you know where you want to stay, and simply flick through a brochure, either online, in printed form, or both.

So we wanted to make Inverness a touring centre, as, previously we had had a great stay at the BW Keavil House in Dunfermline, but this is just a little too far south to be able to cover the Highlands without journeys of almost 300 miles or so, daily.

There are BW hotels right in Inverness, and those like the Lochardil which is some couple of miles out of town. This is made abundantly clear on the literature - it's NOT within walking distance of the town, and certainly doesn't pretend it is. It has more than adequate parking, and the bus stop to town is literally right outside the doors, both ways. My Garmin Sat Nav found it everytime with no trouble - yes, it would be a tad difficult to remember, but once you've driven in and out a couple of times, you get the feel. My only concern was that my Garmin always told me the hotel was 'on the right' when clearly it was on the left - and there's a decent-sized sign to confirm.

We arrived on a Saturday and, as inevitably happens, found a wedding-party in full swing, but even then there was more than ample parking space, and the owner was especially kind to me by saying I could use one of his designated spaces - us BMW drivers tend to stick together! In effect, though, while this mean that we parked virtually outside our room, there was never a problem in parking, at whatever hour we returned.

This is a Best Western Hotel, but because the owner and son, are such a big part of everyday running, we felt like part of the family almost from the minute we checked in, until we sadly had to go.

Nowhere is perfect, of course, and we did have one complaint. Inverness is such a long way from us in Devon! If we could bring it much closer, I expect we'd stay there at least once a month!

But, move it out of Scotland and its surroundings, and it wouldn't be quite the same experience.

I'm a pretty fussy person - I've probably got a mile-long file at BMW UK, Marks & Spencer, Optical Express, Santander, NatWest - to name but a few. But I'm also first in the queue to praise where praise is deserved, and for my 92-years-yound Dad and me, this hotel, staff and setting are second to none.

Thank you for making our recent trip such a wholly memorable experience!

We would like to commend Graeme, the owner, his son Richard, Szilvia and Kirsty in the restaurant, June in reception - in fact every one we had the pleasure to meet during our stay.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was ideal for Dad. He walks well, but didn't have stairs to climb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wolksby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your very kind review which is greatly appreciated. My son Robert and I along with all the staff were delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us and we enjoyed having you here.
It is very kind of you to say that we are the Best Best Western you have stayed at, thank you.
We along with our very loyal staff do our best to look after our guests and it is great when they appreciate that. We do hope that you will be back to stay again and send our best wishes to you and your 'young' dad.
Kind regards

Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We stayed here two nights in August. It was a nice hotel. Definitely not your typical Best Western, which we usually try to avoid. We were put in the new annex, which was fine. My only real gripe is that they don't have air conditioning, so we opened the windows and the door to the small patio. And even though there aren't a huge amount of insects, some do come in. Not a major hassle, but still it would be nice to have some screens in the small windows. Food was OK - the usual Scottish breakfast. The dinner was just OK. Nothing to get excited about. We had a car so we could get downtown easy enough. If you don't have a car, be prepared to pay a good bit for cab rides. The hotel is a mile or two outside of town. It is not within walking distance to downtown. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigMonTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2012

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the complments. No we do not have Air Con as is the case with most scottish Hotels as our weather normally makes it not necessary !. Our location is indeed a distance from the centre which we make very clear in our literature, website etc. However some booking Agents do seem not to point this out which we cannot control. The plus point to where we are is that you do not get traffic or other noise and it is relaxing and peaceful but yes without a car you need to take a cab or local bus from nearby unless you are keen to walk to centre this takes about 30 minutes. Regards Graeme

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
617 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.5 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £71 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing