We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

A little apprehensive on going here for a birthday dinner after several negative comments about the food from friends, however I do not know what they were talking about. As said, we only ate here and did not stay in the hotel, but the food was lovely and the menu offered a wide variety of dishes. All the food was fresh, service good and staff friendly. Good portion sizes too and all well cooked. I also thought it was good value - I cannot remember the exact figure, but they offer a deal for 2 or 3 dishes. We all took all three dishes, and for what is was we all agreed the value was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much , we appreciate your kind words and are glad that you enjoyed the occasion.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    129
    27
    2
    5
See reviews for
81
222
22
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay. The room we had in the newer wing was immaculately presented, well lit, roomy and cosy. Breakfast was excellent and we decided to have dinner in the conservatory on both nights. Graeme and his staff were very friendly and attentive to our needs. Lovely location not far from the centre of the city and a great base to explore Inverness and its surrounds.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whiteley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here for work during the recent storms. Arrived around 0100 and the staff had layer soup and bread on for us. They were very pleased we were there and we even managed yo grab a beer before turning in for the night.

The room was just what I needed all the essentials and an amazingly comfy bed.

Breakfast in the morning was great. The full fry up help yourself buffet was very good. For me it's the sausages that make the breakfast and they had both beef and pork. So for me, amazing.

Would I return for pleasure. With out a doubt.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Alex

Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We were aware that you all would have had a long hard day helping others so tried our best to ensure you were fed and watered and looked after.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This is a brilliant hotel. The staff were excellent and made us feel very welcome. This was an overnight stay with family. Everyone had a great time.
Both rooms were very clean and comfortable.
This hotel is definitely our first choice for staying in the Inverness area.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabctn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you back.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

This is a first rate place to stay in Inverness, Scotland. Very clean. Perfectly maintained. Modern accommodations. Breakfast was exceptional. Excellent bar and VERY FRIENDLY STAFF AND OWNERS. How friendly? Short story to illustrate -- we typed the hotel address into Google Maps as we arrived on the edge of Inverness. Much to our surprise, Google's directions took us to a neighborhood to a destination that turned out to be THE HOME OF THE HOTEL OWNER's DAUGHTER! Weird. What's up with that Google? Well, as we sat there in her driveway trying to figure out the error, she drove up. We asked for directions to the hotel and with a puzzled look she explained that the hotel was owned by her father. What a coincidence ... hey Google! Here is the best part ... rather than just give us directions and be done with us, she drove her car to lead us to the hotel ... about three miles away. What a wonderful, charming lady. We met the owner's son at check-in and received what could only be described as exceptionally friendly service ... great guy. We had met Graeme - the owner - by phone when we made our reservations in July but sadly, we could not meet him in person as he was out of town. On our next visit we must meet him in person. Summary: The people who own this hotel run it as if it was their own home and you are their most important guest. They have a very caring style. The hotel definitely exceeded our expectations and the service was absolutely exceptional. We will stay here again!

Room Tip: No noisy streets, every room should be quiet. Make time for breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for this lovely review. I am delighted that my daughter was so helpful and my son who is our Manager. I am sorry that we did not meet. The problem with google was in fact highlighted by you and I was told back then. It then happened again and I have since sorted with them . I hope ! Very strange and a coincidence that they directed you to my daughter's house of all places.

Your comments regarding your welcome and your stay are much appreciated,

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We booked this hotel for an over night stay for 19 people to celebrate our wedding. The rooms in the new part were excellent, clean tidy roomy and well furnished. We all decided at short notice to have lunch before the wedding, not a problem for the hotel and their excellent staff. On return from the registrars we had drinks then speeches followed by what can only be described as a delicious meal, with very attentive but discrete staff. Everything was well planned, nothing was a problem. Breakfast was first class, fresh, varied, well presented and plentiful. A very enjoyable experience which helped make our day so special.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Rose and Ian

Thank you very much for your very kind review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your time with us to celebrate your wedding. It was a great pleasure to have you all with us.

With very best wishes for your future.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopewell Junction, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We stayed 2 nights in the BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel. It's an old mansion converted into a hotel. The staff is great. It's not far from the main part of town and is a short cab ride away. The front desk can call you a cab - they are very nice. We would not have stayed longer. The beds are not very comfortable (hard and old) and there isn't anything to do in the hotel - they do have bar, but it wasn't ever crowded.

It wasn't very expensive and you get a clean place to stay (again I wouldnt stay longer than a couple nights).

Room Tip: Stay in the old mansion! Those rooms are bigger and nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurenCos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you found our beds 'hard' they are certainly not old.

Actually the rooms in the Garden Wing are in fact larger than the ones in the main hotel not the other way round.

We do not suggest that there 'is anything to do in the Hotel' other than have a peaceful relaxing stay. If someone is looking for 'activities' then we are not where to stay.

Regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,653 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.5 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing