We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lochardil House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
East Yorkshire UK
2 reviews
“Lochardil House Hotel”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

A gem of a hotel. Pleasant staff and a lovely suite. Beautifully quiet so was able to get a good night sleep. The room was nicely decorated and large. Service was excellent. The breakfasts were good. We eat in the restaurant on both evenings and the food was again very good. Would stay here again. .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank minimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your kind review which is much appreciated , we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    132
    27
    2
    5
See reviews for
82
225
23
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

hello,i stayed in your hotel 20th and 21st august 2014 and would like to thank you for a wonderful stay.the meals i had whether it was dinner or breakfast were lovely ,the staff were excellent could not do enough for you and room 26 was out of this world,ihave stayed in many hotels round the world but yours was so peaceful,no traffic noise nobody running up and down stairs in fact i would say you have a perfect location thanks again for a wonderful stay donald macdonald.i shall contact you soon with regard to booking a room later this year.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donald m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Donald

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and look forward to you returning.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We found the hotel peaceful and comfortable. The staff were helpful and the service was excellent. The hotel was spotless and charming. Having your own small outside terrace was a real plus. We loved it

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,082 reviews
417 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Not only they were honest and returned them, they kindly sent them to my home. Thanks!

In upscale residential area away from down town.
Reception- Friendly
Breakfast –Extra
Room-It was not in the main house. I don’t know if that was good or bad. Rooms are nice and clean and of a good size.
Good size room. Clean
Light for reading –Good
Bed –Pillows are very uncomfortable
Air Conditioning- did not need, I am not sure there is one
Wi-Fi-Good
TV-Good modern
Refrigerator-Yes
Room for bags-Good size room
Tea Kettle or coffee maker- Yes
Bathroom-Clean
Shower pressure-Good
Cloths line-No
Safety bar in bathroom-Yes
Towels-Good clean
Amenities-Basic
Hair dryer-Yes. Not great quality
Makeup mirror- No
Iron and ironing board-Yes
Complimentary bottle water-Yes
Plugs-Good next to bed

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starviagera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your very kind review. I am glad to hear that your ear-rings arrived back safely.

It was a pleasure having you with us.
Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

I have stayed at this hotel several times before, all on business in Inverness. I was lucky to be up graded this time to a room in the Garden block - the rooms here are much larger than the ones in the main house with nice views across the gardens and out to the hills beyond. All the rooms I have had have been clean and comfortable with good bathrooms.
The hotel is in a quiet location but is thirty minutes walk to the city centre by the river.
Food is "home cooking style" with classics such as "pie of the day" and good value. Breakfast is mainly buffet style with some items cooked to order.
At this time of the year all Inverness hotels are expensive and busy - better rates are available out of season
It's my first choice now for Inverness.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Philip

Thank you so much for your kind words. we do our very best to ensure our guests enjoy their time here and it is great to hear from you.


Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Good quality hotel with polite staff. A bit far from downtown but there is a pleasant walk along the lake . The restaurant is of good quality the rooms were clean. Come with a light bag because climbing the stairs with a heavy suitcase might be too arduous for some.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We do not have a lift but there is no problem in assistance with luggage and I hope you used that service.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A hotel in large grounds a couple of miles from the city centre. Our deluxe room was very large, comfortable and well equipped with 2 chairs and a settee. Huge bathroom with bath and separate shower - the best on our road trip by far. We were slightly disappointed that the room was in a separate, modern annexe rather than the main building. We had good dinners & breakfasts but the allowance for dinner on DBB terms was poor - just £20, when the evening table d'hote menu was £29.

This part of Scotland has a lot to offer and we enjoyed our time in and around Inverness but if we come again I would probably stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stanleeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCGM-Inverness, Owner at Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review and for your kind words regarding the room and your breakfast and dinners.

I note that you were 'disappointed' that the room was not in the main building but the room type you booked through the website is clearly described as in the Garden Wing and that room type is not available in the main hotel .

Regarding the Dinner Allowance we do give £20 per person having 'added' less than that amount to our B&B rates and we do in fact operate 2 different table d'hote menus every day one for £28 and the other for £20 which enables anyone on DBB to eat from this menu a 3 course meal at no additional cost. Some do choose to either select from the £28 menu or to eat from both as in each case whilst the 3 Course price is 'fixed' you can also eat a la carte as dishes are priced individually.

Kind regards

Graeme
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
545 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#5 of 34 in Inverness
611 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing