We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home is often promised yet seldom delivered - Lochardil Hotel Delivers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #2 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
scotland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Home from home is often promised yet seldom delivered - Lochardil Hotel Delivers”
Reviewed 7 June 2009

Stayed in this hotel for one night on business, Location is superb, Food is very tasty and staff very friendly.
The hotel also provides free internet access to all guests.
I will now be staying here when on business in Inverness in future,
Breakfast is great, i compare this hotel to a hotel i stayed at in Orkney called the Merkister Hotel - same type of family run hotel which takes its customers comfort and satisfaction seriously.
Long may the Lochardil continue to provide top class service

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    132
    27
    2
    5
See reviews for
82
225
23
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
1 review
Reviewed 2 April 2009

I regularly stay here on business and am always upgraded to the garden wing. You couldnt ask for nicer rooms and it is a welcome treat to stay here when away from home so often with work. The rooms are very spacious and plush and very comfortable and like going from home to home. They are immaculately clean and I never have any concerns over staying in the Lochardil rooms.

The restaurant is lovely and the food has definately got better over the past 6 months with the regular menu along with a different specials choice every night. Eating in the conservatory restaurant looking over the gardens definately provides a relaxing end to a hard days work, especially when you can enjoy the summer nights having a drink in the grounds. If i am there by myself, I have no issues about eating alone in the dining room as it is such a welcoming environment.

Many a nights have been spent sitting up late in the bar area with colleagues and no matter what member of staff is on, they make us feel so welcome and treat us like regulars and always have time to chat.

This is a lovely family run hotel, and instantly as soon as you arrive you receive such a warm welcome that makes you feel at home.

You dont realise how good this hotel is until you have stayed somewhere else!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2009

Fantastic staff - some of the nicest I have ever encountered. Lovely room in a cosy hotel. The food was nice - though there could have been a bigger veggie selection at breakfast - but otherwise no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreelBoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
216 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2008

We had a difficult time finding Lochardil House with our directions and found ourselves driving through some modern neighborhoods which didn't match our image of an old manor house setting. We found it, though, and its garden setting was very welcome. Our room was in a modern addition and was large, clean, and had all expected amenities. The staff was helpful and friendly. There were no sites of interest to us within walking distance, but Inverness was a short, direct drive away. We ate only one meal at the hotel-- a very good breakfast. Many high-quality restaurants are less than ten minutes away by car. As we found, reservations at those restaraunts are a must. We stayed here for a couple of days while exploring points north and Loch Ness. Access to those areas was easy from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Overlooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2008

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We attended for a wedding and the facilities are fantastic. We stayed in the garden wing which is new and wonderfully spacious with the best shower I have been in. The staff at this hotel are the best I have come across and did nothing but ensure a fantastic time was had by the bride and groom and their guests.

  • Liked — Staff and friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon24England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2008

in inverness on business for two weeks,first week room small but quite nice ,second week in a very nice room much larger and with pleasant views over gardens.dining is in a large conservatory accessed thru a comfortable lounge and bar the area you are met by staff to be seated is rather untidy not in keeping with the rest of the hotel.food is the only draw back with this hotel,breakfast is of the buffet variety with the cooked items kept warm in metal dishes over hot water,it all tastes as though it was prepared the night before.Dinner is slightly better but not much.all in all a nice hotel with pleasant helpful staff especially the hungarian waitresses and barman,shame about the food.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank wallacemanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island, SC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2008

We really liked this hotel. We stayed for three nights while touring the area around Inverness. We arrived later than we expected and were tired and a little crabby. The manager was very accommodating, took us up to our room, gave us information on the restaurant and then was tending bar when we wandered down in need of a relaxing drink before dinner. He was easy to talk to and had a lot of information on the local sights.

The Lochardil is not in Inverness, but on the outskirts. It's very easy to get to the areas around Loch Ness, but we also went to Culloden and Nairn. It's not far from the River Ness, so we also took some nice walks. Our room was very pretty, with a nice view from the window.

Our room included breakfast, which was fine. The restaurant is in a sunny solarium attached to the hotel and we also ate dinner there during our stay. My husband highly recommends the "Chocolate Plate" for dessert.

Everyone on the staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLM822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
542 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
611 reviews
1.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#2 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing