We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

We stayed 3 nights here and loved it. Though we were initially unhappy about not having rooms in the main 'castle' building (they dont have family rooms there) the rooms we got in the Garden Wing were excellent as well - very big, comfortable, and being on the ground floor we had french windows out onto a patio with a table and chairs. The rooms also have free wireless internet access - so that great and there is plenty of parking as well. The hotel is a bit away from the city centre, which we preferred, so it was nice and peaceful. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssmmiittaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    317
    125
    26
    2
    5
See reviews for
79
217
22
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

I stayed here with my wife and 8 week old son on the 21st of July 2009. I had booked this hotel based on the reviews I had read on this website, which I swear by when travelling anywhere new.

The Hotel itself is a very impressive building and we were immediatly sure we had made the right choice by booking in here.

However, we were dissapointed at check in with the service from the gentleman at the desk (not the owner). The couple prioir to us were offered help with their baggage etc to their rooms. We arrived with our 8 week old son, and once check in was complete we were advised our room (room number 3) was at the top of the stairs. We enquired whether there was a lift but the check in asst said no and left me to struggle up the stairs with a pram and baggage, meantime, he was sat behind the check in desk. He does not give off a good vibe when you first arrive, and does the hotel no favours at all.

When we got to our room, we were astonished at how small it was. There was only enough space for one bedside cabinet as the room was not wide enough to accomodate the double bed and two cabinets. We really struggled to find enough space to park the pram as our son was sleeping in the pram overnight. This room is tiny and should not be sold as a double room, but as a single.
My wife and I could not manouvre around the room without bumping into each other.

We had specifically stated on our online booking form that we were coming with a young child and had requested a room with enough space for a pram, and ground floor if possible. This was obviously not taken into account when the booking was made.

We met the owners downstairs who are lovely, and looked embarrassed when they realised what room we had. They made sure our first drink with our meal was on the house, which was a nice gesture, but did not make up for the price we paid (just short of £150 once food was purchased), when we could have booked up in a travelodge for half the price, and had double the space in our room.

The food (dinner and breakfast )was excellent, and the atmosphere is truly outstanding in the bar / restaurant. We were truly happy when we were downstairs in the evening. The tiny room however spoiled everything.

If you plan to book up here....make sure you are not allocated room 3...it is not a double room and would be a reasonably small single room.

I do not like to complain when reviewing, but hopefully the hotel owners will read this review and will not advertise this room as a double in the future.

Their gentleman behind the check in desk could also do with monitoring.

Otherwise, this is a truly outstanding hotel, and I am sure that all other rooms are fine....I think we just got unlucky.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geeja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2009

My biggest complaint about this hotel is we couldn't find it. Maybe the Scottish sign system (or lack thereof) is more responsible for this but we followed our Google map, GPS AND the directions provided by the hotel and it took us an extra 2 hours to locate this hotel. We called & gave them our exact location and it was still difficult to find.

That being said, this hotel is nice. And the staff was nice enough to upgrade our room to a suite over in the Garden Wing. It was exceptionally clean & roomy -- very large, probably the largest room of our trip. But not very charming or quaint. This didnt bother me but just want to point this out for those who are seeking charming rooms.

The breakfast was terrible -- the worst of our trip. Very runny eggs & flavorless food. That was my only complaint. Other than that, its a good price for a generic chain hotel room located about 20 mins. from downtown Inverness.

No major complaints about this hotel but if I had to do it all over again, I'd select a more charming hotel, closer to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stabone130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reading
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

This was a good hotel for a couple nights stay. It felt like a personal service where the staff cared that you had a comfortable stay. When we arrived for breakfast rather late, they cooked up a fresh breakfast.

the room was good being in the newly opened garden wing with a view over the nice gardens, and had its own bar and restaurant.

The only gripe (which is not really their fault), is this it is in a residental area so you are stuck with driving into town of you want to go out for the evening.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

We had a superb room in the Garden Wing. Very big, very comfortable, and being on the ground floor we had french windows out onto a patio with a table and chairs. The weather was wonderful, so we appreciated this.
The service was very good; friend;y and attentive. We eat in only one night, and that was a bar meal. This was good; simple and reasonably priced, exactly what we wanted.
The location was good. Far enough out from the centre for it to have space and greenery, but within reasonable walking distance (just!) for a night out.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
172 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

Stayed in this hotel for one night on business, Location is superb, Food is very tasty and staff very friendly.
The hotel also provides free internet access to all guests.
I will now be staying here when on business in Inverness in future,
Breakfast is great, i compare this hotel to a hotel i stayed at in Orkney called the Merkister Hotel - same type of family run hotel which takes its customers comfort and satisfaction seriously.
Long may the Lochardil continue to provide top class service

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

I regularly stay here on business and am always upgraded to the garden wing. You couldnt ask for nicer rooms and it is a welcome treat to stay here when away from home so often with work. The rooms are very spacious and plush and very comfortable and like going from home to home. They are immaculately clean and I never have any concerns over staying in the Lochardil rooms.

The restaurant is lovely and the food has definately got better over the past 6 months with the regular menu along with a different specials choice every night. Eating in the conservatory restaurant looking over the gardens definately provides a relaxing end to a hard days work, especially when you can enjoy the summer nights having a drink in the grounds. If i am there by myself, I have no issues about eating alone in the dining room as it is such a welcoming environment.

Many a nights have been spent sitting up late in the bar area with colleagues and no matter what member of staff is on, they make us feel so welcome and treat us like regulars and always have time to chat.

This is a lovely family run hotel, and instantly as soon as you arrive you receive such a warm welcome that makes you feel at home.

You dont realise how good this hotel is until you have stayed somewhere else!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,637 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
1.5 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing