We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant hotel in quiet surroundings” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Baden, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“pleasant hotel in quiet surroundings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2010

lochardil house looks like a former stately home, with a conservatory facing a terraced garden full of rhododendron. it is situated in a quiet residential zone in inverness, south of the city centry (about a 20-minute walk). the staff are very friendly and competent. the public areas look quite elegant, the restaurant in the conservatory (which also serves as breakfast room) offers good food and a nice view of the garden. the rooms are clean and functional, but there is no lift. parking is no problem, as there is large car park on the grounds.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atticus47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    125
    26
    2
    5
See reviews for
78
216
22
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2010

I always stay here when in Inverness, each time it feels like coming home. The staff are efficient and friendly and helpful, the rooms are really comfortable, and the bathrooms are just wonderful! I always find the food very nice: the breakfast is excellent and the dinner menu varied and appetising, in pleasant surroundings and with excellent service.
As a single traveller, I find the rooms fine but it is true that some in the main hotel are small. If you are travelling as a family or with a lot of stuff you should specifically ask for a garden annexe room or a larger room just in case you are disappointed by getting a small one.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scotvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2010

Unfortunately for us, we only had 1 night here. On arrival we were upgraded to a suite in the garden extension. It was a lovely surprise & the room was absolutely beautiful. We had dinner in the lounge bar as the conservatory was too cold. Couldn't fault the food - I had chicken stuffed with haggis (Who's your supplier - best haggis ever!!) & my husband had steak which he said was cooked to perfection. Breakfast next day was freshly cooked & offered a good selection. We were given a tour of the hotel later in morning as we were considering it as a venue for our niece's wedding and were shown 1 of the rooms in the original building which was lovely too - more traditional. Thanks to all staff for making our stay so nice & relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matelg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2009

I have always had the highest standard of attention and help from all levels of staff - from Managers to the cleaners with regard to anything I have asked for, The staff are extremely attentive, efficient and friendly, and they always remember my requests from the time before. Lovely atmosphere and hotel has own dining room and bar. Feels perfectly OK for a single traveller to be there - very well treated. They assist with any queries - nothing is too much trouble. I am made very welcome and made to feel very much part of the family.

Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Jaquie2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larbert, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

Having stayed at this hotel on several occasions, I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. As soon as you arrive, you are met with friendly and efficient reception staff and this friendliness and feeling of being welcome is felt throughout the hotel. The rooms are extremely comfortable, immaculately kept with tea, coffee and water provided. The bathrooms are exceptionally clean and modern. The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet area of Inverness, however, the town centre with all the tourist attractions and amenities is a short taxi ride away. I plan to stay at The Lochardle on my next visit to Inverness and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cammie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

I have never left a review for a hotel before but as we had such a brilliant time here I felt I wanted to share how good this place was with others. We went to the Lochardil House Hotel to attend our friends wedding. It was a fantastic weekend. The hotel was clean, tidy and very well run. Our room (in the garden wing) was really big, clean and tidy. The bathroom was huge with a shower for 2 and having our own wee patio added a lovely touch. The staff were all really lovely, attentive and helpful. The food was brilliant. You would expect when a hotel is serving about 60 people at once that it would be a little cooler than usual but this wasn't the case. Huge servings of really good quality, piping hot food. The breakfast was lovely too although the conservatory was a little hot in the morning sun. Perhaps the one or two drinks the night before had made us feel a bit warmer than normal though! If you are thinking of booking this hotel, don't hesistate just do it. You wil have a great time.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
caithness
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Booked a 3 night stay at the Lochardil House. It was easy to find, sat nav direct to door. On check in, we were allocated room 3. We were disappointed to find that this room is very small. It had a double bed, but that was about it. Luckily we were travelling with other family & swapped room 3 for room 5 which was a lot bigger. The hotel, whilst situated in a quiet resedential area, is quite a walk from the town centre. A car would be best for exploring the rest of the town. We dined in the hotel only once. Once was enough. The steaks we ordered sounded good on the menu, but were poor quality. Disappointing. The basic bar meals may be fine such as fish & chips etc, but we wouldn't eat here again if we do return. There are many better restaurants in the town. On that note however, the cooked breakfast (the usual self sevice type), was good enough. The rooms were clean with the usual services - tea & coffee, iron & ironing board. Old type TV's with limited channels (no large flat screens), but free Wi-Fi which was handy. Good large bath with shower.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank don1903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
4.4 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
1.5 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
Address: Stratherrick Road, Inverness IV2 4LF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Inverness
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#3 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel is set in it’s own spectacular gardens in a peaceful area of the City.The main hotel has 12 luxury bedrooms and the adjacent Garden Wing which opened in early 2006 has 16 deluxe bedrooms all furnished and equiped to the highest standard.Personally supervised by the owners Eileen and Graeme since 1985 Lochardil provides comfort and quality to its guests, good scottish food where they can relax and enjoy the facilities . Free extensive onsite parking with free wireless internet throughout the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lochardil Hotel
Best Western Inverness
Inverness Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Inverness Lochardil House Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing