We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thistle do nicely” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jurys Inn Inverness

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Jurys Inn Inverness
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Thistle do nicely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked in for three nights to attend a wedding which was being held in the hotel. The young man in reception was knowledgeable and efficient and soon had us shown up to a beautifully appointed bedroom on the first floor. The room was immaculate and had top quality toiletries and hospitality tray. Room Service was available 24/7 and the food was without exception excellent value for money, and breakfast catered for every taste. The Wedding itself was flawless and the food delicious and beautifully presented. The Hotel on the outside looks a bit like a concrete block so when you enter, it is a very pleasant surprise to see how beautiful it is inside. There is also a gym, swimming pool and hairdresser/beauty parlour. Though the Hairdresser was unavailable when we were there. Also a good car park and a bus stop directly into the centre which is five minutes away We will definitely stay there in future as we have visited Inverness on several occasions and always chosen a more central Hotel. From now on we will stay at the Thistle Hotel

Room Tip: there are no views as such, so any room would suffice as all floors are serviced by lifts and the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elaine l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Jurys Inn Inverness, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear elaine l,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your visit to the Thistle Inverness when you stayed for a wedding recently. I was delighted to hear that you found your room immaculate and that the wedding was flawless with delicious food. I have passed on your kind words to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future. Kind regards - Dorothy Maclean and Team Thistle Inverness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    337
    266
    110
    60
See reviews for
182
381
54
270
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great care and attention to detail in providing everything that was needed. Nothing was too much trouble from the decoration and facilities in the wedding venue to the ironing of my sons shirts!! Yes the road is a little noisy, location meant a walk/regular bus ride into town and the rooms were a little warm----- but these relatively minor issues didnt stop us from enjoying our stay. Great to have a pool to cool off in and the sauna and steam room were an added bonus. Breakfast was plentiful and fine, we had a good dinner and the wedding breakfast was really good and served pleasantly and efficiently. The room was also clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twoshadesofgrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Jurys Inn Inverness, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear twoshadesofgrey
Thank you for your review on your recent stay and event you attended here at the Thistle Hotel Inverness. I was delighted to hear your kind comments with regards to the teams attention to detail and that you enjoyed the wedding meal and breakfast the following day.
I also know the member of the team that helped with the ironing of your sons shirts so will be passing on your comments to her!
We look foward to seeing you again in the not too distant future.
Kind regards Dorothy MacLean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

Good rates and very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and good service. Prices at the bar rather high, and the hotel is next to the A9, rather than in the city centre. But good facilities and service which include meeting rooms and a pool.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Jurys Inn Inverness, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear Mary C
Thank you for your recent review on the Thistle Inverness. I was delighted to hear that you found the team very friendly and helpful and that the room price was good value for money.
We hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards - Dorothy and Team at Thistle Inverness
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I couldn't get my usual hotel in Inverses and tried this as it was near the A9. I had seen the hotel before and it looked old so I didn't bother, however I was pleasantly surprised. Yes the hotel is tired in places and shows its age but the staff were very friendly and patient. The room was large and their was little road noise despite its location. The location is not great for sightseeing but fine for business travel.

The bed was huge and the room had modern furnishings. Internet was free and quite fast.

I had a meal in the bar and both the presentation and taste were excellent for UK hotel/bar food.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teemoretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Jurys Inn Inverness, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Dear teemoretraveler
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you found the bed to be huge and that the room had modern furnishings and took advantage of our fast free internet. The kitchen team were also very pleased to read your kind comments with regards to the food.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Thistle Inverness when you next visit the city.
Kind regards, Dorothy MacLean - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

Good for tour groups as not far from main road and city centre. Rooms had space to unpack and on site swimming pool and jacuzzi were good. We had dinner included in our rate but it was quite disappointing at times - obviously out a bottle / Brake Brothers. Steered clear of meat and stuck with fish - meat looked a little tired.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Jurys Inn Inverness, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear SQScotland
Thank you for your recent review following your stay here at the Thistle Inverness. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed our location, rooms and leisure facilities. I have passed your food comments onto our head chef and can assure you that we choose only the best ingredients, according to the season and we like to buy British and wherever possible from local suppliers we know and trust.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again should you be in the Inverness area.
Kind regards - Dorothy MacLean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I stayed here for 1 night. My room was on the 3rd floor. There was some noise from the nearby main road but it didn't stop me from sleeping. The hotel is a bit tired and in need of a make over. The room was ok size wise and is close to the main A9 which is fine for a stop over but useless if you want to enjoy Inverness's pubs and restaurants.
Staff were friendly and the breakfast was good if a little disorganised.
Personally I wouldn't stay here if I had an alternative in the town centre and anyone visiting Inverness as a tourist won't see anything of Inverness unless you take a taxi into town.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flight1792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Jurys Inn Inverness, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear flight1792
Thank you for your review on your recent stay here in Inverness. It was good to hear your positive comments with regards to the team. As you correctly pointed out we are located close to the A9 which means that we are a perfect base for journeys both north and south. We are just outside the city centre however there is a regular bus service (5 minute journey) near the front door or a 15 minute walk into the centre.
Many thanks - Dorothy Maclean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Muharraq, Bahrain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

stayed at the thistle hotel whilst in inverness and its a 3 minute drive into town centre or a straight line 15 min walk, hotel has nice leisure facilities and a nice bar, ample car parking for over 150 cars. 15 mins from the airport and handy for the golf or the football. room was an upgraded suite with separate livingroom and décor was nice. bar service and check in service were great and a bottle of vino was 15 pounds.

well worth the money and the food was lovely

Room Tip: book early and ask for a room facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorothy_Maclean, General Manager at Jurys Inn Inverness, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear daniel m
Thank you for taking the time to post a review after your visit to the Thistle Inverness Hotel. I was thrilled to hear that you found the food to be good value for money, leisure club nice and the service at the bar and reception was great. I have passed on your kind comments to the team and we look forward to seeing you again soon on your next visit north.
Kind regards - Dorothy MacLean, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.0 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#19 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,715 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.8 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,609 reviews
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jurys Inn Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Inverness

Property: Jurys Inn Inverness
Address: Millburn Road, Inverness IV2 3TR, Scotland (Formerly The Inverness Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Having recently undergone a multi-million pound refurbishment, Jurys Inn Inverness boasts 118 newly designed bedrooms furnished with large soft DREAM bed by Jurys Inn, work desk, free BT Wi-Fi internet access, en-suite bathrooms with complimentary toiletries, and flat screen TV with Freeview. Situated just outside the city centre on Millburn Road, 2.2 miles from Inverness railway station, our hotel in Inverness is perfectly placed for visiting the 'Capital of the Highlands'. A stone's throw away from the impressive scenery of the Beauly Firth, Jurys Inn Inverness also offers easy drives to famous Scottish landscapes and Lochs, from the Cairngorms National Park to the mythical Loch Ness. Inverness city centre is a thriving hub of Scottish culture and heritage, whether exploring the Inverness Museum & Gallery or taking in some culture at the Eden Court Theatre, Jurys Inn Inverness is ideally located. The city is also home to a range of fantastic restaurants and bars, some of which have picturesque views of the River Ness. Jurys Inn Inverness offers the Dornoch Bar for those wishing to relax with a beverage or light meal after a long day of city exploring, or business. Our Cromarty Restaurant provides a friendly atmosphere for our guests to enjoy a delicious meal surrounded by contemporary décor. 24 hour room service is also available. The hotel is home to Juvenate Health and Leisure Centre, with indoor heated pool and fully-equipped gym, and also has 4 flexible meeting rooms on site accommodating up to 250 delegates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Hotelopia, HotelsClick, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Jurys Inn Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Inverness Hotel Inverness
Inverness Thistle Hotel
Jurys Inn Inverness Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing