We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable hotel, reasonable price”
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel, reasonable price”
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Good hotel, but let down by a few small things. Front desk service excellent, bar service could be better. Rooms a good size, but a little worn. Our ground floor room had nice views of the garden and a table outside. Not a great nights sleep though - lots of noise from the room above, confirmed by other guests in other GF rooms too. Fire alarm set off after midnight, involving a cold trip to the car park in a dressing gown but no apology or even token gestures from staff the next day - I expected better. Cost of wi-fi internet connection is absolutely extortionate. This should be free as it is in many other hotels.

Room Tip: Get a room on the top floor to avoid noise above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harveyofclapham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the recent review.

I was delighted to hear that the front desk delivered an excellent job by you however I was disappointed to read that our bar team could have done better. I will personally ensure this is shared with the bar management and further training rolled out. The garden rooms referred to have been re-freshed over the winter months.

I also take on board your comments regarding the fire evacuation during the night and communication could have been improved. The night team were spending considerable time with the fire officer to try and identify the cause of the alarm, which took longer than planned, however was absolutly essiential. The lack of communication to our guests has already been addressed with our night team on this particular incident and should not re-occur again.

Kind Regards


Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    819
    540
    203
    57
    37
See reviews for
347
717
54
243
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

8 of us stayed at the Kingsclub recently as part of a golf weekend at Castle Stuart which hosts the forthcoming Scottish Open. I have stayed at the Kingmills on several occassions but had not tried the Kingsclub. On previous golf trips we have stayed in a variety of hotels both in the UK and abroad and having organised the trip and knowing how fussy a few of the guests were I was hoping for good things. I was certainly not dissapointed, nor were my guests. We were well looked after from the moment we arrived until we left and this included transport to and from the golf club, excellent service, good food and a feeling that nothing was a bother. The Kingsclub punches way above its weight and quite simply is the perfect base for a Highland trip whether golfing or visiting the area on business or leisure, you will not find any better. I would also recommend trying the food as we did on the Friday evening in the Conservatory then walking dinner off with a short walk in to Inverness City centre. We are already planning on visiting again on our next golf trip and I have no hesitation in recommending Craig and his friendly attentive staff as well as the very impressive accommodation and surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank poorshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest feedback. I was delighted to hear you and your fellow golfers had a fantastic stay. It is the prefect location for golfing at Inverness, Castle Stuart, Nairn and Dornoch.

I was delighted the other aspects of the hotel were also "first class"

Look forward to welcoming you and your fellow golfers back in the future.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Two night stay in the new wing, very comfortable rooms with golf course views. decent buffet breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. Hotel is a ten minute walk to town centre. Not the cheapest hotel but certainly worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crossman51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Guest,

I am delighted that the found the hotel very comfortable , friendly and the quality high. The assocaites we have working for us here at Kingsmills are very good and do take personal ownership when it comes to deliving guest expectations.

Hope to welcome you back in the future.

Many Thanks

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2011

We stayed at the Kingsmills as part of my Mothers birthday celebrations, the staff were fantastic from the moment we arrived, to the impromptu rendition of Happy birthday in the lounge towards the end of a most enjoyable family dinner. My wife and I stayed in the Kings Club rooms and the children in the main hotel, whilst the Club rooms are very modern and new with lovely views the main hotel rooms still compare very favourable with them in terms of space, comfort and overall in room facilities. Don't miss breakfast cant believe how fresh everything tasted. We will be back

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ITC57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, we always appreciate feedback. I was delighted that you found the hotel to be "wonderful" and the associates delivered first class service to you. The breakfasts feedback is also great, the quality and presentation are very enjoyable. The perfect place to spend a Birthday and recieve some well deserved relaxation and pampering.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The experience was good again and I would recommend the food. This dinner was excellent even though the junior team of waiters were on duty.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myopinion70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review. I am delighted to read you had another great experience at the hotel. I notice from your comments that you found our food service team to be young, however did a good job. We do have a mixed team in levels of age and experience, that night in particular we must have had all of our "young" faces on duty.

Lookforward to welcoming you back again. Thank you for your loyal business, once again.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraserburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This was our second stay at this hotel. Staff,service and customer care are excellent. The bedrooms are spacious and tastefully appointed.Food was very good.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granderbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for guest feedback, much appreciated.

I appreciate your loyal business, and glad to see once again we have delivered for you great service, customer care and food and beverage. I also delighted that you enjoyed the comfort of our great bedrooms.

Look forward to welcoming you back, once again.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lass from Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2011

Stayed@Kingsmill twice for a conference.
- ok location but not in city centre
- get the 3 course set menu for £20, don't waste money in the main more expensive restaurant! I was charged £4.00 for an orange&sparkling water!! And £15 for raw oysters that came back cooked!

- rooms are clean, very spacious and beds are very comfy
- spa is small but ok. Not too crowded. Towels provided.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DentalPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest feedback.

I am glad you found our beds very comfortable and you enjoy the great breakfasts. I am sorry your oysters were not cooked to your liking. The hotel does offer two restaurants as you say; the Conservatory a la carte restaurant and the Inglis fixed price table d'hote restaurant. The fix price menu is £17.50 for two courses and £22.00 for three. The fixed price menu has four starters, four main courses and four desserts, the menu changes every Friday. The a la carte has a larger selction and does offer specials local suppliers are able to bring us products that are special and incredibly fresh. (for example landed from the sea that morning, in the Coast Coast and on you plate by the evening)

I would like you to try our restaurants again. There is a huge amount of skill and passion that does go in to our dishes.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
2.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing