We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another great relaxing visit”
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on 14th October for 2 nights as a family of three.

Met by usual efficient and friendly reception. Check-in was quick and allocated a really nice family room on ground floor of main building.

Ate in hotel on 2nd night of stay and food was delicious with excellent waiter/table service.

We regularly visit this hotel in spring and autumn and remain impressed with hotel, staff, facilities, service and location.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Cammie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,


We always appreciate feedback so that you for your review.

I am delighted you enjoyed another great stay at Kingsmills and also enjoyed a delicious dinner with excellent service.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,896)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,198 - 1,204 of 1,896 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Came here today with my five year old. Had a lovely time in the swimming pool followed by a delicious lunch. Couldn't fault it. Service was tip top and merlot to die for. The best thing about swimming in the Kingsmills is definitely the changing facilities. Great showers, shampoo, conditioner, decent hair dryers.

Stayed: October 2013
Thank amccinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very positive review regarding Sunday lunch. I am surprised we do not get more postings / reviews on Sunday lunch as it is fanfastic value for money and great quality and choice and the swim lunch option is just perfect for families.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I booked my visit to this hotel based on great Trip Advisor recommendations. Why did we have so utterly a different experience at this hotel than so many others? Their “service promise” is “Exceeding expectations with honourable passion.” That was not what we found at all. Nothing there was more than adequate. This would have been an even less favorable review had the pleasant manager not adjusted our room rate to compensate for a problem – lift broken. It took two calls to reach the front desk – no answer - before asking for the manager and having her call back. Staff was nice but that's where the happiness wanes. This is a priced medium-high hotel with lower quality services. We did not use the Spa at all.

Upon arrival, after bringing our bags across the parking lot to the front desk, we were told our rooms were in another building over the spa. We went across the way with our bags and found nobody there but one of the cleaning staff in the lobby/breakfast room area. When the desk help came out, we we were given rooms on the third floor and an apology that the lift was broken. Lads came and carted our bags up but we would have been happy not to have to wait. The hallway floor (at 4:00 PM) was littered with dirty room service trays beside several doors. Up and down the stairs - if we had been our mothers, we could not have stayed there. AND there was a booking issue – I had been told that we could book bed, breakfast and dinner for an additional 25 GBP over the B&B rate. For that we would get 30 GBP of goods for the price of 25 GBP. I was told (for certain) we could use it towards drinks in the bar or whatever if we chose not to dine there. Upon arrival I was told that was not the case and it could be applied to food only – not even beverages with meal – so we canceled that option. Not good value at all unless you eat like a linebacker.
Environmentally friendly lights in hall do not go on until motion sensor finds you. Great idea but you have to walk into a windowless pitch black corridor and it takes more than a reasonable amount of time for the lights to go on. One could break one’s neck on the food trays.
We had booked the more expensive cocoon rooms. Don’t bother! The rooms on the Spa side are an homage to the 1970s in decor. Very clean but no charm whatsoever and right on the main road so traffic noise was an issue. Beds/bedding were good though.
Dinner in the restaurant - they could not seat us until 7 PM when we asked for 6:30. We (4 of us) stayed in full sight of the nearly empty restaurant (two or three tables occupied) and had a glass of seriously overpriced for what it was wine (four glasses 50 GBP! That’s $20 a glass) until 7 - and sat with maybe three other tables occupied. Server was very nice. Food was good but again somewhat expensive for what it was. We liked the piano music.
Breakfast. Adequate but just barely so. Porridge was more like watery gruel. We sat in the tacky 1970’s environs and listened to the girl at the front desk coughing ten yards away. And without exaggeration, the coffee they served was undrinkable swill.
Lastly, I have a real problem with hotels that gouge people for Wi-Fi. Manager comped ours as part of the rate adjustment for the broken lift (thank you) but still, the ONLY place in a Scotland week to charge for it at all, much less a lot for it (and two people couldn’t be online at once in a room) – and we stayed in some very nice places.
Save your money and stay somewhere else! Actually, one could pass on Inverness altogether unless there's a specific reason to be there.

Room Tip: Ask not to have a room overlooking the main road, prefer not to stay in the Spa building and do not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan10536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay, this is never our intention and something that we work very hard to prevent. We have had a problem with our lift that was not antisipated however that repairs has been attended to and will be resolved by the end of this week. I apologise it was not available during your stay however I was glad to read that our porters were on hand to move your luggage in and out.

I also apologise for the confusion with the dinner supplement. We have been offering this for a number of years and usually is very successful. The current price is £25 per person and that does allow you £30 of allowance, in food, to dine in the a la carte restaurant, the inglis table d' hote restaurant, lounge bar or room service. This is normally a very popular choice offering good value for money.

We do have various options of wine by the glass, there are 5 different white wines, 5 different red wines and 1 rose available. As per the table menus, they are available in three different sizes which is 125ml, 175ml and the large at 250 ml (which is actually a third of a bottle) Prices start at £3.25 and vary depending on the size of the glass and the wine sellected. I am assuming from the prices you have quoted that you have ordered large glasses of chabils or similar, which is a third of a bottle of a real quality white wine.

I was sorry to read you did not like the decore, the decore is acually just three years old. This is personal taste. I have also not had any other negative comments on the coffee offering, however I will investigate further.

The hotel does offer free wifi in the public lounges and there is a chargable service within the rooms.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I have been going to the Kingsmills hotel with my family for a few years now - and it keeps getting better! The staff are fantastic and could not be any more helpful, the rooms are immaculate (the beds are big and extremely comfortable!) and the food is delicious. The hotel has a lovely lounge area and is very relaxing. I have been to various hotels all over Scotland and this is without doubt my favourite. I especially recommend the New Year package, it is a great few days and the best way to celebrate the New Year! I look forward to my next visits to Kingsmills!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachyyyx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review and title of the review, very fitting, Best Hotel in Scotland". I am delighted you are very happy with the hotel and appreciate the improvements and investment we continue to make.

I agree with you of course, especially regarding the Hogmanay packages we offer. We put our heart and soul in to these 2 night, 3 night or 4 night stays and recieve lots of very positive feedback from.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Kingsmills.

Kind Regards
Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We recently spent two nights here to celebrate our anniversary. Our reason for booking this particular hotel was the reviews and we do like to make use of spa facilities when we go away.
Found the hotel easy to locate right next to Inverness golf club. No parking problems..another bonus in a city hotel. Friendly welcome at reception. We stayed in a classic king room and although spacious the furniture/decor was a bit tired and dated. Our room overlooked garden area but unfortunately also building of extension directly opposite! The lift was also out of service because of renovation, but as we were only on the first floor this was not much of a hardship. I had mentioned on booking it was our anniversary and it was a nice touch to have a plate with cakes and happy anniversary written in chocolate on it. Swimming pool & steam room/jacuzzis were fine and we made use of them both days. Had meal in bar,had to go to bar to request order as waiting staff seemed to concentrate more on the restaurant & conservatory customers. Piano player later on although felt a little sorry for him as nobody seemed to be listening. Now to breakfast..quality was good but on both mornings did not have full range of product on offer. Both mornings there was no bread for toast..had to request it,first morning no orange juice & hash browns, second morning no hash browns or fried eggs. In other hotels we have stayed in there is a chef who is stationed at buffet to ensure nothing runs out so frequently. That said we enjoyed our stay and would return but we have stayed at 5 star Scotsman in Edinburgh for less. Understand the cocoon rooms in the annexe are really nice but would be reluctant to pay almost £200 to stay in one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniem15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and also glad to see that our team picked up it was a special occasion for you and personalised the stay.

The comments on the breakfast restocking are inconsitant and I have already discussed this with our food and beverage team to rectify.

Thank you again and I hope to see you back at Kingsmills.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

we booked this as a last minute get away for a weekend, on arrival we were met by very nice and helpfull reception staff, our room was very spacious and the bed was massive,
we did to go to the lesiure facilites and use the pitch and putt and the swimming pool,
we booked a meal in the main resturant but were limited to the times available for some reason not explained to us,
good points-- the staff were really polite and helpfull, location was good, and the food was good (when we eventually got it see below) few bad points -- there was a used bar of soap in the shower from previous ocupant, every floor board in the part of the hotel we were staying in must have squeaked, the bed was very soft and did nothing for my back,the re was a mix up with our food the waitress delivered it to the table next to us, they got our food and started to eat it before the waitress noticed she had delivered it to the wrong table, so we had to wait w hile to get another steak, by this time the fries and onion rings we had ordered were now cold,

overall this was a very good hotel and will defo stay there again when back in inverness.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and had a positive experience.

I apologise for the delay with the service error at dinner. I would love to welcome you back to Kingsmills in the future.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stayed last week, while playing golf in the area, there were 12 of us. All of us were very impressed with the hotel, great rooms, excellent lesiure facilities ( which we used every day ), plenty parking and excellent breakfast. But the best thing about this hotel was the staff, everyone we met was excellent , nothing a problem and you were always greated with a genuine smile.
This will definately be my hotel of choice on future visits to Inverness.

Thanks to everyone who mwde our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aitch50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Guest,

I am delighted to read that you and your other eleven guests enjoyed their recent stay at Kingsmills and the great service we offer.

The team do work very hard and do try to speak to every guest and deliver the best service they can.

Haste ye back!

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 36 in Inverness
628 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bunchrew House Hotel
Bunchrew House Hotel
#2 of 36 in Inverness
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 36 in Inverness
814 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Inverness
#4 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £65 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing