We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely away break”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Thurso, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A lovely away break”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here on 27th December. We were given a complimentary upgrade to the kings club annexe which was excellent and very comfortable. Large, clean room with good facilities and a lovely breakfast served by friendly staff.
We ate in the main hotel and the meal was very good value. Better still, having an after dinner coffee in the homely and well appointed lounge whilst listening to the hotel pianist was a fine end to our evening.

Room Tip: Using the hotel's own booking site will get you extra benefits that are worth having
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Kingsclub on 27th December. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your break away and found your bedroom large, clean and comfortable and our lounge homely whilst listening to our resident pianist.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    532
    199
    57
    35
See reviews for
342
707
53
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We went for dinner to this hotel on Christmas Eve with friends. This is a four star hotel so we expected things to be really lovely. Unfortuntely they were not. We were shown quickly to our table and were given the menus and than had to wait for at least fifteen minutes before anyone came to take our order having omitted to take any drinks order which we had to ask for. The restaurant was not busy and there seemed to be enough staff but they were rather ineffcient There was another long wait for the staff to take our food order. The food when it eventually arrived was mediocre to say the least. I would have expected far better qualify of food from a hotel of this calibre. During the meal my husband realised that the air conditioning unit under which he was sitting was dripping water on him! When we told the staff they moved the table out of the way of the unit but made no apologies, did not offer him any napkin to dry his jacket or even a complimentary coffee. In all we were very disapointed with what we were hoping would be a special meal out.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jintyjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your Christmas Eve dinner, we appreciate all reviews. Firstly I am sorry to hear your recent experience did not meet our usual high standards and you were very disappointed with your special meal out. I would like to discuss this further with you, off line. Due to the rules of this social media forum I can not supply you my direct contact details however if you would be good enough to contact our main hotel number and ask for myself I will endeavour to speak with you as soon as possible.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westhill, Aberdeen
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Stayed at the Kings Club part of the hotel from 24th December until Boxing Day. The rooms were excellent with huge beds and very spacious accommodation.
We had breakfast in the Kings Club and dined in the main part of the hotel (which included our Christmas Lunch) . The meals were excellent and the staff were first class. I was with a family party of nine and we all thought the hotel was great. I would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: The Kings Club rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review. We are delighted to read that you had a first class christmas break at the Kingsmills and thoroughly enjoyed your christmas day meal with all the family. We hope you will be able to return at some point in 2014.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Our experience was brief and not what we expected. The spa facilities were fully booked for two days and as there is extensive construction works at the side of the hotel the reversing and noise of vehicles kept us awake form 07.00hrs. My family went to breakfast at 9.00hrs and there was a workman holing up the food queue whilst he fixed a light and they had run out of plates and some of the hot food - sausages and bacon. We were offered 10% discount for our troubles. Frankly I would not stay there again if they offered a 50% discount. DO GO THERE DURING THE CONSTRUCTION WORKS. LOOK FOR ALL THE WHITE VANS IN THE CAR PARK

Room Tip: Rooms by the golf course end are the noisy one, as there is construction works there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review, I apologise sincerely that your your expectations were not met. This is very unusual. Our Spa facilities do get very busy and we do recommend booking in advance of your stay to avoid any disappointment. The hotel has recently been extended and the construction works have now finished. The development has been discrete and segregated from the main hotel, I am sorry once again this caused your family some disruption. I would like to encourage you to return to the hotel in 2014 and happy to discuss this with you further offline. Thank you once again for your time.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gourock
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I had the pleasure of a 2 night stay at Kingsmills in the Kings Club. THE best shower in my room along with a luxurious bed. There is such a lovely feel to this hotel which is driven by the friendly and very professional staff. Will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Fantastic hotel, fantastic review! Thank you for your very positive comments, glad you appreciated the hotel and our very professional staff. Haste ye back.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Lovely hotel and staff could not fault in any way. We stayed in Kings Club building. Room was spacious and clean with all in room amenities needed. And a lovey welcome plate was waiting for us.
We tried both breakfast rooms; the scrambled egg with salmon was gorgeous. as the rest of the choice in both breakfast rooms.
We had dinner on the first night in the main building, the scallops and pork belly starter is to die for, defiantly it is a must try. My steak was perfectly cooked, just the way I like it.
The service was attentive and friendly.
Would defiantly stay again!

Room Tip: scrambled egg with salmon for breakfast and the scallop and pork belly starter in restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b0nnitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted you enjoyed your "beautiful weekend away" and that you found our restaurants "so tasty to die for". I think you are foodies like me and appreciate really good quality food cooked by professional chefs. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
137 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

This was our first visit to Kingsmills hotel, we booked through Hotel Connections and were delighted with our stay, the room we had was very spacious and clean. Part of the deal was dinner on the first evening and the food was superb, we decided to eat at the hotel on the second night as well. The staff were all very friendly and made us feel very welcome, we would definately stay here again. There was plenty of choices at breakfast to suit everyone from their well stocked buffet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank molliescotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Kingsmills hotel. I am delighted that you had a "fantastic and great stay" on your first visit to our hotel. I was glad to read that you found our food so good on the first night that you decided to dine with us again on the second night with no regrets. I notice that your booking was made using a third party agent, in future to give you peace of mind the Kingsmills inhouse reservations guarantees rate parity and also offers you free wi-fi if booking direct.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#5 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing