We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Inverness Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Top Inverness Hotel”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Used this hotel when playing golf at the nearby Inverness Golf Club. Loads of character and great atmosphere. Spacious and comfortable rooms. Friendly staff. Warm welcome. First class service. Reasonably priced. Food and drink good. Not too far from city centre. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GolfbloggerUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a recent review on Kingsmills hotel. I was delighted to read that yon enjoyed yet another stay and hopefully you scored well at the golf. Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,633 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    810
    532
    199
    57
    35
See reviews for
342
707
53
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ellon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
276 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Stayed here with my husband for a romantic night away from home in Aberdeen. We have always enjoyed coming up to Inverness and this time was no different. We arrived mid afternoon and were really happy that we'd chosen this hotel. Our room was huge and very nicely decorated - the bed was very comfy which is always a big thing for me!
My husband went and had a wee swim and enjoyed the pool.
The hotel itself is located a ten or fifteen minute walk away all downhill, easy to find from the hotel as its sign posted.
Breakfast was gorgeous - can't fault it and all staff were very friendly. Would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a recent review on Kingsmills hotel. I am glad you and your husband enjoyed your romantic break at Kingsmills hotel. We always try to exceed guest expectations and I am delighted we achieved this with your stay.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at the Kingmills hotel in December while we were in Inverness for a funeral. The hotel is nicely situated in Inverness with good access from the A9 and not far from the city centre.
The hotel was very welcoming and our room was spacious and clean. The bathroom had a separate shower which was excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable. The staff were very helpful in locating directions for us.
Breakfast was plentiful with a choice of cereal, fruits yogurts, full Scottish breakfast and continental and plenty of toast which you do yourself.
This was our second stay at the Kingsmills and would certainly stay there again next time we are in Inverness.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing a review on Kingsmills hotel. I was sorry to hear of the circumstances of your stay however we are glad you received the level of comfort and service we aim to deliver. We Look forward to welcoming you back under happier circumstances in the future.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Had 2 nights stay here over the festive period and I was pretty happy with the accommodation for the excellent price of £60 per night.

The hotels in a good location just a couple of mins drive or 15mins walk from town center. It's in a nice old building that looks the part. The room was BIG...very big! It was very clean, nice bathroom with good shower..it's not ultra modern or anything but not bad at all. The bed was massive and pretty comfy. The decor is reasonably subtle and not offensive in any way.

Then you have Spa with a nice pool, sauna, steam room and changing rooms...and a gym

Breakfast was your usual buffet affair with some healthy stuff and some full scottish breakfast type stuff...all pretty good quality.

For £60 a night it's really excellent...for £100 or a wee bit more a night it's not bad but could possibly do with a touch of modernizing...but give me this over a premier inn any day of the week!

Room Tip: Our room was the ben nevis in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fl3tchL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Kingsmills hotel. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us over the festive period and found the bedroom large and comfortable. We have 38 brand new bedrooms going live next week which are fully air conditioned, king beds, fantastic bathrooms and to a very high standard. This room type is luxury, they do have a small premium on classic rooms however well worth it. Hope to see you back before the next festive period!

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Celebrating a traditional Scottish Hogmanay at the totally superb Kingsmills Hotel, perfectly situated in the heart of the Scottish Highlands within a short distance of some of the greatest scenic wonders of the world, and only a 15 minute walk from Inverness city centre, is an experience of a lifetime that you will never forget! So amazing an experience that we have been spending Hogmanay here since December 2006, and are returning on 29th December this year! What makes it so unforgettable? The Kingsmills is an absolutely beautiful hotel, spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated, and extremely comfortable. The lounge area and reception has extremely comfy sofas decorated with traditional Scottish patterns, and the king size beds on the second floor are the cosiest we have ever slept in anywhere! There is also a very lovely (and spotlessly clean!) swimming pool and spa where you can enjoy an extremely pleasant, relaxing afternoon. The hotel also has the most delightful gardens with beautiful evergreen glades- a very pleasant place to walk, or even to enjoy a New Year's Day Segway safari! The location cannot be faulted- Inverness is the perfect base to explore the Highlands, offering easy access to Loch Ness and the Great Glen as well as the spectacularly wild western regions of Lochaber, Lochalsh and Wester Ross, which we greatly enjoyed touring around this time, and the hotel is easily accessible from the A82 and A9- roads along which most magnificent journeys will start! The hotel is also no more than 15 minutes walk from the Eastgate shopping centre and rail station in central Inverness.

Essential to any Hogmanay break at a hotel in the Highlands is good traditional Scottish entertainment, and nowhere is this, in my view, better than at the Kingsmills. The quality of the Scottish music on offer is second to none: the music for the ceilidh on December 30th was provided by the highly acclaimed Rhythm n Reel, who are an extremely talented set of musicians who entertained us greatly that evening and made for an exceptionally lively and enjoyable night! I would love to see such talented musicians return to the hotel! The Hogmanay gala dinner was accompanied by an extremely talented lone piper, which created a lively, unforgettable and unmistakably Highland atmosphere, and the after-dinner ceilidh band and DJ created a fantastic party atmosphere and had us all dancing to all of our favourite tunes- a perfect mix of traditional Scottish and contemporary styles, including a disco with many of our favourite Scottish pop tunes! January 1st saw the return of the amazing Inverness fiddler Bruce MacGregor and friends, who made sure the evening went out with a bang with lively ceilidh tunes and Gaelic song, not to mention some very lively Strip the Willow dances! It is fantastic that such amazing musicians perform at the Kingsmills each year, and is what makes it so special! It must also be testament to the quality and reputation of the hotel locally. Other fun entertainment included the hilarious staff pantomime on New Year's Day, a very enjoyable New Year's Day quiz and an energetic Segway safari throughout the hotel's beautiful wooded gardens!

A great Scottish Hogmanay also needs great Scottish food, home made using local ingredients. The Kingsmills table d'hote menus, and the hearty breakfasts and irresistible venison sausages on New Year's Day brunch, ticked these two boxes without a doubt, and the Hogmanay gala dinner is the best meal I have ever eaten anywhere in the world, by far! Never have I seen local ingredients prepared with such passion and creativity, to create the most sumptuous 5 course menu I have ever tasted! The chef at the Kingsmills certainly knows how to cook the most sublime fillet of Highland beef; juicy, tender and bursting with flavours! The trio of desserts was also a marvellous creation; a great sweet treat. Then came the sublime midnight haggis to welcome in the new year, beautifully cooked and served with traditional neeps and tatties. The creativity of the chef and his team must also be highlighted here: the chocolate tart with malteser ice-cream on December 30th was a masterful and highly original combination, and the malteser ice-cream is such an original recipe, and the best ice-cream I have ever tasted! The kitchen staff were even so kind as to make me a malteser ice-cream milkshake one night, which tasted absolutely delicious, and was an extremely kind gesture as it did not feature on any menu! The kitchen staff here are clearly extremely accommodating and know just how to put a smile on their diners' faces! I must also praise the chef for his amazing kids' meals; the kids chicken nuggets are homemade, with hand-cut skinny fries, and are served in such a charming way with chips in their own little basket, and taste absolutely delicious! So nice to see that they care for younger visitors and making it special for them too.

This awesome experience could never have been possible without the commitment of the delightful staff at the Kingsmills! They all worked so hard to make our Hogmanay such an unforgettable experience, and the manager, Craig, and his assistant Sandra are such incredibly friendly, welcoming people. They have put so much effort into making this Hogmanay so special- and made us feel so welcome in their magnificent hotel. Other staff members that went out of our way to help us were Bill, the genial elderly man at reception who greets you each morning like a long lost friend and is a mine of information on the scenic wonders of the area, and also Anupam and Evelyn in the restaurant, who always had time for a friendly chat and were always extremely accommodating when we wanted dishes prepared slightly differently, and even offered to get us items that were not on the menu, such as malteser ice-cream milkshakes: nothing was ever too much trouble for them! All the staff at the Kingsmills are a huge asset to the hotel and treat their guests so well; we are always made to feel like we are part of one big happy family here at Kingsmills!

Thank you so much to everyone at Kingsmills for an amazing and unforgettable Hogmanay, we will be returning on 29th December 2014 for more Highland Hogmanay fun without a doubt! If anyone wants an extremely friendly Highland hotel with exceptional quality, traditional food, super cosy rooms and great Scottish entertainment, they should look no further than the Kingsmills Hotel!

Room Tip: The rooms on the second floor are particularly beautifully decorated and have extremely cosy, king-s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BEAR_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to review the Kingsmills hotel. We are delighted to hear that you had a superb stay with us over Hogmanay and you enjoyed our new musical addition of Rhythm n Reel along with all our other musicians. I will pass on your wonderful comments on our food to the Chef and his kitchen team. I am glad we have met and exceeded your expectations and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western Isles
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We came to Inverness for a couple of nights break and decided to come here as we have been here before and liked it.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. We especially liked Patricia as she was very friendly and they were all prepared to spend the time to answer our questions and helped us plan how to spend our day.
The room itself was very clean, though I wouldn't say spotless, very comfortable and spacious and the bathroom had a bath and a shower which was fairly powerful, very clean, had lots of towels and a few nice toiletries. No face cloths though.
Breakfast was very good indeed. Plenty of choice of juices, fruits, cereals and some lovely little extras to put on/in them like nuts and raisins etc. There was a toast making machine which is very handy and there were also pastries, though the croissants had run out on the first day so I didn't get any and I only just made it on the second day, so I think they need to buy a few more of those. I was surprised and disappointed there was no choice of fish for breakfast but I can't complain because the whole breakfast experience was good. Oh and they had earl gray tea for me too :)
We had lunch there on day 1 and it was very tasty but if you like plain choice with big portions it wouldn't be for you. I chose a fish and avocado sandwich which came with crisps and some lettuce. I really enjoyed it and it was plenty for me, my partner had a chop with potatoes and felt the portion was too small but he is a working man who likes his food.
It was great that they have a swimming pool, Jacuzzi etc. but we didn't use them. There is also a huge charge for wifi in the rooms but you could use it for free in the lounge/lobby area so that is a bonus.
I really liked this hotel and would definitely return there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dealande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear guest,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Kingsmills Hotel and enjoyed the overall breakfast experience. I will pass on your comments to our chef so we have more croissants on your next stay. Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed here while doing a tour with Insight/Trafalgar in October 2013.

The tour company selected this hotel and only stayed here one night.

Front desk staff were great and very helpful.

Room was a decent size, room for all of our luggage, nice and cozy with an awesome and super comfortable king bed.
I had a great sleep in this bed! Very comfortable after a long day on the road.
Washroom was nice an spacious, shower was great, good water pressure but funny trying to figure out how to use it. A little dated, but worked great none the less.

We arrived at the hotel around 5pm, checked in, relaxed, had dinner with the tour group and then a couple of drink at the bar, so not sure what is around the hotel, but it looked like there were a couple of pubs in the area.

We had a great stay and would stay here again.
Clean, comfortable, nice room, and had a great stop over!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bextravelingtoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us while you were on holiday in October 2013. We are glad you found our staff helpful and your bedroom clean, comfortable and cozy. Should you return to Scotland hopefully you could have an extended stay with us and see what Inverness has to offer.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
2.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
0.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing