We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless”
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #10 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Faultless”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

I want to find reasons to come to Inverness again. In 30 years of staying in lots of hotels around the world for business and pleasure, this hotel tops them all for being good, no, excellent in every area.

Great staff, superlative food especially breakfast, and not over priced.

Well done to all.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelchris68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    828
    547
    206
    58
    37
See reviews for
353
726
54
244
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This is easily amongst the best presented hotels in Scotland. All the public areas are modern, clean, attractive and comfortable. I received a discounted upgrade to the Kings Club, probably because the builders were still in, putting the final touches to a new wing in the main hotel but, in truth, they could not have been less obtrusive. I didn't see a builder or hear any noise whilst I was there.
My room in the Kings Club was spacious with a Queen sized bed, seating area with two settees, balcony overlooking the a green on the golf course and a large bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle. A small minus point was the fact that the self adjust temperature control is ineffective because the heating only came on in the evening so the cold end of the room (seating end) was not good to sit in.
The Kings Club rooms are about 100 yards from the main hotel and its two restaurants - a walk across the large car park. An excellent "cooked to order" breakfast was served within the Kings Club building but dinner was not available there. I assume the covered golf buggy type vehicle at the front of the "Club" is available to transport guests to the main hotel building in inclement weather but, fortunately, the weather was fine whilst I was there.
The hotel is just under three quarters of a mile from Raigmore hospital so handy if that is your destination.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exkgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for very detailed and positive guest review.

I am delighted you have us up there as one of the best hotels in Scotland. We do work very hard and try to satisfy every guest.

I will have our engineer investigate why the heating did not come on for you during the day time.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

An excellent facility - plush reception area and lounge, excellent bedroom, fine pool, sauna etc. However, it was the service provided by the pleasant staff which made our stay. Well, that and the quite superb breakfast! Try the black pudding and haggis - dare you!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBCBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the "Outstanding" guest review.

I am delighted that you left fully satisfied with your stay and the service provided. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just back from a 2 night stay at the Kingsmills. Stayed in the new part of the hotel the Kingsclub. Room was a great size and the bed was huge and so comfy. The rain shower was great as well. Treated myself to a hot stone massage at the spa which was amazing. Breakfast good both mornings and we ate in the Conservatory on Saturday and the food there was great. The leisure facilities are good as well and made for a very relaxing weekend. Staff were very friendly too. Would stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicflo1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review on your very relaxing weekend stay at Kingsmills. Whilst we can offer many services, a chill out weekend of spa treatments, great food and quality accommodation is one of our specialties.

We are here for you, next time you are in need of some "TLC"

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My husband and I have stayed a few times now cannot fault the Hotel at all top class service every time.We have now booked again to come back for another night.Kingsclub rooms are lovely, its wonderful having a balcony outside to admire the view.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LMilto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 20 October 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a quality guest review, for the loyal business and the future business.

We love creating regular guests, by doing what we are good at.

Haste ye back

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

My partner & I stayed her for a 2 night stay at the start of January & loved it. Really nice & friendly staff, felt very welcome when we checked in and throughout our stay. Excellent room, cozy and huge comfortable bed! Lovely food, the leisure facilities was good, nice pool with sauna and steam room. You also get provided towels so you don't need to take with you! If you want to get spa treatments you should book a few weeks prior to going as it gets busy & the lady at reception told us we should of booked a couple weeks before hand. Apart from that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Would highly recommend this beautiful hotel & will definitely be coming back some time in the future!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the stay and found the hotel to deliver all your requirements along with warm and friendly service.

You are correct in saying that guests should book up for Spa treatments in advamce as these are very popular and do get booked up in advance, especially at they weekend.

Haste ye back!


Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed in the newer Kingsmills Club and Spa while on business in Inverness. This hotel has won awards but to my mind it just misses on being a really good establishment. My room was quite large by hotel standards, and comfortable but there were a total of five light bulbs not working. They were replaced when I drew attention to the state of them. The airconditioning (which could not be turned off) made considerable noise. The staff were very pleasant but the service just fell short of being good. For example, when assistance in hiring a car is requested, I did not anticipate being just given a list of phone numbers. The menu was quite limited for all meals, and there was no variety. However, the collection of malt whiskies was very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your guest review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, however disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations. The points you have highlighted; light bulbs and car hire, I will certainly be discussing further with the team as I would also expect these to be a higher standard. This is not how we train the team.

Regarding the diner menus , I was surprised that you found them limiting. We have two restaurants; a table d'hote restaurant offering a fixed price menu, in addition to this we have an a la carte menu and a lounge menu offering some lounge comfort classic dishes. A total of 18 different main courses, the TDH menu also changes every Friday.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
542 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,783 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing