We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need new beds”
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Need new beds”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times a year for many years and it is a nice hotel with pleasant staff. Unfortunately they have let the mattresses on the beds deteriorate to such an extent that they are now unacceptable. Any stuffing that they may have had has gone and they are now just a collection of springs. They have remedied this with mattress toppers. I was in room 009, which had a view of a flat roof with extractor fans and air conditioning units. The bed was the same as the others in this part of the hotel except that both mattress and topper were stained. I only noticed this at night when it was too late to complain, however I told the receptionist as I checked out and she said that she would inform housekeeping. I find it difficult to believe that housekeeping were unaware of the condition of this bed and I consider it totally unacceptable that the hotel expect guests to sleep on it.

Room Tip: One in the new part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    553
    207
    60
    41
See reviews for
360
735
55
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 3 night stay at kingsmills hotel and it was lovely! Room clean nice and spacious! Breakfast was nice! Also used facilities ... pool etc which even although slightly small side was lovely and I also enjoyed a couple of treatments at the fantasia salon! Staff in the hotel very friendly and helpful! About 5mins by car from the centre! Would happily return/recommend this hotel!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank shinystar5552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aberdeen scotland
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Had a lovely couples break here. All had bedrooms in the new wing, they are spacious and nicely decorated with quality fixtures and fittings, beds very comfy and lovely clean modern bathrooms. Reception and the large lounge well decorated and very comfortable and relaxing.
Receptionists welcoming and all staff pleasant and helpfull.
Our friends had dinner on the first night and raved about the meal.
Breakfast tasty, plenty quality ingredients.
Good location in a nice residential area, about 15 min walk into town. Plenty reasonably priced taxis if you dont want to walk.
Would be keen to stay here again, its nice to be a wee bit out of the town centre.
Thanks to management and staff for providing a comfortable place to stay for a short break.
Inverness is a great small city, plenty good bars and restaurants with lovely views over the water.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rostock, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The Kingsmill Hotel is about 20 mins by walk from the city and the river Ness. The room I got was a brand new one. The bed and the matrace were great, I slept very well. The bathroom is splendid, especially the shower. Some details could be better, there could be some hooks for the towel next to the shower.
The service is great, at the breakfast you should try black and white pudding.
The bar has a large choice of malt whiskys, but this I really expect in Scotland.
This hotel is a great choice.
An add-on for all guests would be free wifi in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr_bird_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014 via mobile

Irene and I arrived Thursday around noon, didn't expect room to be ready yet, as we arrived early, so sat in the lounge area and had sannies with fabulously good quality wines. Service a tad slower than we liked, however despite that the staff are exceptional in their demeanour, very polite delivering service with a smile. We made use of the pool facilities which were perfect. Had dinner in the restaurant first evening, food very good matching the excellent service and again, the super dooper wine. Room large and airy with daily cleaning always to a high standard. Check out like the check in was fast efficient with no issues. Will certainly be back, hopefully very soon.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Procurator50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Was fine but didn't blow either of us away. Wouldn't stay again but in it's defence it was clean and well decorated with a massive bed.
Very handy for the Highlands as we are avid hill climbers, scenery around there is amazing and because it's a short walk into Inverness we were able to amble to some lovely restaurants and bars at night which was lovely as wouldn't have wanted to stay in the hotel in the evenings.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRSHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We stayed last week in room 701 for two nights and have to say the hotel is simply superb. Our room was in the modern block with a balcony overlooking the adjacent golf course. I have stayed in numerous hotels over the last few years and have to say this one is probably the best of all.

We list below the issues that stood out to us to make this hotel so special:-

1) Room 701 was large and very well furnished with a superb en suite (separate shower and bath). There is a mini bar provided which also had a carton of milk which is so much better than the usual sachets that most hotels provide
2) The hotel was spotlessly clean
3) The staff were totally focused on ensuring we had a good stay and they were very friendly too
4) There was an excellent selection of at breakfast from the buffet and the hot selection (I chose the full Scottish breakfast) was freshly cooked to order and of very good quality and quantity.
5) We used the lounge area on floor 1 to relax after breakfast and enjoy the complementary tea and coffee (biscuits too)

We traveled to and from Inverness by train and whilst we used taxi's when we arrived and departed with our luggage we also found that the walk from the hotel into town and return was pleasant enough (we both enjoy a daily walk together if possible).

All in all we rate this hotel very highly and look forward to hopefully returning again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing