We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kingsmills Hotel is outstanding”
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Boswell, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Kingsmills Hotel is outstanding”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My wife and I toured Scotland for two weeks. We made a point of selecting hotels that had larger beds and ample parking. We also made a point of staying in manor-type hotels, knowing the higher rates to do so. The Kingsmills Hotel was one of the best we stayed in during our trip. The location in Inverness is extremely easy to get to for a person not used to UK street directions or driving lanes. We booked a Deluxe King and the room was fantastic, very spacious by UK hotel standards, very well furnished, very comfortable. The dinner was very upscale, very well presented, and delicious. The staff, both checking-in and checking-out was polite, professional and thorough. Email communcation with the reception staff, both ahead of time and after the visit, was promptly replied to and completely professional. This is an excellent hotel - facilites and staff.

Room Tip: They have many rooms to choose from - pick what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, it is always much appreciated when we receive feedback.

I hope you enjoyed your tour of Scotland, it has a lot to offer and hopefully another trip will be on the cards soon with a visit back to ourselves as well.
I am delighted to hear that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that the associates and communication were all helpful and prompt in their delivery. The kitchen take particular pride in generating new and exciting dishes and presenting them in ways that are appetising and original.

I hope you will get a chance to visit again in the near future.

Kind regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    843
    552
    207
    60
    41
See reviews for
360
734
55
248
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We booked the Kingsmill for our wedding and they made the whole experience perfect right from the first phone call to book it through to the wedding day.
The team that arrange the wedding make it such a simple and stress free process and nothing is too much trouble.
Our wedding was a small one and we got married in the hotel and due to the fact they do so many of these the photographer we used was well known by the hotel and also the registrar knew it well too which made it easy.
The whole day was perfect and Angus the wedding coordinator was very helpful and also kept the bride calm on the walk through to the room lol. He also made sure the room was set up exactly as bridezilla had planned.
We booked into the kingsmill spa part for the wedding night and had a retreat room and it was simply amazing and perfect. The breakfast in the morning was really good and the service was good.
I can't fault the whole experience we had at the Kingsmill and they made our special day very special and also stress free.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Congratulations on your nuptials and thank you for taking the time to write a review when I know how busy it is after all the excitement of the special day. Thank you letters etc…

Every Bride and Groom deserves the day of their dreams and I hope we went some way to making that happen for you. The Administration team work exceptionally hard to ensure all the details are captured and on the day the Operations team try to pre-empt every need prior to your request.

Thank you for your kind feedback and we hope to see you again possibly for a 1st Anniversary Dinner and stay ??? ( there’s a tip for some Browney points for next year )

Kind regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
central
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I booked this quite late and got a good price (about £60/night), but it felt like I was given the worst possible room as a result. Having read other reviews I suspect that the hotel is being refurbished and perhaps once it is done it will improve, but they need to get around to the pool/spa area and then think about the breakfast and the staff to make this a hotel that exceeds the chain brands.

Good stuff first: The bed was very comfortable, the room quite pleasant and the blackout curtains kept it nice and dark, so I slept well. The lounges were traditional and well presented.

However everything else about the hotel let it down. The room furniture and hot stuffy bathroom were dated and worn out. There was lots of renovation work going on in the corridor I was in, so I was walking around workmen and materials to get to and from my room. One member of staff decided to vacuum outside my room at 2am. The breakfast was a total let down, with watery porridge, dried out scrambled eggs and few vegetarian options. Even though I had booked and paid for it I didn't bother the second day. In the evenings the staff repeatedly argued amongst themselves about why the till was ten pounds short whilst I sat in the lounge to use the Wi-Fi (the charges for using it in the room were extortionate).

The pool and spa were really grotty and should not be advertised at all. If I were managing the hotel I'd see them as an embarrassment and prioritise them for renovation. (King's Club? Even the peasants would find it revolting). The pool ranges from about 50cm deep to a little over a metre, and its no longer than a few strokes across anyway, so it wasn't the kids of place you could do lengths. The changing rooms and pool/spa surrounds were totally run down and grimy. There was a loud whining noise in the area of the sauna, stream room and Jacuzzi, which was a shame as the latter was nice and hot (though you need to know where to find the button on the wall to turn the bubbles on). The gym was very small and sadly had only one barbell (fixed at 40kg) and one dumbbell, though it was probably sufficient for a one off visit. I could see why most of the patrons of the club were long past retirement, as this would fall below the expectations of most gym members. This was a shame as the one genuinely friendly and helpful member of staff I spoke to was a young lass there.

So I was left with feeling that as a place to sleep it was very good, but in every other way it fell short of my expectations. I'd have been gutted if I'd paid full price. And no response to my feedback :(

Room Tip: Get one that has been refurbished!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimschat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

My Wife and I took our first trip to Inverness and our travel agent recommended Kingsmills. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The rooms were very quite and nicely furnished. I purchased the wifi for the room and when it did not work the charge was was removed. The only negative thing I can say is the view out the window was the roof; however, we did not come to Inverness to look out a window.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WDavid_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed your trip of Inverness, the Highlands and further afield?
Perhaps on your next stay with us I could recommend one of our Executive rooms in the New Kingsclub with balconies and terrific views over the golf course.

Super to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

I stay in Inverness often and Kingsmill is my first choice. I was put in the new wing this time (room numbers 3xx and 4xx), the rooms are different class. I have stayed in hotels all over the UK and you will search a long time to find a room of this quality. Everything has been done to a high standard, finishes, carpets, lovely fluffy towels, fantastic bathroom and shower, terrific huge comfortable beds. I have been critical in the past of rooms 6-11 at the Kingsmills, but these new ones are, well just WOW !

Well done Kingsmills, setting the standard not only in The Highlands but in Scotland.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the new block, in fact insist !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stirlingtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I hope you enjoyed your trip of Inverness, the Highlands and further afield?
Perhaps on your next stay with us I could recommend one of our Executive rooms in the New Kingsclub with balconies and terrific views over the golf course.

Super to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
144 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Not the first time I have stayed here but the first in the new wing. I really like the new rooms. Good size for a family of 4 with the bunk beds. Clean and tastefully decorated. I always liked the older side as well. Staff, food and everything else is still up to the usual high standard. Will come again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Skytourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you liked the new luxury rooms in the new wing and you and your family enjoyed the spacious suite, I hope you had a chance to take full advantage of the swimming pool and leisure facilites.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next stay with us.

Kind regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fochabers,moray
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This was our third visit to this lovely hotel,last time we had one of the beautiful rooms in the other building looking out onto the golf course,but we chose to stay in the brand new rooms in the main hotel this time.lovely room and very clean.Went to the restaurant in the conservatory in the evening,food was really good.We enjoyed chilling out on the comfy couches during the day and in the evening too.I would have given the hotel top marks,the only thing that let's it down slightly is they swimming pool,it needs modernised.Lovely buffet breakfast in the morning and staff were all very friendly.plenty parking spaces and it's just a five minutes drive to the shopping area of Inverness.Will return again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank loopylynne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Loving it, loving it, loving it! Thanks for the review and loyal business, appreciate your feedback and glad to read that you enjoyed yet another stay.

We are planning to do some improvement work in our leisure club facilities later in the year.

Look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing