We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Night away with the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Night away with the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Spent the night recently in the Kingsmill hotel and could not really fault it, we stayed in the new wing in a family room. Room was perfect. Staff very friendly and food was spot on, going back in November and fair looking forward to it. Don't know if the 3 hours free wifi was for public areas only but it was not very effective in the room. Well done and keep up the good work.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dduncs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    534
    200
    57
    35
See reviews for
342
709
53
243
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed in the new building which has an undersized elevator that shuts down when more than people try to use it. The staff needs training on the fire alarm system. One of our fellow travelers bumped the fire alarm and it took the staff a very long time to shut it down so we could get power in our rooms restored. Other than that the hotel is nice and the staff friendly. Lots of golf courses in the area of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tginmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Very nice hotel, excellent room, welcoming staff, very nice public areas, free spa facilities and great breakfast.

This is a very nice hotel not far from Inverness city centre, right next to Inverness golf club.

We had a luxury family room and the room really was excellent, a very high standard indeed and I would have given the hotel 5 stars but for two minor gripes.

1. The wifi is free in the lobby but costs £9.95 for in room wi-fi (for 24hrs) - in this day and age this should be free. Come on Kingsmills...this is such as easy thing to rectify!

2. The television reception was very poor - only some ITV channels but no BBC channels and no sky sports (as promised on the channel guide). The next day we had no channels at all...to be fair we did not complain as we in the room for a very short time but the TV should still work as advertised. This was room 414.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scottishtraveller71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was delighted that you had a great stay and enjoyed the service and quality rooms and food and beverage.

WIFI is free in the all the lounges and reception area. Bedroom wifi is available at a small cost £2.50 per hour, £4.95 for three hours or £9.95 for 24 hours. The amount of time used, ie you can log on for 10 minutes then use the other 50 minutes tomorrow, all just for a one hour ticket.

The TV reception should not be like this and I will have investigated ASAP and receify.

Kind Regards


Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Visited here at 11o'clock in the morning whilst my dad was having an operation in Raigmore Hospital. Was greeted by the duty manager and asked if we could just have coffee and cake. He showed us to a table and asked the waitress to look after us. She went to check what was available in the kitchen,promptly came back and took our order! When our order came we had a plate of beautifully sliced cake not just one piece! We were made to feel that we were important and it made an horrible time much easier.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review. It was myself who met you on arrival, I do remember you. I was delighted Irene, one of our very loyal bar associates, looked after you and you enjoyed your morning coffee and cake and service. We are a very friendly hotel, and we do pride ourself on looking after all of our guests.

You are very welcome at any time. Look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

Took a trip to Inverness recently for an event at Cawdor Castle and had an overnight stay at the Kingsmills Hotel. Great location, particularly for golfers, the terrific rooms in the annexe building overlook Inverness golf course, and Nairn golf course and Castle Stuart golf links are close by. The main hotel and annexe building are both excellent. Staff were friendly and helpful and I was offered a wee malt on arrival, a nice touch, unfortunately I had to decline as I was driving later, next time. Room was terrific with King size bed which was extremely comfortable, a large flat screen tv, sofa and chairs, and a balcony with table and chairs, amazing. Breakfast was great and set me up for the day. I didn't have time to dine in the restaurant but had a look at the menu which looked terrific and had some good offers as well. Worth noting the hotel no longer has a pitch and putt course, I had booked partially because the description on the web still said it had, but hey you can just play Inverness golf course if you feel up for it, at a slightly reduced fee. The spa was well maintained and was good to relax in, not the biggest in the world but was fine. The hotel is easy to find on the approach to Inverness and does make a good base. I really wish I could have stayed longer, and I will be back with some golfing buddies, hopefully in the near future!!

Room Tip: The annexe rooms are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out to write a review on Kingsmills hotel.

I was glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the comfort our hotel offered you, in addition the great service. You are right our hotel, particularly the Kingsclub is so well placed for various golfing parties and golfing trips. See you so with your golfing buddies.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

My husband and I treated ourselves to a Sunday night stay at the Kings Club, which we had been meaning to do for some time. We had one of the lovely Retreat Rooms which has a balcony overlooking the golf course.

The rooms are all of a high standard and very comfortable. However, I would say that there is some wear showing with some stains on the carpet and marks on the wallpaper. These small things did not retract anything from our stay.

The balcony is such a nice feature, especially in Scotland! We could have happily sat and watch the golfers all afternoon.

All members of staff which we encountered couldn't be more helpful and professional.

We will definitely return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babsie21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

I am glad you and your husband enjoyed your Sunday treat. The Kingsclub retreat rooms are particularly comfortable. I was glad to read that our associates looked after you and that you will be back in the future.

Kind Regards

Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

After flying from Ireland to Scotland, driving to inverness for three hours and finding out our original castle stay was a bust... This hotel offered service, comfort and a great park across the street for kids. We were lucky to find openings in this hotel and liked it so much we decided to stay an extra day. We encountered a few oddities - they were out of hummus for hummus plate, my girls got in trouble for working out with me (they normally work out three times a week at home) and it took the bar about 30 min to grab a few drinks for us as we were leaving hotel? However, pool, local golf and city made up for any problem we had. We also liked the showers, lounge area and breakfast.

Room Tip: Our rooms could not connect. We had to divide and conquer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kingfamoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigEwan_8, General Manager at Kingsmills Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review Kingsmills hotel. I was glad that you and your family enjoyed their stay, so much so that you extended your stay, which is great. Apologies that we "run out of" one of the sandwiche fillings during your stay.

I also do not understand the comment about your girils getting into trouble for using the gym. I can only assume they were under 16 and need to be with an adult.

Haste ye back

Kind Regards


Craig Ewan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#16 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
2.8 mi away
Loch Ness Country House Hotel at Dunain Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Property: Kingsmills Hotel
Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#5 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing