We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better”
Review of Kingsmills Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kingsmills Hotel
Ranked #10 of 35 Hotels in Inverness
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Decided to go up to Inverness for a few days, this hotel was perfect. We do like luxury so we decided to book a 4* hotel. We were greeted by a really professionally friendly receptionist. We got to our room which was actually 4 rooms in 1. 2 separate bedrooms and a lounge and a separate bathroom. The leisure facilities were brilliant. 8 year olds could you the sauna and steam room which was a bonus. Dinner was superb, all staff were friendly and attentive. Had a good sleep. Breakfast was good. Staff changed the buffet every 10mins to keep it fresh. Definitely staying there next time in Inverness.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,761)
There are newer reviews for Kingsmills Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

894 - 900 of 1,761 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Good location for the visiting Inverness. We were upgraded to the spa rooms so had less choice for breakfast and had to eat in the lobby area. Would have preferred a room in the main hotel and breakfast in the restaurant. Spa closes at 6pm so not able to go for treatment after travelling all day. Amenities in the room were really good.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Donna_Martin_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

fantastic hotel stayed here on a work trip for a few weeks on the outskirts of inverness food was brilliant and could not fault atall the service was excellent staff were amazing and with whatever we needed! hope to be back for a round of golf the next time!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank BonnieDonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here for one night, and wished it had been longer. We booked a family room, with a separate room so our baby could go next door. We arrived and were made to feel immediately welcome by the staff. The lobby was lovely, sofas and areas for relaxing. I would imagine in winter it would be gorgeous and cosy.

We were shown along to the room which was in the slightly older part of the hotel. It was lovely. A huge bed and enormous room. The bed had a lovely mattress topper on it, as it could clearly be two beds or one. This made it exceptionally comfortable. One of the best hotel beds I have been in.

The bedroom next door had good quality bunk beds and also fitted in the travel cot. Unfortunately the travel cot we initially had was damaged, but we phoned reception and they immediately changed it for us, with profuse apologies.

We walked down the corridor to the spa area and gym. The gym was excellent. The equipment was clean and easy to use, and there was a good range. I worked out there then went and swam in the pool with my baby and husband.

The pool was very warm and clean. It didn't get very deep at the deep end (1.2m I think), so would have been good for families, and was just about big enough to swim a mini length. What was lovely for a family was that they had floats and inflatable seats for babies you could borrow. This was lovely for my 20 month old, and she had a wonderful time.

The sauna and steam room were both good, as was the jacuzzi. The only reason it wasn't one of the best spas we have been to was the surround of the pool looked slightly older than others we have visited, and the changing rooms were slightly worn-looking. However, there was a notice from the management that there is going to be updating done this autumn, so I would love to see it when it's been re-done!

The staff at the leisure area were really friendly. There were towels and water to help yourself to, and baby changing facilities.

After our swim we walked around the grounds which were lovely.

I had a massage, which was excellent. I booked this and the massage was in the new building where they clearly have day spa packages and the more expensive rooms. It did seem very smart, and the massage experience with Nora was excellent. A really personalised Aromatherapy massage that was so relaxing.

We ate in the restaurant, and our baby slept in her pram. The food was excellent. I had smoked salmon, which was lovely, and my husband had mussels- the smaller portion- and we almost didn't need a main course! They were delicious, and they brought more bread for the juice, which was really thoughtful.
For mains we both had steak, which was very good, and we didn't need pudding!
The selection of food from the a la carte menu was really lovely, and the wine and drinks list extensive. We were very impressed.

The breakfast was good, and even though it was very busy, things were constantly refilled and stocked up. Freshly cooked little pastries were particularly good.

The staff throughout the hotel made our stay. Everyone was helpful, wanting to make our stay enjoyable. The older part of the hotel had a charm to it that was really pleasing, and our corridor was quiet and room spacious and comfortable.

I liked that everyone was local, and the people who worked there spoke well of the owners- apparently still family owned, and you really felt this.

There were some minor downsides, but these are small issues for a family.

There was no fridge in the room, so keeping our baby's milk was difficult, and we ended up buying a second pint the morning after, and we had nowhere to put her pouches of food.
You had to pay for wifi in the room. You could use wifi centrally, but it's unusual for hotels today to charge, particularly for a 4* hotel.
At breakfast you didn't get a cafetiere and had to pay extra for Americano or other coffee, and so the coffee was not that great. Such a small thing, but for a hotel that was otherwise so excellent, this was a bit of a surprise.
The bathroom was slightly outdated. The shower door didn't close so well and was quite old. However, the refurbishment is clearly going to be a process, so this was not a real issue.

However, the staff were excellent, the sleep quality among the best we have had.
I honestly wouldn't go for the newer part of the hotel, though. The main section was charming, and very friendly and comfortable.

We would love to go back again. Very good with a baby.

Room Tip: We stayed in the older part of the hotel, and even though the room was not 'smart', it was q...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Surfer-chic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We experienced a great one night stay in route to Edinburgh. The staff was excellent and the room was great. I wish we could have stayed longer. The bar area was great. The breakfast was well done. Great choice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TennesseeCounsel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Got a Sunday night deal to stay in the new wing of the hotel. Staff were lovely and the room is great, huge bed, beautiful bathroom with huge shower and a bath. Hair dryer was defunct and not only did they replace it but they totally tidied the whole room, new towels etc. above and beyond as we were only there for one night. Great value for money. 6 pounds in taxi to city centre, easily walkable in nice weather.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NegativeHenry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I were here for 2 nights in July and stayed in the new spa resort section ( not the main building ) . This is a business / golf tour hotel , in my view, and doesn't really have the personal touch that we were looking for. Lovely room, great bed, quiet , but not worth a premium price. Nice breakfast , but unnervingly served in an expanded section of the lobby/ reception area. Dinner in the main dining room ( in the main wing) was B + at best. Staff were all very nice , but the "ambience quotient" is low. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 773Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.8 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Inverness Lochardil House Hotel
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 35 in Inverness
598 reviews
0.7 mi away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.7 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 35 in Inverness
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingsmills Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsmills Hotel

Address: Culcabock Road, Inverness IV2 3LP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Inverness
#6 Luxury Hotel in Inverness
#8 Romantic Hotel in Inverness
#15 Business Hotel in Inverness
Price Range: £76 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsmills Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Kingsmills Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsmills Hotel Inverness, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing