We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Highland treat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We stayed in the Alexander as we were attending a wedding in inverness. we really liked the place and it is ideal for the city centre and right next to the river ness lovely views, the place was spotless and the breakfast was really nice as well would recommend The Alexander......

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russhells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,408)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,143 - 1,149 of 1,408 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

Although we live just 16 miles from Inverness my wife and I decided to book into The Alexander so we could attend a friends wedding reception being held close by and could forget about taxis for the night! We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful building. The house and our room were spotless and were extremely comfortable. The Alexander with its stag horns and tweeds and tartan carpets definitely boasts Highland charm but is very tastefully done. The dining room was very smart and the breakfast service and food was excellent. Would definitely recommend The Alexander!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonMain901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

From start to finish we had a great week-end at this hotel. We were allocated in the cottage next to the hotel which was lovely. Our room was large and our bathroom was a room on its own. Next to it was a shower and toilet which was very nice. Our room over looked the river which was good. Each morning we got the choice of a lovely cooked breakfast. We shall defiantly book this hotel again.

Room Tip: The hotel and cottage was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DARLING925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Sales and Revenue Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking time to visit this site and share your experience with us.

It is always nice to hear good reviews and I will pass these comments on to our team to help as this helps our improve our performance and in turn guest experience.

we look forward to welcoming you again to the Glen Mhor hotel and apartments.

kind regards
Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

had an overnight stay 18/4/2013 and really liked this guest house it was clean and comfortable and the owners and staff were very helpful the breakfast was traditional scottish, I would recommend the Alexander to anyone who is thinking of going to inverness and i will certainly come back again

Room Tip: room 6 was to the rear but very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Our stay at the Alexander started on a rather disappointing note where we learnt that despite having paid for a river view room, we had been moved to a non river view room just because we asked for a non-loft/attic room preferably on the ground/first floor with no mention of the same till we actually entered the room. Later we were told that since we had booked via expedia, we could not get the price difference and the only solution offered was a river view room the next day. that left us a little sour although admittedly the river view room that we would move to the next day was massive and luxurious.
the first room had a tiny window with really no views at all and felt stuffy and damp. the bathroom was absolutely tiny with virtually no space for a shower. i am quite petite and i barely managed to fit in the shower cubicle. the toiletries were really good quality and theres a 10% discount coupon available with the staff in case you wish to purchase them from the manufacturers. the tv was mounted on the cupboard if i remember and was tiny and uncomfortable to watch. i wouldnt give that room more than 3 on 10. there were a lot of guide books and tour brochures and things to read and the coffee/tea was good quality, fairtrade stuff (very impressed).
the breakfast next day was good. they serve good quality food (not much choice though) and the dining room was nice too. the river view room we moved to was beautifully done but the bathroom was still the same size. but its worth every extra penny you may have to pay...
my verdict: i was quite disappointed because it was my first b&b experience and i thought the service would be more personal and attentive while we literally had to spend 20 mins to just keep looking for the staff even for the smallest thing. the owner doesn't live in the house the entire time and that feeling of living with a family was totally missing. some of the rooms are extremely stuffy and small, especially the ones in the attic so my suggestion would be to book directly with the guest house so they cant pass on the blame to a third party later. will i stay again? no..i have discovered i love hotels, don't like fixing my breakfast time a day in advance, don't like to whisper to my husband sitting next to me because the walls are so thin i can literally hear my neighbor snore..and given how many there were in that tiny stretch, you are spoilt for choice.

Room Tip: pl avoid attic rooms at all costs unless you have a thing for loft conversions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vibha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at the Alexander. My wife, son and I had a few days short break in Inverness and can recommend the guest house without hesitation. We had a room which overlooked the River Ness and the Cathedral. Not only did this add to the pleasure of the stay but the guest house is central for everything. My son, a teenager, enjoyed the wi fi! Breakfast was a highlight each morning, as was the friendly service. The guest house has its own car park, making parking a breeze. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: If possible, get a room with a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruairidh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I would have absolutely no hesitation recommending the Alexander to family,friends and colleagues as a place to stay when in inverness. Very clean, comfortable, good breakfast and excellent service - Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annetterobertson51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 36 in Inverness
780 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#22 of 36 in Inverness
502 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#21 of 36 in Inverness
1,302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: £53 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing