We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 26 April 2013

My husband and I enjoyed our stay here for two nights a couple of weeks ago. I was a bit apprehensive as we went to our room as it was in the cottage and the entrance and stairs were in need of refurbishment. The stairs also were a bit of a challenge due to my height (I'm 6ft) and the sloping ceiling was low. However our room was excellent, overlooking the river with a huge freestanding bath in a separate room from the bedroom and toilet. There was also a small shower cubicle which I didn't use, again due to my height.
All the staff were courteous, friendly and eager to please. On our second night we had no hot water but a phone call to reception quickly remedied this and the duty manager visited our room to apologise and explain what the problem was.
We had dinner at Nicos both nights as part of our package and the food was delicious, We could not fault anything and again the waiting staff were helpful and attentive. Breakfast was also good and prepared to order.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return. In fact I have recommended the hotel to friends who are staying this weekend. I'm sure they will be equally impressed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigH19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Thank you for your fantastic review of the Glen Mhor Hotel and for advising other travellers of your experience through Trip Advisor. It's nice to read such positive reviews of the hotel.

We're glad to inform you, that we're just refurbishing the rooms in the cottage at the moment.

Hopefully we can welcome you back soon at the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,147 - 1,153 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Weren't we lucky to find this Guest House. Morna and Andrew were the perfect Hosts, welcoming us to a wonderful warm friendly Guest House with comfortable bedrooms and awesome views over a full racing and tubulent River Ness. 5 mins walk from 'the Islands' to the left, and a 5 mins walk to the Town Centre to the right, yet quiet and peaceful with a guaranteed excellent nights sleep. We were there 5 nights in all. Breakfast was delicious, a great choice offered, Husband had 'The Full Scottish' each day, and found it brilliant, (especially the sausages) while I opted for scrambled eggs with smoked salmon or the Porridge, JUST like my Mum used to make. It was SO hearty I didn't need to eat again untill Dinnertime. we have never had such delicious toast either! Staff all very attentive and cheerful. The rooms were very well equipped with the usual necessitiies yet included a smashing 'clothes brush, come lint remover, with the handle being a shoe horn'. How Cool was that! Parking available too....so as I said in the title Just Magic!

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 are roomy, very comfy and with River Views. Although facing the road, quiet and peacef...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToothyPegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I always try to stay in The Alexander when I'm in Inverness (which I often am, for business). It has a lovely location by the River Ness, and is within easy walking distance of Eden Court, restaurants and the railway station. The breakfasts are wonderful, especially the smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. The staff are friendly and helpful, and the decor is very nice. The beds are always very comfortable, and I haven't had any problems with noise from other guests. Good-sized rooms, and all in all a very reliable place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Conferencebunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

This guest house is stunning - perfect location overlooking the River Ness and just a 5 minute walk into the main town with its abundance of shops and restaurants. The decor is traditionally Scottish yet contemporary and very tasteful. We were checked in by Andrew, one half of the owners, who was friendly and suggested some eating places while carrying our bags to our room. We had booked a river view room and it was beautiful. Large room with high ceilings, king size bed and all the bits and pieces needed for a comfortable stay, even a small fridge containing fresh milk.

We had a refreshing and comfortable nights sleep followed by a shower in en-suite bathroom, which was small, but lets face it, how much time do we spend in there?! And the beautiful toiletries more than made up for it anyway!

Breakfast was in the gorgeous dining room with its massive bay window and there was a really good choice (I'm not sure where the person who reviewed the Alexander on 17th April had breakfast, but it can't have been here as she says 'not much choice'!!!!). There were cereals, fruits, yogurt, toast, jam, porridge, various selections of cooked breakfast and as much tea and coffee as you could drink, all served by the lovely Morna, the other half of the ownership team. My poached eggs were cooked to absolute perfection - compliments to the chef!

All in all, a truly lovely B&B with great service and comfortable surroundings. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank BlueRuby67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have just returned from Inverness having stayed at the Glen Mhor. Could not fault this hotel. Staff were attentive, polite and made us feel very welcome. the room was comfortable and very clean ( Room 120), overlooking the river with plenty of room to spread out. And adding to previous reviews an excellent breakfast to set you up for the day. If you are going to Inverness on a short break we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for room 120
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julesFlitwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and especially the room as this is one of our newly refurbished rooms.

We'll pass your positive comments over to the whole team and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

I stayed in this hotel during four nights. Rooms were very calm and spacious.
Also the restaurant was very nice, all the staff were very friendly, helpful and professional.
I would recommend this place!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank mobypo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

We're glad that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and
hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Visiting Inverness for a wedding and had two nights in The Alexander. Wonderful welcome from Morna, our host, and we felt almost at home but being well looked after. Excellent room with all the facilities including WiFi which was crucial during our stay. The breakfast room has wonderful views over the River Ness and breakfast was close to Cordon Bleu.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaymack46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#15 of 36 in Inverness
785 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#17 of 36 in Inverness
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaufort Hotel
Beaufort Hotel
#24 of 36 in Inverness
503 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: £48 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing