We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid Room 300 if possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Tayside
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Avoid Room 300 if possible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

We were booked into this hotel by our central booking agent and we will be recommending that to them that no one is booked in again.
The room was a twin with beds that would have been stretched to accommodate anyone bigger than an average woman - at best they were a single bed for a child. Generally the room was poorly furnished with no extra embellishments or pictures on walls etc. The staff were aware that we were booked in for business purposes yet the room had no space for a desk for us to work at .... there was a plinth in a recess which would have been adequate but for the fact that the chairs were too low. The TV and a chest of drawers were within the old fireplace which still a mantle over it. The small window was difficult to shut but this appears to have been an existing problem as attempts had been made to remedy this with insulating tape.
The bathroom door was no bigger than shoulder width so if you were of anything other than average you would have had to turn sideways to enter. The bathroom had been updated but to a poor standard with the bath being stained and the re-enamelling peeling. There was no hot or cold indicators on the bath taps which at minimum is a health and safety issue. Also the over the bath shower did not work to any adequate standard.
As we work in an organisation that cover the UK we stay in hotel on a regular basis and I can safely say that the last room I stayed in of this poor quality was approximately 20years ago.
At breakfast the waitress was helpful and happily changed a tepid coffee pot for a hot one - she also remembered our preferences on the second morning.
The above issues were raised with the accountant who was covering reception when we checked out and she noted these. Whilst appreciating that business people are not probably the core business of this hotel next time we will be booking into the Premier Inn across the river.

Room Tip: Please ensure you are not booked into room 300
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KazW951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 16 June 2013
We are truly sorry to hear about your disappointment.

We do appreciate that we have some classic rooms that need upgraded and we are in the process of refurbishing them. Already 14 done this winter and spring and we keep going....
We always advise to go for our upgrades if you wish a special treat.
Please bear in mind that we are market competitive and most part of the time cheaper than our competitor.
We sincerely hope that you will give us the opportunity to show you all the work done soon.

With kind regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    414
    401
    238
    111
    80
See reviews for
240
564
53
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I simply did not enjoy staying at this hotel.
The rooms are adequate and reasonably furnished.
The food from room service was awful. Fish and chips were just bad. The soup of the day was so salty that it was inedible.
Morning: shower didn't work.
So, not my first choice when back in Inverness.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluediamondtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 15 June 2013
We are truly sorry to hear about your disappointment and would like to add that this is not representative of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

We will take the time to review the comments made with the hotel team and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to give you a better experience of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

With kind regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

Very nice little hotel. Bathrooms are updated. Free wifi, free full breakfast. Walking distance to restaurants. Nice view of the river. Nice staff. Also, this was one of the cheaper options in town, so also a great value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillipsrhit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
Always glad to hear that our guest enjoyed their stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed for a night whilst travelling north, then again on our return journey south. Location is excellent overlooking the river Ness. Stayed in two different rooms (6,4). Rm 6 was larger of the two however the size of the ensuite let it down a little and the shower wasn't as good as rm4. Beds comfy, nicely decorated throughout. Breakfast was really good. Nice choice and I have no objection to ordering night before... We regularly travel to north west Scotland and have previously had some poor experiences, especially as we have a well behaved dog with us. But we will definitely stay again at The Alexander. Also can recommend Riva for evening meal, only a short walk away.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank hikingheidi85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2013 via mobile

The staff make you feel like a guest in their home! It was a great greeting and they were attentive to our needs. The room was nice with the best bed I've slept on in the UK, so comfortable with nice linens and comfy pillows! The breakfast room is very upscale and breakfast outstanding. The location on the River Ness is beautiful and the 10 min walk to the City Center was accommodating! If you are looking for Old World Charm, it is here!

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank parkerpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed in one of the apartments. Despite the free wifi 'throughout' advertised, there was no signal in our room. When I called reception, they wanted me to come to them to sort the problem, the logic of which escaped me, as I wanted reception in my room.

The bedroom was clean, although the bedding was well-worn. The kitchen was clean, but the bathroom was disappointing. On arrival, there was black dirt in the shower tray - it looked like someone had been standing in it with dirty shoes. The shower hose was broken, spraying water in all directions. The light/ shower charger over the sink was functional, but gave out an increasingly loud buzzing noise, so we were unwilling to continue to use it.

The member of staff who checked us in (a Hungarian woman) was very efficient & warm in her welcome, and that element of our stay, I couldn't fault. However overall, I can't recommend staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EFit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
We are truly sorry to hear about your disappointment and would like to add that this is not representative of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

We will take the time to review the comments made with the hotel team and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to give you a better experience of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

With kind regards
The Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

How reassuring to find a quality hotel in a quality location at a quality price.
We were so pleased with our stay. The room was very comfortable with a choice of chairs, warm and spacious with good ensuite facilities. Being separately located made no difference to us whatsoever - it was no distance to walk from our door to the main hotel entrance, a mere 15 yards away.
Nicosia bar however, while being very comfortable with good food, was rather more costly than we would have wished and would suggest eating elsewhere unless pricing changes, as there is no shortage of quality restaurants. The hotel breakfast, however, was more than adequate with good choices and service.

Room Tip: If the weather is bad you may prefer a room in the main hotel. And choose to eat dinner somewhere ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doonhamer007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 27 May 2013
Thank you for sharing the experience about your recent stay with us.

It's a true pleasure to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope
to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing