We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location away from noisy pubs”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Springfield
Level Contributor
39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location away from noisy pubs”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This is a good location away from the city center, which can be quite noisy with all the pubs and restaurants. The room was neat and clean; the bathroom was updated. The only problem we had with the room was the bed mattress - it was too lumpy and soft for the both of us. This is an older hotel and there is no elevator, so we had to drag our 40 lb. suitcases "thump-thump-thump" up four flights of stairs. The hotel bar had a congenial atmosphere and the wait staff were excellent. Prices are comparable to the local pubs and we enjoyed having a half-pint or dram of whisky when we returned from our day's activities. On Tuesday evening the Ness Bank Jazz Kings play for two hours and we certainly enjoyed their New Orleans style music. We didn't experience any wifi drops. The breakfast was OK - only bread for toasting was available, which you toast yourself. We commend the hotel staff; they were very cordial and gave us recommendations for local activities and restaurants.

Room Tip: Glen Mohr has more the feel of a B&B; it's not Euro-modern, but it offers a nice play to sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jl3_73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Many thanks for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look froward to welcoming you back very soon hopefully.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    415
    251
    125
    83
See reviews for
246
590
55
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Troon, Ayrshire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in this hotel and for a double room for 1 person the cast was £500
For this I expected it to be fantastic. The room was gorgeous the view magnificent however the radiator in the room was broken and bubbled every night and there was no heat from it. The so called wifi can't be picked up from the second floor I did querie this and was basically told oh well!

Breakfast the fry up nice but the pancakes shocking burnt and two small pancakes in my second day the breakfast area was full if Americans and for the remainder of my stay all they did was complain about the breakfast quality. I think that a big part of the breakfast was that all the staff are foreign and with certain staff there was a massive language barrier between customers and staff. This I have to say for me spoils the traditional Scottish highland hotel am afraid as in my 4 days stay I didn't speak to a single Scottish person.

Room gorgeous 4 poster bed massive tv and all the facility's that you need, very clean as well. Bathroom very basic looking and in need of a little tlc.

I am undecided if I would stay again as I do need to for work stay another 4 days next week in inverness.

I think for the price I could of had better service and better breakfast plus heating and wifi.

Nicos dinner restaurant is excellent I have to say loved my meals there and the service

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huneyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Many thanks for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall.We are in the process to upgrade our breakfast... I hope you will give us the opportunity to show you the improvement very soon.

Your sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed in the hotel in may this year,the room was very tired thou the bathroom had been replaced which was smart! The wifi signal was very very poor in the room !

Had dinner in a meeting room at that front of the hotel as it was a business meeting! the room was dated tired and dirty, the tables were sticky ! Had a steak which was dry and chips with no veg ! it was a basic meal for about £20 which you get better at roc pool in inveness !

Room Tip: Premier inn ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DGoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
We are very sorry to hear of your disappointment on your last stay with us.
We will take your comments into consideration and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Halton, Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Looks fine from the outside and location is good but on entering you realise that this could be so much better. The place smells for starters, it's that institutional smell of overused and poorly cleaned establishments. The room was spacious and the bed comfortable but again, the furniture was broken in places and sticky. As for the bathroom, well! I had to clean the loo, the bath/shower was grim with large areas of mould, the sink was cracked and dirty in all the crevices. Breakfast was very meagrely. The burgers we had from room service were appalling and at £14.99 they were wildly overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
We were very sorry to hear of your disappointment on your last stay with us.
We refurbished all our bedrooms recently. Bathrooms are due to be refurbished this winter.
Our restaurant is market competitive. Your burger was a 10oz venison burger with cheese and bacon.
However we will take your comments into consideration and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

The key selling point of this hotel must be its location-it is right on the river in the middle of town and the front facing rooms have excellent views. In addition, the extensive off-street parking is great.

Although the rooms were clean and of a good size, I agree with some other recent reviewers that they do look a bit tired (especially true for the bathroom). Breakfast was also a little disappointing-the cooked offering was nice, but the continental options were limited (and the bread for toasting appeared to be a cheap sliced loaf).

The staff were very friendly and did all that they could to help us with any queries.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xsombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall.
We refurbished all our bedrooms this winter. All our bathrooms will be done this winter.
We will take the time to review the comments made with the hotel team and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
We look froward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
310 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

We booked well in advance for a week-long stay in the Inverness area. Location (central) and parking (code-limited) were excellent as indeed was reception staff friendliness.
Bedroom was OK - spacy, with river Ness view but showing signs of age, including windows over-painted so much that they were sealed shut! Bathroom was dated but good and spacy with a powerful shower.
There was considerable selling of their Restaurant - Nico's Bistro. Lurking near reception would lead to invitation to book in advance - full marks for staff loyalty! This Bistro was overpriced and over-rated but that should not be a problem with so many alternatives within walking distance. Choices were quite limited. I ordered a rare steak which was very tough and served medium-well done. Their well-advertised mussels were not available due to a disease problem on the west coast.
Breakfast - buffet-style -was included but short of even average. Coffee was awful - instant-type from an ancient and stale supply! Tea was Scottish - 1 teabag per pot! There were no fruit slices or cuts as usually available nowadays. The few fresh fruits in skins were really uninviting - as evidenced by their lack of change from day to day. The cereals were stale. The fry was OK but sparse if you requested individual items - for example a fried-egg breakfast got you one fried egg - same as in the complete "Scottish breakfast". There seemed to be a dual ranking of staff, - the friendly but probably inexperienced waitresses were better and less snappy than the longer-term "supervisory" ones.
The hotel would benefit from a low-cost cleaning up of bedrooms as well as investing in one of the numerous fresh coffee making devices. A tourism consultant would also be useful to explain how to move their food into the 21st century pattern. The Glen Mhor has the potential to move from a good grading to an excellent grading in a very short time.

Room Tip: Try for a river view - it's worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
We hope you will give us the opportunity to give you a better experience of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thurso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great place to stay in Inverness,just a short walk to the town centre. We stayed for 2 nights the room was big,bright and well equipped.The staff were all very helpful and pleasant.Breakfast was super with a large choice,something for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive review.
We look forward to welcome you soon back.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#10 of 34 in Inverness
1,675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing