We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jekyll and Hyde of a place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Jekyll and Hyde of a place”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Have stayed at the Glen Mhor three times now, but there won’t be a forth. It would be wrong to castigate the place entirely based on my review, however it may be helpful to watch for some pitfalls if thinking about staying here.

The rooms; are clean and of Blackpool B&B quality, that's not a slight on Blackpool it’s just good to know what you get behind the façade. I’ve stayed in a big ‘luxury’ room in the main building to a smaller ‘plaster board’ room in an annex. Both soulless and depressingly dull, two things that Blackpool does not suffer from.

The people; as usual most of the people are great, don't even be fooled by the dour first impression of the resident barman, he is a good man and warms with conversation. It’s a shame that some of the ‘front of house’ staff are so sniffy. A Spanish sounding lady made our last arrival such a bad experience, very dismissive of simple requests and with the manners of a stoat.

So, it’s your money and your choice, just treat this place as good location, 1970’s rooms, shame about some of the staff (countered by some warm friendly folk) and overblown sense of it’s own worth. Too many other nicer places in/around Inverness to mention.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wirelesskev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Sorry to hear of your disappointment and sorry to hear that we look "sniffy".
We do our best to look of our all our customer with friendly and courteous manners.
We will try harder.
With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    416
    251
    126
    84
See reviews for
246
591
55
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

My wife and I were on a whirlwind tour of Scotland, spending one night each in nine venues between St. Andrews and the Isle of Skye. The two nights preceding Inverness, we stayed in tiny, uncomfortable B&B accommodations. So, it was with some trepidation we approached The Alexander House.

We couldn't have been more pleased with the room, its location (on the river virtually at the foot of Inverness Castle), the breakfast and the welcome we received. Everything was delightful!
As I told our hosts, The Alexander House served the best breakfast we'd had in Scotland. The scrambled eggs and salmon was perfect. Our room looked over the lovely River Ness.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the house enjoy a great view of the River Ness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markbenjak0v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

stayed for an evening and everything was as it should be: great room (traditional), very helpful and friendly staff (even phoned up for us to see if there were vacancies at a local restaurant we were recommended), cosy bar (with very knowledgeable barman). Free car park, close to town, by the river, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: rooms at the front overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kieranWhelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
We look froward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Upon entering my room I stood in awe, slack jawed and silent at the size. The room was 1.5m wide!!!! the bed was the width of my shoulders and surely was a childs bed!!?? The toilet was very poorly lit, my towel was rolled up and placed on the floor, the shower compartment was held together with gaffer tape! there were black marks on the wall, I fell out of the bed during the night it was so small, the view was of other room windows, I strongly suggest the owners are daylight robbers for the price Paid for this room. I will not go back/advise others against and hope people read this and dont make the same mistake I made by staying at this place.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 5 October 2013
We were very sorry to hear of your disappointment.
We operate a fair pricing system and our rates are market comparable with the rest of the city.
The room type you had booked, a single room is our budget option.
Should you like more space, we would advise our guest to book for a double room, a deluxe or a junior suite.

Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
76 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I really liked staying at this B&B. It is in an excellent location on the riverside and is a nice building inside and out. The two people running the place were very helpful. The breakfast was decent. The bathroom in the room was a bit cramped. Nice place though!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laroos S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We spent two nights in this hotel we had a junior suite in a building along side the main hotel we arrived at 9pm it was dark and we had not stayed here before directions were given but no offer of help with our bags.
The rooms were nice and comfortable but the lighting was so poor we could not read after dark!!
Breakfast in the main hotel was poor with only a very tired fruit bowl as the fruit selection the cooked breakfast was not very nice staff did not greet you only pointed to a table.
We left our room at 10 am and i returned at 3pm to find the room as i had left it this i have never seen before at just after 3pm housekeeping arrived but at that point i did not want to be disturbed so only asked for tea bags and milk so our room was not cleaned
When we came back from breakfast on Monday a member of staff was trying to conceal herself in a doorway to smoke perhaps that is why it takes so long to do rooms.

This hotel is in a prefect setting beside the river and so near the centre of town but we would not stay here again i detailed all above coments on the hotel feedback form and gave my phone no and address but have not heard from management.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilda25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
I was sorry to hear of disappointment.
Housekeeping might service bedrooms until 4pm. We would advise our customers to let us know if they wish their room be serviced early.
We always answer feedback when left at the hotel. Sometimes our emails go in spam box, sometimes we have wrong email address.
Our smoking policy for staff is very strict and there is no cigarettes break within a shift.... nobody hides either!
We look froward to welcoming you again, in hope we can give you a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed at Glen Mhor, because it was across from the river and a beautiful walk at night. The hotel itself was poor. The receptionist was very sweet.
The sad part was the room, the floors slanted toward the bed, and the Bathroom which was an old converted closet, and was as big as, also had a floor slanting to the wall, on the other side of the wall was the bed. Okay for One hundred and 14 Pound, it was not good value. Then our sleepless night was that because the walls are so thin we could hear the guest next door snoring. If your looking into this hotel, don't bother.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darste363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
We are sorry you didn't enjoyed your room at the Glen Mhor.
The hotel is offering a large choice of accommodation for all budget. From single to deluxe, suites or two bed room apartments.
We operate a fair pricing system, with our rates being market comparable and for the most part cheaper than our competitors for our single rooms.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing