We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't get it right!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We booked this hotel for the night of 6th November, as we were collecting visitors from Inverness Airport, on their first visit to Scotland, and wanted to show them the surrounding area. Having stayed here before, we thought we would be safe with our choice, how wrong we were.

We booked months in advance, reserving 2 double rooms with river view, and paying the extra for the view. When we arrived the rooms weren't ready, so we said we would have a drink in the bar for the 20mins they said it would take for them to be ready. In the bar the log burner wasn't on, and it was totally freezing, as was the same with the reception area, no fire lit. These are things that make a place welcoming, and due to the fact there are guests on the go at all times of the day in the hotel, the fires should always be lit for their comfort. When we eventually got our rooms, one of the rooms was in a seperate building, with no sea view, unless you went up beside the dressing table and peered out the small window. When we complained that the rooms had been booked together, and both should have river views, we were told that was the river view for that room, we said this wasn't acceptable. We were then offered a room in another guest house further along the street, with a river view. This was obviously no use, as we wanted to stay together, so we said we would just stay where we were. She then informed us, that the other room had actually been upgraded before our arrival, to a superior room, as there were no doubles left. This room was a great size, with the perfect view, but the bed was an old four poster that felt like, and sounded like, it was going to collapse every time you moved. The bathroom also left a lot to be desired, being extremely old, and all the faults just being painted over, when what it really needs, is a refurb.

After being out for a meal at night, we went to the hotel bar for a drink before bed. The fire was now on, which made it a much nicer place to be. When the gents went to the bar, it was very dirty and wet with previous drinks that had been served. They asked the barman to clean this before serving them, but he only wiped the bit they were standing at, instead of the whole bar area, which is only small.

We have since found out that the hotel has been sold, and it had new owners when we stayed. But we won't be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

We were sorry to hear of your disappointment on your last stay with us.

All our bedrooms are getting refurbished this winter.
Please bear in mind that check in time is 3pm however we do our best to accommodate our customers when arriving early.

We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

We look forward to welcoming you an other time, in hope you might regain the faith in the Glen Mhor Hotel.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,444)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,444 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2013

Nice location near to shops , eden court and just a busrun from retail park the staff are friendly rooms mybe a little dated but can't fault the comfort that our room gave us bed was huge never heard a thing in the night Bliss


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Booked directly with this hotel for a two night stay end of November. All the staff were very pleasant professional and efficient at all times. We had a room in the struan with a view across the river, well it was more of a suite, small lounge with TV kettle and large bedroom very clean and tidy and very spacious. We had booked for evening meal with a complimentary glass of wine each first night. The food was very good a bit on the pricey side but very tasty. Our highland breakfast each morning was very good not too large a portion however just enough for me with plenty other foods on offer cereal yogurt pastries and toast. 2nd night eat at the spanish tapa bar round the corner and up the hill across from the castle excellent.
Had a very comfortable peaceful rest, nice walk along the river bank and short walk into the town. Would highly recommend this hotel for a weekend shopping or relaxing trip away.

Room Tip: We had room 412 Struan over looking the river first floor good choice separate toilet and shower roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to put a review.
We are glad you enjoyed you stay at the Glen Mhor Hotel and look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for 7 nights and upon opening our bedroom door in the hotel it went downhill from there. The room was incredibly small, hardly any space for us to put our suitcases let alone move around in! A major crack in the wardrobe mirror made it even more welcoming for us.. Not. Wifi access was 50/50.. Worked half the time, the rest it was either not available or we had to keep signing in using the wifi codes we were given upon arrival. Breakfast was included in the price we paid for our stay, only had breakfast once during our entire stay and that was enough for us. Had to find our own seats, no staff to welcome us in and sit us down. Staff member that eventually came to serve us had a real sour attitude and didn't seem to care at all. When our 'highland breakfast' was served the portion size was incredibly small and the bacon was extremely salty - and to imagine, any guests who were not staying in the hotel, it would have cost them £14.95 per person!! What a rip off. On top of this, we left the "make my room bonnie" on our door whilst we were out in the city during the day and came back TWICE to our room having not been cleaned which my partner went and spoke to a receptionist about and having to take our own rubbish down to reception to sort and ask for simple bathroom amenties. All in all, not worth the money at all. Will not be staying here again, such a disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boytz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

We were sorry to hear of your disappointment and would like to add that this is not representative of The Glen Mhor Hotel.
You would have expressed your feelings while staying with us, we would have done our upmost to accommodate you.
We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel has a superb location on the banks of the river Ness. The rooms are well appointed, plenty of hot water and staff are helpful. But my room was across the car park, so both dinner and breakfast required the donning of coat, no point in taking the umbrella as there was no hope of putting it up. I'm all for a bracing walk but not after I've eaten dinner and want to get to bed ( I'm somewhat harsh here as it is only across a small car park).

Room Tip: Ask for one in the main hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issy_grieve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We do have rooms facing the car park... but not a lot!
It is always worth upgrading the room to a river view.
We look froward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

The Glen Mhor is perfectly placed overlooking the river in the centre of the city. It has well designed rooms with tea-making facilities, hair dryer, TV and a relaxing atmosphere with dark wood furniture, thick full length curtains and lots of space. I had a big king sized bed with lots of scatter cushions which made it easy to sit up and watch a movie snuggled under the covers.

Newly refurbished, the suite offers a generous-sized bedroom and separate lounge area which were welcoming enough. My only complaint was that the toilet was separate to the shower so you have to work out where you leave your toiletries (there is also a shortage of shelf space and proper lighting in the bathroom, which made it particularly tricky getting ready for a black tie event I was attending that evening).

That said, the staff couldn't have been more helpful as I struggled to open the outer door of the detached cottage in the early hours of the morning (my mobile phone had deactivated the card key!). With 24-hour reception, I waited only seconds for help and the gentleman who came to my assitance couldn't have been more charming - interesting too as it turned out he was a hill farmer who was due to get up at dawn to let the animals out!

Fantastic breakfast with fully cooked options, fruits, cereals, toast and yoghurts and restricted entry car park makes this easy to access and hassle-free. ideal for business trips or visits with the family or a group of friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river as you can watch people go by but because the road isn't ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Where to start! Was book to have a three night stay at Glen Mhor apartments. On arrival we parked in car park and carted our luggage to reception which wasn't very well advertised, advised we were in apartment 5 and given directions which involved making our way out of car park and along pavement to our apartment (all in the dark and with no offer of assistance with suitcases)
Apartment 5, terrible! Bedrooms were spacious but sitting area was tiny and more like a waiting room, no dining table or really anywhere to sit/kids to play, so small and arrangement of furniture made it packed, I honestly expected to find another sitting area located upstairs it was so poor. Staff were good and showed up apartment 2 instead (2 bed). Apartment 2 not much better but sitting area slightly more spacious. Overall apartment quite shabby and in need of some basic repair I.e scuff marks on walls, bar stools broken, work tops marked, blinds off the window etc. We have stayed in many self catering apartments and found this one lacking in many areas, not many pans, serving plates, no kitchen cloth, minimum kitchen equipment provided, furthermore when taking plates out of the cupbaord we found them all sitting in water and not particuarly clean. Wifi also limited and often offline. Apartment felt grubby, carpet stained and we washed all kitchen equipment before using. Overall very disappointed and we ended up cancelling our other two nights and returned to the Inverness city suites which far exceeds these apartments.

Room Tip: Sorry but would not recommend either apartment 5 or 2 only positive was that apartment was warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mre1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

We were sorry to hear of your disappointment and would like to add that this is not representative of The Glen Mhor Hotel.
You would have expressed your feelings while staying with us, we would have done our upmost to accommodate you.
We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#14 of 36 in Inverness
656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 36 in Inverness
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#6 of 36 in Inverness
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 36 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range: £51 - £228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing