We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms not in hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rooms not in hotel”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Would suggest if staying in a hotel important then best to phone before booking as this hotel does not give refunds.
The website does not make clear that the superior rooms are in the cottage which involves crossing an open courtyard to use the hotel.
The manager and I disagreed over the rooms being classed as in the hotel ,I would book this hotel again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank likes2travel50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are sorry to hear of your disappointment.
Our hotel is Victorian style hotel divided by five buildings. All our bedrooms have been refurbished and decorated recently. The strength of the Glen Mhor Hotel is its character, its style and its location. All our superior rooms have a river view and offer extra space but most of them are not in the main building.
However we take into consideration your comments. We will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    415
    251
    126
    84
See reviews for
246
591
55
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
buckie
Level Contributor
152 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at the Gel Mhor and I was more than happy with my stay . The room we had overlooked the river,was clean comfortable and cosy. One small gripe would be the lighting in our room,I am not big on make up but i really struggled to see when getting ready for our night out. Perhaps this is something the owners could address for the future.
Breakfast was good served by friendly efficient staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank golfwidow53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Glen Mhor Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed one night: close to railway station ; attracted by great value; some reviews complained about the bed size but I had no problem! Cosy room, nice restaurant attached : gave voucher for free drink if ate there. Great price for single room with breakfast !

Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank lissoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Glen Mhor Hotel and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

My company booked me into the Glen Mhor for two separate weeks whilst working in the area & I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Hotel is extremely well located for city centre & has excellent views over the River Ness. I had two different rooms during my stays, one in Riverside building & another in Cottage - both very comfortable & well equipped. The hotel is spread over several adjacent buildings with reception, restaurant & bar in one central building.

Ate in the restaurant a couple of times, which was nice, if a little on the pricey side. Breakfast was very good, with choice of continental buffet plus a range of cooked dishes. All staff were friendly & helpful throughout my stays. All in all, cannot fault my stays at the hotel & hope to return soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Fraser_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon.
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

i stayed at the glen mhor with my daughter in feb this year .I booked through Expedia as I have used them before I booked a twin room. when we arrived at the hotel we were advised that our room was not ready until 3 o clock advised to go and have a walk round town we had been up since 5 that morning when we finally got our room we were advised that it was not in the hotel itself but in an building adjacent I complaned that as far as I was aware I had booked a room in the hotel and was told I could have a room in the main hotel if I was willing to pay for an upgrade as I was so tired Im an oap and disabled we decided to have a look at the room offered it meant we had to come out of 1 building and into another for breakfast the carpet going up to the room was dirty and the paintwork chipped everywhere room was a double actually 2 single beds pushed together weeeee decided to have room service for breakfast it arriveed uncovered and cold complained arrived again this time covered but had been put in an oven as the plates were too hot to touch complained to manager emmanuel who was extremely rude and offered to take the price of breakfast off its not the first time but certainely the last I stayed with my grandaughter 2 years ago and again was put in different accomadition not what I booked The whole place is rundown and in need of a complete refurb a couple of pleasent staff especially Albert receptionest rude as is the manager do not be fooled by reviews another point they need to learn the meaning of SCOTTISH breaaakfast forgot to mention as a direct result of their full reheated scottish breakfast both myself and my daughter spent most of the day on the loo.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oap202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 22 February 2014
We are sorry to hear about disappointment
We sincerely tried our best to please you during your stay. We obviously failed.
We will take the time to review the comments made and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Inverness hotels

Reading
Level Contributor
48 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The rooms in this hotel seem to have had a recent makeover and are very clean, spacious and sumptuous. The bar and restaurant however seem to be awaiting their own makeover as they are a stark contrast to the bedrooms. However don't let the decor put you off as the food is excellent and well worth ignoring the surrounds for....try the mussels.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FargoReading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Many thanks for your positive comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
We now have refurbished all our bedrooms and will very soon upgrade our restaurant with new furniture and new decor.
The glen Mhor keeps improving year on year! ... and we won't stop.
We look froward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014 via mobile

A family of four arrived for the weekend to spent some time in Inverness. We were allocated a ground floor apartment which we immediately wanted to change as it was adjacent to a public walkway . We were given the apartment above which I have to say was more suitable (no one walking passed having a look in) the well equipped two bed roomed accommodation maybe a little tired in places scratches and scuffs in areas but clean bedding and spacious . The banister certainly needs to be looked at as it is a not to secure. Also returning to the apartment in the dark is not to great there should be some lighting in the walkway. Some negatives but the positive out way them and would not put me off using this accommodation again.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jan123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We will be taking into consideration your comments for any further development.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#14 of 34 in Inverness
743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#18 of 34 in Inverness
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
1,676 reviews
0.5 mi away
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing