We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Room with Lovely Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Room with Lovely Staff”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

I stayed in the Struan building which is separate from the main hotel for 1st and 2nd April. Had a first floor room, unfortunately not river side, but still a really nice room with a sledge type bed.

Room was clean and spacious with ensuite shower room, all good. Wifi is available, although it is a bit weak, but I have never yet stayed anywhere with a good strong signal, so forget trying to get any work done and take a wander past the castle into town.

Parking is free round the back of the hotel, and you exit with a code which caused me as few problems as I couldn't reach the panel , so for anyone 5ft 4 or less or with short arms, may I recommend a pencil!

It is centrally located, a short walk to shops and pubs, although Nico's Bar is within the hotel , a lovely bar with lots of character and a wood burner fire, nice and cosy and there is some entertainment some evenings e.g. Tuesday is Jazz night. The restaurant offers a variety of food, like moules marinières, steak, burgers and a couple of vegetarian options . I had a massive portion of fish n chips one night and Gnocci the second, with a lovely tart tartin for pud (with a cheeky Pedro Ximines dessert wine - yummy) and a vanilla crème brulee the second. My only criticism is that there isn't much available if you don't want a full meal e.g sandwiches , so come with a good appetite.

Breakfast was great; a continental spread ( fairly limited options) with fruit juice, cereal, pastries, dried fruit, porridge on request, yoghurt and toast, and you get a choice of a hot meal, cooked breakfast, vegetarian cooked breakfast, American pancakes and choice of eggs. I had scrambled eggs one day which arrived before I could make my toast and beautifully cooked poached eggs the following morning (didn't fall into the toast trap the second day). You can also read a complimentary local paper while chomping down.

At all times my stay was facilitated by the extremely attentive team of waiting staff and Celia at reception; I had a really nice chat with a young lady from Gairloch, who obviously enjoys her work, life working in a hotel must be hard, there early in the morning, and back for evening shift, and she had a lovely disposition and I would like to thank her for taking the time to converse with me ( I wish I could remember her name).

All in all I would return in a flash. Its not the usual type of hotel with lots of different accommodation options, something that will suit all.

Thanks again for a lovely stay

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kabba2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with. All you positive comments have been forwarded to the staff and have been very much appreciated.

We look froward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    416
    411
    243
    117
    82
See reviews for
242
575
54
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Linlithgow
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We had an overnight stop in the Glen Mhor as we spent a couple of days in the North as we have family history there. This is the best hotel we have stayed in in Inverness. Our room was in the Cottage and had a river view. The ensuite was made up of two rooms - one housing a huge deep bath and the other holding a large shower etc. There was also a small dressing room, which if we had been staying longer would have been just the ticket to hide things away. We had Dinner Bed Breakfast and our 3 course meal in Nico's was delicious. All of the staff were very attentive and never stood still. The bar was a cosy space, wood burning stove and comfy seating with lots of riding stuff hanging on the walls etc. There was a large car park at the rear of the hotel which you have to drive around the street to reach. The only issue if you can call it that, is that we could not book in until 3pm although we had arrived from Speyside around 1pm however we were able to use the car park meantime which was a help. Definately be back.

Room Tip: get a river view and rooms in the cottage are quieter as away from the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madrid11Linlithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Glen Mhor Hotel and we look froward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We stayed one night here and it met all our needs. The location was central with good free parking which we could access from our room. The parking is accessed from the road at the back of the hotel. We were in a ground floor room in Struan, a separate period house, converted for hotel use. It was a very short walk from reception and the main hotel. The room was well appointed and quiet with comfy bed and modern bathroom. We had use of a sitting room shared with one other room above ( locked doors between).The full cooked breakfast was superb, plus there was an extensive buffet, served from 7 am. It was pleasant to walk along the adjacent River Ness in the spring evening. The wifi signal in the room was weak.The reception staff were friendly. There was a good offer to eat at the on site restaurant before 630pm. For the room price you could not ask for anything more.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise0086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Many thanks for your kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Glen Mhor Hotel and we look froward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Stayed here en route to Applecross. Our bedroom had a lovely view of the wonderful river Ness. It was in the Alexander building, an ex independent B and B, which has now been absorbed into the Glen Mhor hotel complex. It still retained the original tasteful decor of the original owners.
Our room was very cold on arrival, but after turning on the radiators felt much better. We also made use of our own electric blanket, (luckily brought along for use in our self catering cottage, the following week) to air the bed which felt damp. Very small tiny bathroom with liquid soap dispenser broken. Slept well with no disturbance.
Breakfast was just about ok. Nothing to write home about at all. The cooked breakfast arrived just as we sat down to eat our cornflakes obtained from the buffet. It felt like it had been precooked and kept slightly warm under heat lamps in the kitchen, to be dished up immediately to order. Almost cold on arrival. The decor in the dining room was tired, shabby and really needed smartening up. Next time we will spend a bit more and stay somewhere better, or go for a more traditional B and B.

Room Tip: Choose a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We feel sorry for the disappointment during your stay but would like to add that this is not representative of the Glen Mhor Hotel
We will take the time to review the comments made with the hotel team and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My Aunt and I have just returned from a 2 Night stay at this Wonderful Hotel.lt is located in a quiet area and only a few minutes walk to the Main Street. We received a warm welcome at reception. Our Twin Room was immaculate and our Meal in the Hotel Restaurant, Nicos was very good. cannot fault this Hotel and will definitely return

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaNicholson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for the weekend so i could run the Half Marathon. Welcome was very friendly and we had a lovely room on the 2nd fllor. We had arranged a pet friendly room so our dog could have a holiday and the room was great, she even had her own bed supplied. Breakfast was lovely both mornings. We ate in Nico's the first night and had room service the second night. The food was excellent on both occasions and service was efficient and polite. The hotel is ideally situated right beside the river and 5 minutes walk from the city centre. The hotel has a lovely bar and also a nice reading room overlooking the river.
We will be staying here again when ever visiting Inverness.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davidgirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review. We hope you enjoyed your half marathon too!
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best regards

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed here two nights weekend past.
The hotel is well located in a quiet area adjacent to the River Ness and a few minutes from the main shopping streets.
We were in "The Cottage" which is an annexe of the hotel across a small (10 yard) courtyard. The rooms were designated "Classic" and of a perfectly adequate size for single occupancy. Bathroom had a shower cubicle. Room was spotless on arrival and again the same on our second day of stay.
We ate in the restaurant one evening. The meal was excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast was served promptly and was excellent.
The car parking is free but although we had no problem I think in high season it might have insufficient space for all potential users.
The staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.
All in all an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look froward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Emmanuel M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Royal Highland Hotel
Royal Highland Hotel
#17 of 34 in Inverness
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#9 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Glenmoriston Town House
Glenmoriston Town House
#13 of 34 in Inverness
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments

Property: Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Address: 7-17 Ness Bank, Inverness IV2 4SF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 34 Hotels in Inverness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Glen Mhor Hotel offers Victorian townhouses and apartments located on the banks of the River Ness, a 3-minute walk from Inverness city centre and a 15-minute drive from Loch Ness. Accommodation is divided between 8 charming Victorian town houses (please advise reception if you have a building preference). Many rooms have wonderful views across the river to Inverness Cathedral and Eden Court Theatre Our in house bar restaurant - Nicky Tam's - offers a relaxed and casual atmosphere with a menu serving traditional Scottish food with the finest local produce, ales and premium spirits... The Ness Bank area is a charming conservation area in the city, set below the castle and opposite both The Eden Court Theatre and Inverness Cathedral. Glen Mhor is a 5-minute drive from the A9, 8 miles from Inverness Airport and a 10-minute walk from the train station. It is ideal for exploring Inverness and the surrounding Highlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments Inverness, Scotland
Hotel Glen Mhor
Inverness Hotel Glen Mhor
Glen Mhor Inverness

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing