We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Inverness(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$172
US$158
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heathmount Hotel(Inverness)
US$217
US$196
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
US$208
Hotels.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Craigmonie Hotel & Leisure Ltd.(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redcliffe Hotel(Inverness)
US$224
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Inverness Fairways(Inverness)(Great Value!)
US$98
Travelodge
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$129
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,476)
Filter reviews
1,476 results
Traveller rating
466
472
294
154
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
466
472
294
154
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivernicky tamsness bankthe main hotela river view roomhotel restauranteden courtshower roomstayed for one nightfantastic locationtown centredouble bedcooked breakfastfew minutes walkporridgelovely roomyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
970 - 975 of 1,476 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We arrived late after a long journey so we were looking forward to getting into the Hotel room and enjoying a rest. When we got in the room we were very disappointed. The room itself was satisfactory, although rather small, the view from the two windows was unbelievable – see the attached photos. I supposed we should have complained right away but were just so tired after the journey. In the light of day next morning, we got the full impact of the brick wall outside our window. I'm pleased we had only two nights at this hotel. Our room was in the 'Riverside' building and the hall and stairs were very grubby – the place needed decorating and the carpet was old and stained. At one point during our stay, a workman knocked on our door wanting to repair the bathroom ceiling! We paid £119 a night for the 'pleasure' of staying in Room 112. We completed the hotel's feedback card with our comments and although we gave our email address, we have had no response from them.

Room Tip: See the room first before you decide to stay. Avoid Room 112.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

We are sorry to hear of your disappointment and would like to add that this is not representative of the Glen Mhor Hotel.
Room 112 has two windows but no riverview indeed. Should you like a nice treat we would obviously recommend our River View, Deluxe Rooms or Suites.
All our bedrooms have been refurbished, we are working now on refurbishing corridors.
We respond to all our comments cards on a weekly basis. You should get an answer very shortly.
We hope you will give us an other chance.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a very good hotel for the price of between £60 and £100 per double room. All very clean and well presented and standard of fittings very good, one slight problem with basin, but you cannot expect them to close a room for a small repair. Staff very friendly and location superb. Breakfast enjoyable but not wonderful, coffee very good. Will try the restaurant next time as the early evening menu is a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MartinofHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Glen Mhor Hotel and look froward to welcoming youa gain soon.

Best regards

Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I would like to start on a positive, the two ladies on reception on the am of 27/5 were lovely. The same cant be said for the woman on the evening before!

We were placed in the Alexander, in one of the tiniest double rooms I have ever seen. I politely asked if we could upgrade our room and were rudely told the hotel was full!

My partner is 6ft3 and the bed was tiny! His legs were squashed! Quite possibly the worst sleep we have ever had.

The TV is in a ridiculous corner of the room where it can hardly be seen? There were no seats or a table to sit at (borderline room to walk round the bed) No bath just a tiny shower with a broken enclosure, The toilet seat was cheap plastic and was also broken! This should be classed as a small single room!

Noise: Paper thin walls I could hear next doors every move and toilet trip!

I have stayed in hundreds of hotels worldwide and in Scotland. Sadly this is one of the worst, rounded off with a poor quality breakfast washed down with cold coffee!

Room Tip: Chose a suite!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rh0daJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review.
We are sorry that you didn't enjoy your room but would like to add that this is not representative of the Glen Mhor Hotel.
The Glen Mhor Hotel is a collection of Victorian Houses and all our rooms are very different, which makes the charm of our hotel. Should you have special requirement, please give us a call or specify it on your booking. We will do our best to accommodate.
I hope you give us a chance to give you a better experience of the Glen Mhor Hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

What a place... Old world style and charm well preserved and maintained. The view from the room was fabulous. Rooms are luxuriously appointed. The Break fast is not Grand but very good and service at the dining room is very friendly and nice. Good sit out in the o[pen along the Lochness.
Only drawback.. no elevator and our room was on level 2.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AjayGoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Many thanks for your very kind review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Glen Mhor Hotel and we look froward to welcoming you again soon.

Best regards

Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Good check in, friendly, smiley staff. Happy to source a vase for a surprise bunch of flowers we'd brought.

Room small, but clean, bright and modern.

Two nights of very little sleep though. Mattress was very hard, but the noise was the worst. I wear earplugs (long story) but could quite easily make out the couple next door's conversation, and their toilet habits...and their shower. The heating 'clicked'. So loud, that I woke at 3.40am thinking we had a leak...but it was just the pipes clicking...all around the room.

We were surprised because the Alexander apartment was obviously an old building - however, we assume the rooms have been halved, thus less noise insulation. It made a big difference to our stay, and unfortunately we wouldn't return because of this.

Breakfast was kinda stressful, due to the poor waitresses running (and we mean running) to serve disgruntled guests (not us). We thought the serving staff needed more support and the Chef needs his stock order checked before Bank Holiday weekends to prevent menu items not being available.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glenmhormanager, General Manager at Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Many thanks for your positive and constructive comments.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall at the Glen Mhor Hotel but feel sorry about the noise.
We were a bit under staff when you cam for breakfast indeed but would like to add that this is not representative of the Glen Mhor.
We will take the time to review the comments made with the maintenance team and the restaurant and we will use your feedback as part of our on-going commitment to improve.
Yours sincerely,

Emmanuel M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews